We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent Hotel, this is our second year at the Moon palce Nizuc and we always have and excellent stayed. Personal is amazing, they treat you with respect all the time and they make you feel like home. The Bartender at the main lobby at Nizuc Guadalupe very professional, I recommend to visit him when you are there. also at the time of the check in the lady that help us Claudia very helpfull and profesional. Food was excellent!!! We will go next year again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francisco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our services in Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, on behalf of all our staff we are happy that you chose us for your vacation.

We hope to see you many more times in this paradise of the Mexican Caribbean.

Hasta pronto !

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14,019
    4,336
    1,687
    773
    705
See reviews for
9,152
6,019
113
1,047
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,080)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great, but....


We're just back from a two week stay at the Moon Palace Grand in Cancun. Don't be panicking it's more than good, but it could be so much more!

The staff are great. They are so focused on helping guests it becomes embarrassing, but it's a genuine interest on their part and reflects the culture that has been developed through out most of the hotel. The waiters, bar staff and cleaning staff are brilliant. And whilst it is not required even small tips are much appreciated. The service always seems to be the same regardless.

The Public Relations Staff have a bit of work to do, it's not that they are poor at their jobs, they just seem to lose something in their efforts to help. Though in saying this, we would wish to congratulate Christina Gomez based in the Sunrise Lobby, who went the extra mile to sort out an administrative problem for our party (this was to do with car hire). Thank you Christina. It saved our holiday and restored faith in the hotel.

The Moon Palace is made up of three distinct sections, the Grand, the Nizuc and the Sunrise. The latter two are massive and have elaborate, ornate lobby's with great bars and conveniently located restaurants. Though be warned these are very busy, some will love this, others may be somewhat overcome!

In our opinion the Grand was the much better of the three. More laid back. It has no lobby, a great main restaurant with lovely staff, well managed and very attentive to the needs of the residents. The breakfast and lunch here is buffet style and of a great standard. The evening meals in this restaurant are A La Carte and excellent.

There are a number of pools close to the accommodation, one has a Taco bar/Cafe located beside it, open for lunch...again this is excellent. Great staff!

When your all inclusive you can use any of the restaurants and bars across the entire site and there are many. All of these are good, though in the evening queuing can be a pain. After 8.30pm seems to see the pressure ease up, 7 to 8pm being the peak times.

All the restaurants are good, but highlights..... Momo's is excellent (oriental), the two at the Golf Club are brilliant but require booking, do this quickly, they are very popular. The pool restaurants do great burgers and Pizza, particularly at Nizuc.

The steak house is also great, though extremely warm, no air conditioning just ceiling fans. But really good. The Brazilian was great but not to everyone's taste. Try it and make up your own mind!

The sky bar at sunrise is a classy bar, no kids allowed and great service.

We got the bus to the Shopping Mall and the Beach Palace on the strip. Free bus brings you there in about 25 mins. Mall not great, and whilst the Beach Palace is nice you will appreciate staying at the Moon!

The rooms in the Grand are very nice. Clean, large, good bed, jacuzzi bath, separate wash, shower and toilet facilities. All conveniently located to pools and the beach.

Everyday there were weddings taking place along the beach. If your into a beach wedding, the hotel seems to do it very well. Good to look at and the guests seemed to be having a ball!

Now the But?

For us this was more to do with how a problem was handled. The Public Relations section said they would get back to us and they didn't. We had to chase after people to sort the problem out. This went on for three days and could have totally ruined the holiday. We travelled with Thomas Cook, as we have in the past, and whilst we like this company, on this occasion we felt let down. This was unfortunate and on reflection more to do with individuals than the company.

The resort allowance is a peculiar thing and can be perceived as a rip off, but if you apply it to things like the Spa it really does offer good value. You only pay 16% resort tax and fee..... so for a massage you may only pay about 25$, (depending on the one you choose) not bad anywhere in the world. Check the prices.

The Moon Palace is some place. Go enjoy, don't be afraid to try all the restaurants and bars, if you don't like what's on offer in one, then there's plenty there to suit all taste.

Room Tip: Beach is quiet, though lots of sea weed. Beds are better quality round the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bemoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW BRAUNFELS
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Moon Palace is First Class all the way. From the moment you step foot on the property you are treated like Royalty. A refreshing beverage and a cool towel awaits you at check in. Although, the resort was sold out, it never seemed crowded. The check in procedure was seamless, we were directed to our room and the bell hop took care of our bags. Our room was just as the pictures showed, the view was amazing and we had a brand new Jacuzzi tub. We did have an electrical problem the first night. The lights wouldn't turn on. I called the front desk and there were service men working on the problem within 20 min. The situation was resolved within 30 min. If you are going for a honeymoon or anniversary make sure you inform the person making your reservations. We received a complimentary bottle of Champaign and an anniversary cake. The pools were amazing and the drink service even better. Our group took Tumblers to the pool to hold our drinks. The extra insulation helped keep our frozen drinks and cocktails colder, longer.The spa was amazing and I highly recommend visiting the "Fish Spa". What an experience!! We also played golf. The course is amazing ! Bring lots of golf balls so you don't have to purchase there if you are trying to save a buck. The scenery and the animals you see can turn any round into a decent one. Watch out for the birds, they will steal your snacks. This was our first All Inclusive adventure and we are already talking about next year's trip. if you are wanting to go to a resort with the best beaches and ocean views, this probably isn't the place for you. The water is very murky and there is a lot of seaweed. The staff keeps it cleaned up as much as possible but it's still there. We saw many weddings the few days we were there. June 20th-23rd. Next time we will stay longer. There is so much to do and we ran out of time.

Room Tip: Ocean views are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retailer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Retailer2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to know that you felt like royalty at your first experience at our Resort. We always do our best to create unforgettable moments to our guests and it is really rewarding to know that we accomplish our main goal.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you back at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guingamp, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a fantastic holiday, two adults and two children. Plenty to eat and drink, and things for all of us to do. Kids loved the Playroom - a big thank you to all the girls who looked after our kids every day - the children wanted to go back, we didn't make them go every day!!!! Hello to Vero, Cristy, Paola,Isa,Marlana,Mary,Isabel,Grecia,Felisa,Betty,Azvcena,Krisshna and Yoshi. The Mexican restaurant near the Sunrise lobby was where we spent most of our eating time - a big thank you to Rachel the manager who had to put up with my husband (Mr Sexy!) and to the guys who couldn't do enough for us - Gambino, Edwardo, Pedro, Peter, Marcus, Roberto. To any names we have missed sorry. The cleaning staff were excellent too - thank you for looking after us too. True, there is a problem with shade availability by the pool, but I have yet to be in a hotel that enforces the no reserving law for sunbeds, but more shades would be a good idea. Pay for your trips with your credit card to get a better rate, and only use your hotel credits for spa/beauty treatments, cigars and alcohol to get the best deals. Swimming with dolphins and whale shark are fantastic trips! Will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaMrsSexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear AnitaMrsSexy,

At Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort we have a vast variety of activities, food, beverages and entertainment for all tastes and ages. Thank you for highlighting the ones you enjoyed most!

You can be certain that Vero, Cristy, Paola, Isa, Marlana, Mary, Isabel, Grecia, Felisa, Betty, Azvcena, Krisshna, Yoshi, Rachel, Gambino, Edwardo, Pedro, Peter, Marcus and Roberto will receive the recognition they deserve.

It will be an honor for us to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Good.
The hotel is stunning, the lobby areas in all three sections are excellent. The bars areas are great with a nice atmosphere. We had a family (2 rooms adjoining) in the Sunrise section which worked really well for a family. The rooms were good size, very clean and the maid service was excellent. We had a nice balcony with a sting hammock.
The People - the staff in all areas of the hotel were lovely and very helpful and were really genuinely appreciative of the most modest tips.
The location - only ten minutes from the airport a quick transfer after a long flight from the UK.
The Golf Course - a high standard and challenging course, well maintained with lots of wildlife all around.
Diet - dont worry ladies or gents if you think you are carrying a few extra pounds, I am and I was made to feel slim. This is not a hotel frequented by the body beautiful and obesity was the order of the day, including the kids !

The Bad.
The Restaurants - massive queues (1.5 hours) if you want to eat at a normal time (7pm to 9.30pm), fine if you want to eat at 6pm or 10.30pm.
The Smell - strong drains smell in numerous locations throughout the external hotel corridor areas and one or two poolside areas.
The Planes - because it is so close to the airport there is plenty of noise from planes taking off that fly directly above the hotel, from 7am onwards.
The Swimming Pool - we only went to the Sunrise Pool as it was too far to walk to the others. The pools were clean but very dated with lots of evidence of bodged temporary repairs to the fabric.

Mosquitos - come prepared with lots of repellent spray.

Football Shirts - I did not expect this to be a hotel frequented by football shirt wearing British but I was wrong !

The Ugly.

I am not a food snob and will quite happily eat at the lower end of the scale and will eat anything but the food, was terrible. Breakfast in most restaurants was the best meal of the day. There was a poolside BBQ and Pizza Oven which were ok at best. In the Sunrise section La Gondola was the most popular but even this was average. The other buffet style restaurants including those in the Nizuc section were dreadful in so many ways. Poor selection, different courses all mixed up so the there were desserts in trays next to salads and main courses. The meats were dry and massively over cooked unless you went to the cooking stations but the queues were so long it wasnt worth it.

The Beach - we prefer a poolside holiday but even we were disappointed with the beach. The sand is beautiful and clean and the beach itself is massive but along its entire length is a thick band of seaweed making it inaccessible except for one tiny opening. This is not the hotel for you if you like swimming in the sea.

The Sunbed fight - only 30% max of sunbeds have any shade. To get a sunbed with an umbrella meant you had to get up at 6.30am, join the queue for towels and then rush to grab a bed.

OVERALL - a disappointing hotel. The hotel could be worth of its rating but the food (a major part of a holiday for me) brought it right down as did the need to get up very early every morning. 3 star maybe lower end of 4 star at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AliG2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We'd like to offer you our sincerest apologies for not fully meeting your expectations.
We thank you for your kind remarks and candid feedback. We are surprised to hear that you did not enjoy our food, as this is not the typical feedback we receive.
We pride ourselves on serving only the highest quality of food, prepared by one of the best culinary teams in Cancun. Also, for guests who prefer a different beach, we offer a complimentary shuttle to our sister resorts in the Hotel Zone, where guests can enjoy their amenities and beaches at no additional cost.
Please be assured that all your feedback will be fully considered and we thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Respectfully,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I loved the Moon Palace Resort! The food was incredible as were the cocktails (including the mini bar). While the resort offers a 150$ room credit (not 1500 the way you assume and it's PER ROOM not per person) it is only available to use for select amenities which book up quickly so make sure you reserve your space in advance so you don't miss out!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Tyler U,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are glad to know that you loved our Resort.

We will be looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at any of our Palace Resorts properties.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Were nervous about this trip based on reviews, traveling out of the USA, etc. but this was a very memorable trip for the entire family. Moon Palace is the best resort on the peninsula, so it will be difficult to go back and stay anywhere else. The #1 thing about Moon is the service. Everyone is so helpful and willing to serve. It was really enjoyable to not have to worry about a thing. Check-in was easy, the servers were awesome, bell boys delivered luggage to room and picked up luggage from room on checkout day. Tips were included in our price so I did not feel obligated to leave extra anytime during the trip. Housekeeping dropped the ball a bit by not re-stocking the mini-bar after the 3rd night of our 6 night stay (supposed to be done daily). It is important because they stock the room with bottled water, which you need to drink and brush teeth (don't drink the water in Mexico!). However, upon request, they did return to do some things they missed, but still, I shouldn't have to call them for that.

I can write a lot but I will try to summarize. The beach is terrible. Filled with seaweed, it is not very desirable, although they do clear it away daily, and throughout the day. Also, there is some ocean path carved (by the hotel?) through the seaweed so you can go into the ocean via beach. However, it is the pools that make this place the best! You can take the shuttle to the Beach Palace as part of your stay (included) and I would recommend doing that once or twice if you must have the beach so bad. However, Beach Palace is very crowded and small compared to Moon Palace, so I'd recommend VISITING Beach and STAYING at Moon.

Must make reservations at 2 of the 5 restaurants onsite. We tried to make them on the 2nd day of our stay and they were totally booked. So, I would recommend doing that quickly upon arrival if you can. Otherwise, the other 3 restaurants onsite are VERY good and just walk-in. One tip on dinner is timing. Most people go eat at 7:30-8:30pm. If you go out before then, you can get right in. So, just be smart and don't get bent about overcrowding, because it's not. Place is huge.

Yes, you must save your poolside seat pretty early (6-7am), but once you put your towel and some stuff on your seats, they're saved for the whole day. So, stop whining about it, go out there at 6:15, save a seat under an umbrella, then go back to bed. Tip: 11-under kids area seems to have lots of open spaces, even around 8am. So check it out if you get up too late.

Fruit popsicles are to die for! Bugliamares and Momo and Gondola are great places to eat!

Vacation Planners are available to help with resort credits, but be leary when they start trying to upsell. Use up all your credit, it's free money EVEN THOUGH when you use it the rates paid are considerably higher than those offered if pay out-of-pocket, so the spending power is less, but, hey, it's free money. Use it. Chichen Itza trip was great and would do it again. Dolphin swim is a photo-shoot with dolphins, not so much a swim, and the pics are EXPENSIVE. Would not do that again. Zipline tour is ok, but they only do 5-6 lines and then offer other activities (for a price) so if you do not participate (extra money) then you sit for 2 hours. Glad tried, but not do it again.

Sunrise is where all the action is. The place is so large that it did not seem crowded even though we were told it was fully booked. Nuzic is under construction and Grand is for people without kids. Enjoyable mini-golf and bike rental (free) are included and are great!

Spa is tremendous!! over-priced but REALLY nice. Golf course is like $300 to play - yikes! Club rental is $55 - yikes!

If ever go to Cancun again, would have to stay at Moon because it is the best and we would not be able to compare other resorts, especially those crammed together up by hotel row. yuck!

Room Tip: Family Deluxe is a sweet suite. Sunrise, Nuzic, and Grand are the 3 "areas". All the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beagledawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Beagledawg,

We are truly glad to know that our Resort for you is the best and you will come back. Thank your for your comments recognizing our efforts. Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort is committed to elevate the all-inclusive concept and offer guests an unforgettable vacation experience by combining world-class hospitality with exceptional amenities and attractions.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Resort or at any other Palace Resorts properties.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,259 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,684 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,673 reviews
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing