We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Thanks Mardo Solis for the excellent service at the Nizuc buffet. You made our daughter feel like a princess! The children's splash park pool was a highlight. Our three year old spent hours playing there. The structures are well maintained and the pool along with the others was very clean.
The "a la carte" restaurants do not require a reservation. For us this was beneficial as we never knew when we would be done playing and ready to eat. There was usually a 20-30 minute wait however, but all were well worth the wait! High quality restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawesmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
On behalf of Mardos and all our Team, we want to thank you for your comments, your words encourage us to keep improving everyday our services and facilities, and continue to surprise our guests.

Come back soon, we are waiting for you at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort!

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,234
    4,124
    1,601
    749
    664
See reviews for
8,492
5,751
106
992
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The staff at the Moon is outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and helpful going out of their way to get what you need. Hermalindo at the Nuzic pool deserves special recognition as he is always smiling, remembers your name and your preferences. We had a great time at the Moon Palace. We stayed March 10 - 17 in the Nuzic section. We requested an Ocean Front room on the second floor. We were in the Orchid building. The location was great, in the middle of all 3 sections of the resort. We liked the second floor being a bit more private as the main walk way is along the ocean front. The resort is very clean overall and the food is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nightclub2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the magnificent view of the Caribbean Sea from your room and all the services we offer in Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.

We hope to see you soon again, the beautiful sunrises will be waiting for you.

Hasta pronto !

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just returned from a week at Moon Palace. We stayed on the Sunrise side.
We have been several times and are never disappointed. Many people comment on the beach, and I have to wonder if they don't research before they go. The actual beach itself has soft sand and is great for walking, beach volleyball or lounging. The water is not the Caribbean blue, but some people do swim in it. During our stay there was a night of rain and a lot of wind. This caused a lot of sea grass to come up on the shore. The most we have ever seen. They had the majority of it cleaned up in a couple of days.
The pools are awesome. We spent time at both Nizuc & Sunrise pools. We really liked the previous Entertainment staff at the Sunrise. Many of those employees are no longer there. But, I do have to say the new crew at Sunrise did a very good job. They made everything fun. I don’t remember all their names – but they all do a great job.
We were happy to see our friend Guadeloupe still at the Nizuc pool bar. He is the BEST bartender. He is so nice and friendly, always remembers us and what we like to drink. He works very hard and many hours. We always look forward to seeing him.
Even though it was spring break week, the restaurants were easy to get seated in. Like many places the earlier you go the better though. We enjoy the Brazilian, Momo, and Barracuda the most. We personally did not care for the new menu at La Gondola.
Moon Palace is a beautiful resort. The renovations they have done over the last couple years are all very nice. It is the people that work there that keep us coming back. I can’t say enough how nice and friendly all the employees are.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvToPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Amazing hotel. Clean bathrooms by the pool area. Sunrise resort has too much seaweed in the ocean (not that clear water), so had to take free 15 minute bus ride to hotel zone.. Momo has awesome food.. buy souvenirs from the shops in the hotel zone (not the expensive resort gift shop/outdoor shopping area) Cannot use sunrise resort credit for scuba diving..all employees are extremely nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Moon Palace is by far my favorite hotel I have ever stayed at for any vacation I've been on. The service was phenomenal, the entertainment team members were all extremely welcoming, funny, outgoing, and respectful. There was a variety of activities to do and different foods offered everyday at the pool and on some nights they had different activities as well such as a beach party. There was literally never a dull moment at the Moon Palace, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an amazing vacation experience in Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacKenzie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Moon Palace with two other families. I was a bit sceptical based on the size. But this place is set up right . Even though it is huge there is enough to do that it doesn't seen crazy busy. The entire resort is gorgeous! From the pools, to the resturants, to the rooms. There is lots to do for the kids as well as the adults. The staff was excellent, especially at the brazillian restaurant, which was everyones favorite. My only complaint is that thefe is a lot of grass and seaweed along the beach and in the water so swimming in the ocean is out for me. Actually there were very few people in the ocean at all. The beach itself was awesome white sand. Made the beach volleyball very enjoyable. The hotel is only 15min from the airport, but is removed from the Cancun hotel strip. They do offer a shuttle over to the sister hotels if you want to go check them out. The resort credits are more of a discount as you have to pay tax on the service over and above the credits, and you can only spend so much on each service.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamFfej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind recommendation is very important for us to know that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a lot of options for everyone, we are happy you enjoyed our services, restaurants and rooms. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.


Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Loved every minute of this hotel.
Food and service was wonderful
Atmosphere very tropical with white sands and swaying palms. Would definitely recommend this hotel
Food selections was changed frequently and all were top quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,088 reviews
18.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing