We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids had the best vacation EVER!”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I made my reservation before reading the trip advisor reviews, so I was a little nervous going into this trip but I was very happy with the whole experience! The hotel was great! Very clean, friendly staff and so many activities for my 4 kids ages 6-14 they never had a dull moment! The beach was great but I will say we did take the shuttle to Beach Palace and their beach was BEAUTIFUL! I was torn about which resort to pick but I am very happy with my choice because Moon Palace is so large and offers so much...I think we would have been bored at Beach Palace since it is much smaller. Lastly the food was good, better than I expected going into an all inclusive. I would definitely stay here again! PS: Best fish tacos EVER!

Room Tip: We went with the connecting family rooms with nanny service. I used the nanny service one night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina_L_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Tina_L_Boston,

We appreciate the feedback about our services and facilities, a family like your is what we have on mind when we planned to offer such a large variety of activities.

I’m happy to hear that you and your family were comfortable and enjoyed your vacations

We look forward to serve you on your next t visit

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,854 - 11,860 of 23,114 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

My mom, grandma, friends and I went to the Moon Palace resort for spring break, and it was the best vacation I have ever been on! Food was great! Entertainment staff was a blast, every employee was extremely welcoming and friendly! I just want to go back because everything was so beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Mayra C,

Your positive review gives pretty much everyone who works here a reason to smile. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

We’re glad to have maintained your positive perception of Moon Palace, and look forward to welcoming you back

Regards,

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This resort was so amazing. Me and my friends stayed at the Sunrise Lobby. Everyone working there was so sweet and accommodating. The food was delicious and the pools are beautiful! I particularly enjoyed meeting everyone on the entertainment staff because they are so genuinely nice and so much fun! Alberto on the entertainment staff is the best! (: I cannot wait to go back it was such a great experience. There were so many fun activities and things to do. I doubt that there is a better place to vacation on Cancun!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Maddie C,

The entire team here takes great satisfaction in doing their jobs well, and your kind comments reinforce that.

Thanks for all of your great comments about us at Moon Palace, I will specifically share your review to Alberto on the entertainment team.

We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time send out this message.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The moon palace was absolutely amazing! My trip there was incredible and life changing! Although there isn't the best beach there due to coral and seaweed the huge pool makes up for it. The food and restaurants were very good. When we went the weather was perfect. Although there was a high humidity there was a beautiful breeze from the water. The shows were so funny and amazing to see. The best part of Moon palace hands down is the people there. All the staff were so incredibly nice and genuine. They always had a smile on their faces and did their jobs with happiness. Also the entertainment staff was amazing and so kind. On person in particular was a man who works on the entertainment staff named Alberto. He is such a kind, genuine, fun, carefree person. He made our trip so special and was just such an amazing person to meet. I hope to keep in touch with the people I met there. If I have the chance there is no doubt in my mind that I will be returning to Moon Palace!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Lauren G,

Thank you so much for your positive review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your experience at Moon Palace Sunrise

I appreciate your feedback about the service provided by our staff, we are proud of our services and facilities

Thank you once again for staying with us!


YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Moon Palace for a friends wedding (Dates 4/23 - 4/27/14). Upon our arrival we realized immediately that this is a HUGE resort. To put it simply it is quantity over quality here.
The rooms are all exactly the same everywhere, however where your room is located is not. We were placed in the furthest building from the lobby (Stayed in Sunrise), which isn't necessarily a big deal, you just can't do the walk in heels (like if you are going to a wedding). We had to leave ourselves plenty of time to walk from the pool to our room, to dinner, etc. After a while we found it quite annoying.
Service, was mediocre at best. I will say though, from past experiences with traveling to Mexico, that compared to the US, they do everything slower, so I wasn't really surprised that it took forever for services here.
Food- I hate to be a Debbie downer, but it was not good at all.
We ate at the Italian restaurant in Sunrise 2x for dinner and both times it was terrible. We ate at the buffet in Sunrise for breakfast out of pure necessity because we didn't feel like taking a BUS to the other buildings just to eat a quick breakfast. We skipped a sit down lunch everyday and opted for the outside buffet of burgers and wings, etc so we could enjoy the pool and beach.
The food at the wedding was gross. The fish didn't taste right, the beef was overcooked. The best part was the rice.
The BEST PART of the trip (other than our friends beautiful vows) was the spa.
I had the massage and facial, which were wonderful and the staff there was great. My husband played golf and enjoyed the golf course.
Overall- I would NOT stay here again. Way to big. They lose the quality with the amount of guests, rooms, staff, etc.
I also would not stay here if you are looking for a quiet get away without kids. This is a FAMILY FRIENDLY resort, so if you are planning to travel sans kids, this is probably NOT the place for you :)
We will travel to Mexico again, as it is one of our favorite places, however this will not be on our list of resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Lobby, otherwise you will be walking A LOT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve all our services and amenities. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but be assured that we will take this all into consideration. Contrary to what you mention in your review, we strive for consistent and superior quality for all our guests. Regardless all feedback is welcome and we will work harder to uphold our commitment to deliver the best services and amenities. We thank you for your time.
Respectfully,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

upgrades this year to lobby at nizuc matched the sunrise side in the wow facter.many resturant face lifts (gondola) new bars (english pub) more ala carte resturants and a new arena for concerts. every year place seems to get better. can hardly wait for next year when the moon grand will have 800 more rooms ,new lobby, more resturants and 75 more spa/massage rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tequila4steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Tequila4steve,

We are really glad to learn that you liked our renovated facilities , with your kind comments you have definitely contributed to our success. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with all travelers.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon.


YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

You must check out the sky bar at the beach palace, the view is amazing ! And the service is first class, look for a waitress by the name of Yadira~ she is the best !!!
Also if you need to make reservations for activites at the moon palace be sure to talk with Alejandro C. PVP at the moon palace he will suggest fun things to do based on what your family interests are !

Room Tip: We stayed in the family deluxe suite in the sunrise section at the moon palace Our rooms were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksmith39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 176 in Cancun
6,276 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#15 of 176 in Cancun
6,301 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 176 in Cancun
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
10,236 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $364 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing