We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best vacation experience!”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My best vacation experience!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Its a pleasure for my to recomend the Moon Palace Hotel in Cancun.
The extraordinary service and kindness incredible.
Congratulationssss.... the Moon Palace is a place that you need to visit soon. Im mexican and I been having the chance to travel a lot around the world , and ICan say that this kind for incredible service is not easy to find!!! REALLY CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Specially the next employees of the different restaurants:
Juan Tejeda (brazilian rest)
Miguel Angel Martinez (brazilian est)
Juan Carlos Sanchez (brazilian rest)
Victor Campos (international restaurant)
Isaias Ramirez (international restaurant)
Juan Mateo Morales (mexican restaurant)
Laura Tellez (spa)

Thanks alll of you for your atention, support and the most important your wonerful amability!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view at the corners are excellents!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Tania M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the compliments regarding our service. We pride ourselves on selecting the right people and allowing them to do what they do best, take care and entertain our guests. We are certain that Juan Tejeda, Miguel Angel Martinez, Juan Carlos Sanchez, Victor Campos, Isaias Ramirez, Juan Mateo Morales and Laura Tellez are very good examples of that.

We’ll look forward to seeing you again next time you have the chance to visit Cancun.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,982
    4,319
    1,679
    771
    699
See reviews for
9,098
6,012
113
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,069)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This review is a little overdue but better late than never!!!

My husband and I visited Moon Palace from 1st - 11th July for our honeymoon and we were blown away by what this hotel has to offer... there isn't many hotels that has it's own dolphinarium which we took full advantage of and used our resort credit so it worked out really cheap for us. The food was amazing in all of the restautants that we tried in Sunrise. The service was outstanding and we were treated like kings and queens for the entire stay! It went above and beyond our expectations. We would like to give a big thank you to the x2 friendly barmen Freddyand Emilio in the sunrise lobby bar who worked very hard!! The honeymoon package was truely special especially the romantic meal on the lakeside terrace. We were really sad to hand our wrist bands in at the end of our stay and we would go back in a heart beat if we could.... we definitely want to return one day!! We met some friendly people during our stay and have lots of happy memories of this place.

We would really recommend visiting Tulum and Explor. The only things that we can complain about is that it was very frustrating trying to queue for the right bus for Explor which took a little longer than needed. It just needs to be organised a bit better. Avoid the time share deal, you are on holiday to relax in the sun. Take advantage of the free bus to Beach Palace, well worth a visit!!

Hope to visit again soon Moon Palace!!! Tim & Rachel Hoggard :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room at Sunrise in the Torranja block and we loved it!! The Grand and swim up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Rachel D,

We are very pleased to read your comments and impressions of our facilities and service being “outstanding and you were treated like kings and queens for the entire stay!” Thank you! We strive to offer unforgettable experiences to our guests especially to our Honeymoon couples!!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at any of our Palace Resorts properties.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband, son aged 14 and myself have just returned from a 14 night stay at Moon Palace. The resort is amazing. Before I arrived at the resort I had read reviews saying how busy and huge the resort was and this made me have reservations about whether I would enjoy my holiday. The comments about the sea being covered in seaweed was a concern as I love the beach and swimming in the sea.

From the moment I arrived at the hotel I was blown away. The staff are so very friendly, always smiling and happy to help. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfy beds with a large walk-in shower. The fridge was packed full of beverages and a bottle of red wine on the table for our arrival. The fridge was stocked every day and staff would knock on the door to ask if we needed anymore drinks.

The swimming pools and the sunbed bed areas are so large there is plenty of space and never felt crowded. If you want a sunbed with shade though you need to be up early as these go first.

There is so much food to eat. Apart from 14 a la carte restaurants there are pizza ovens and snack bars around the pool area.

The breakfast is amazing. Everything you can think of is there. The chef cooking the eggs was our favourite, he was so happy and always cooked a perfect egg.

Our favourite restaurant was the Brazilian steakhouse. The waiters kept coming around bringing different types of meat.

This resort is great for teenagers. My son spent all day, almost everyday on the Flowrider, he loved it. In the evening there is the teens club where my son arranged to meet his friends and hang out. This has Xbox's, playstations, arcade games and pc's. There is also a snack bar in there. Kids are so safe and this is the first holiday my son had a key to the room and came in after us.

We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear lynn123220,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and for sharing your experience and pointing out the ones you and your family liked most. At Palace Resorts we are committed on delivering the highest level of service, facilities and amenities. Your comments are a truly rewarding to us.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort or at any other Palace Resorts properties.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We went to The Moon Palace Resort for our honeymoon from 5th - 16th August and I have to say it was a wonderful experience. The resort was spotless and the staff very friendly and efficient. We were given pink wrist bands so that the staff knew we were honeymooners and we were given special honeymoon treatment. One special memory was the romantic meal we attended at a gazebo overlooking the beach. Three couples were looked after exclusively by Leodan Sanchez, a charming waiter who attended our every need and provided excellent customer service. He explained the special menu which was faultless and even took photos, nothing was too much trouble. Leodan was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The holiday exceeded our expectations and we got to experience swimming with the dolphins, jet skiing and snorkelling in turquoise blue sea. The pool staff were attentive and efficient ensuring that drinks were plentiful all day.The resort also had other hotels in the area which we visited by using the courtesy bus which ran twice daily. The beach at the Beach Palace and Sun Palace is stunning and well worth a short bus ride for the experience. Thank you to the staff at the Moon Palace for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms at The Grand seemed quieter, The Nizuc was central and had a vast choice of places to eat, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline_Jones28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jacqueline_Jones28,

Congratulations! We know that the honeymoon is a very unique moment and something you will remember for your whole life, so we get pretty excited when newlywed couples give us the opportunity to contribute to create unforgettable moments. We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience. You can be certain that Leodan Sanchez will receive the recognition he deserves.

We hope to see you soon for your anniversary celebration!

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband, three children and I stayed here for seven days. The only good things were the dolphin experience, spa, swing bar, pools, and drinks (which you could enjoy better at a more adult place if you have no children.) It's overcrowded with only four walk in restaurants.The food is comparable to hospital food. Our maid was horrible, she made sure to take her TIP though. We had to steal wash cloths, shampoo, conditioner and toilet paper from carts because we'd even call for room service and sometimes they'd never show up! Alot of extra charges were failed to be mentioned when the hotel booked our excursions. There kids club was under staffed and there play runway & theater had no props or toys at all for the children to play with. I will definitely not be staying here again. Don't waste your time or money because by day two or three you'll be begging to just go home.

Room Tip: Stay on upper levels or spiders and lizards will be your room mates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We're sorry you did not fully enjoy your visit to Moon Palace, however your experience is not typical.

Moon Palace has 14 restaurants throughout our property and based on the feedback we typically receive, the quality of the food exceeds expectations, especially considering we're an all-inclusive.

Regardless, we will work harder based on the feedback you have given us. We'll also be addressing your concern with housekeeping.

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and truly regret to have let you down.

Respectfully,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at the Moon Palace golf and spa resort this august. . It was a fabulous experience (even with the weeds in the ocean). The entire hotel is there to serve you and they have made it extremely easy to visit other beaches and Palace hotels nearby - free of charge! The food was great and plentiful and like most 5 stars everything was well taken care of. What was most amazing though was the pianist who entertained in the main lobby bar on Tuesday night. His name was Béla Duka and he played anything and everything! Amazing entertainer - being a pianist myself I truly appreciated the mastery of his playing and he sincerely seemed to enjoy himself as well. Makes me wonder why the Palace doesn't have him entertaining the guests more often - I noticed the bar crowd increased as he was playing. We even got up to dance - making that evening even more memorable. Thank you Palace and Béla for a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear s m,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. Palace Resorts proudly seeks to offer our valued guests the best quality experience at all times. We are glad to know that you had a fabulous experience and specially enjoyed our pianist.

We will be looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at any of our Palace Resorts properties.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Just want to say a massive thank you again to Juan Carlos at Moon Palace. He is the most helpful Mexican I have ever met, Juan Carlos makes me want to come back to the moon Palace every year, this was my 2nd visit to the Moon palace and this year we stayed at the Grand the weather was amazing everyday and was around 33 degrees. MO Mo restaurant is still number one for me and they should have a similar restaurant in Nizuc or Grand. We have met some great people this year and just want to say a massive thank you to the Davis family and the Dixon family who we spent most nights with and enjoyed the red wine and our table for 12.I can only say positive things about this resort but I would say Nizuc or the Grand is the best place to stay. Sunrise in the day is crazy busy but great fun at night. If you like the Beach please go to the beach palace hotel in Cancun its amazing as moon palace you will be disappointed with the sea. We stayed 9th August-22nd 2014.
See you all next year as my kids love this place and want me to book for next year. If you are looking for a family Holiday this is the place to be.
Many Thanks.
Mr Boden

Room Tip: Stay at the Grand its worth paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
On behalf of Juan Carlos Moreno and all our Team, we are very grateful for the opportunity we had that you return to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.

We hope to see you many more times here where it is a pleasure to serve you always.

Hasta pronto !

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#3 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,252 reviews
8.0 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
7,003 reviews
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing