We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned this morning from Moon Palace spent 7 days from March 13-20.From the time we reached the resort until our departure we were treated like royalty.Room was located in the Nizuc section and easy access to everything.Room was beautiful bed was so comfortable,bathroom was spacious and shower was fantastic.Maid service was done daily and room was spotless.
Service was second to none and we have been at several hotels in the Cancun,Riviera area.Restaurants were all top notch we ate at the Nizuc breakfast buffet most mornings and our server Miguel Adolfo was our waiter he new our faces and what we liked for our beverages every time. All restaurants except the Italian and Mexican at the golf course required no reservations.It was first come first serve.The Italian restaurant was excellent our server was Elsi her and her partners took excellent care of us all the meal was top notch.
The resorts amenities were great providing something for people of all ages.Resort credits were issued (1500.00) for various services such as golf,spa treatments romantic dinners and more.You have to pay 16 percent taxes on the uses of the resort credits but we'll worth it.
To all at the Moon Palace thank you for being such dedicated and hardworking people for making people's vacations such a pleasure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
A Wonderful Vacation is what we wish for all our guests at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort. Thank you for your words about our Housekeeping, Food & Beverages Departments and the other amenities that we have included for you.

We look forward to have the opportunity to surprise you many more times.

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,430
    4,179
    1,617
    755
    671
See reviews for
8,663
5,817
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,890)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have stayed at a couple of five-star all-inclusive in the past. Both of those times I was as a guest at a company convention so all off the arrangements were taken care of for me.

Booking this style of trip myself for the first time proved to be a bit overwhelming. Also, given that we were paying out of our own pockets this time around, budget was a definite consideration. After initially considering 4 star options, we decided that I would probably be disappointed by the downgrade having already stayed at five-star places, and I wanted my fiancees first all-inclusive experience to be as top-notch as possible. (BTW, I am aware that most would not consider Moon Palace a "true" 5 star, and most rating suggest it's a 4.5 but in comparison the the Dreams and Hard Rock resorts I stayed at previously it compared very well indeed.)

We booked Moon Palace based on the combination of an incredible price, and the long list of amenities, restaurants and so on. We were not disappointed.

I'll start out with a minor nitpick. We had requested a king bed room on an upper floor. We got the king bed, but it was in a ground floor room. It also happened to be at the furthest corner of the sunrise section of the resort. All things considered it was not a big deal so we opted to let it go. The building next to ours was also under construction and blocked off, which meant a long walk around the perimeter to get anyway. No biggie, we're young and able-bodied. The room was well-kept, the bed was big and comfortable, the shower was a huge walk-in type with a rain head and a bench to sit down. Pretty nice for the most basic level room. The room had a mini-bar which was stocked with tequila, vodka, rum, etc, and beer, pop, juice and water in the fridge. It was restocked daily (sometimes for that once per day, I think). The beer of choice was Heineken, but we also received Dos Equis and Coors Light (yuck) at various times. The maids were fantastic, and never failed to leave the room spotless, but also showed up twice more during the day, once to offer fresh towels in case we wanted an evening shower (or just replace our wet ones from that morning if we weren't around) and then again in the evening while we were at dinner for a turn down service which included chocolates on the pillows, bedside lights turned on, and music playing. Nice. Only nitpicks to the room were a broken hinge on the door to the mini bar (so the door kept partially falling off) and our room safe had a low battery when were arrived. I wasn't bothered by the hinge, but someone arrived to fix the safe within ten minutes of me calling the front desk.

The resort itself is massive. I stayed at the Hard Rock in Punta Cana which his huge, and Moon Palace Cancun dwarfs it. It's an interesting design, it's actually three semi separated resorts in one, each which it's own pool/entertainment area and lobby. But when you're checked into one, you're checked into all three. It takes a while to get around and, unlike at the Hard Rock, it seems transport by golf cart (aside from to and from the golf course/spa) is reserved for the "Diamond Club" guests. I could be wrong about this, walking didn't bother me so I didn't investigate it.

The largest section (where we stayed) is Sunrise, which features the biggest pool I have seen, which various "channels" all connected together with walkways criss-crossing it. Nizuc is similar, but on a smaller scale, and then there is the Moon Grand which is the smallest section, and frankly there's not much going on there. It struck me at the "crabby old people section".

This resort truly has something for everybody. The the lady with kids who suggested this isn't a good place for couples, what planet are you on? Yes it is family friendly, but it is equally couple friendly, business friendly or group of singles friendly. The Noir nightclub is better than most of the "real" clubs in Vancouver and it stays open for as long as there are still people in it. Not exactly a family attraction though. Most of the bars stay open until at least one, and each of is unique. The lobby bar is quiet and featured live lounge music most nights, and was the place to go for the best cocktails. The Skybar upstairs was adults only and served up some pretty fancy martinis. My personal favourite was the "swing" bar (because it has swings, not because it's for swingers) outside in the centre of the pool area was my favourite. It always had upbeat music playing, and a great party atmosphere in the evening. I have to give a shout out to Emilio, the evening bartender who was truly above and beyond. Every evening after the first he would greet me warmly with a fist pump and a handshake and quickly learned my favourite drinks and would have them in front of me before I even asked. ATTENTION MANAGEMENT: Emilio is a great asset to Moon Palace, treat him well. All of the bars use good quality liquor by default, not need to ask for it. And unlike what I've heard about some other resorts they certainly don't water them down here. They make them strong. Pace yourself!

The food. The food is superb. At breakfast several of the restaurants serve buffet and it's all essentially the same so it doesn't matter which one you go to, but it's a damn good breakfast. Tonnes of variety, fresh made waffles or omelettes on demand, and after you've finished stocking your plate, you'll find ti whisked out of your hands and carried to the table for you. That took me by surprise the first time, and truthfully I would have been happier carrying my own food, but I can't deny it's a nice touch.

We didn't eat lunch in the "real" restaurants most of the time, we were too full from breakfast. But There are plenty of "lighter" options available outside. There are several wood-fired pizza stations around the pools that server decent but nothing special pizza. If you wait for the waitress to come by you can order nearly anything you'd expect, nachos, etc. Or take a little walk down the Nizuc pool were there is a snack buffet that serves up freshly grilled flank steaks and chicken. To the lady complaining that there were no food options around the pool. I ask again, what planet were you on? I didn't see guacamole around, but all I had to do was ask and a gigantic scoop was delivered to my plate almost instantly.

Dinner was great too. By far the best restaurants were the Mexican and Brazilian one located in the Nizuc lobby. We had a most delicious meal at the Mexican restaurant there, and out waiter, Gaspar, went out of his way to make it memorable. ATTENTION MANAGEMENT: treat Gaspar well. The Brazilian was out favourite overall and we went twice. The first time was admittedly better than the first, it was busier the second time and they were cutting a few corners, I think. Still, both were excellent meals, and the novelty of having waiters slice four kinds of steak, chicken, porn, and even bacon off a "sword" rights at your table it great, but it doesn't hurt that it's insanely delicious.

Finally, a shout out to Ricardo Nahuat at the Cafe Bistro in the Sunrise lobby. He went out of his way to show us a a great time, and his service and willingness to entertain was a true highlight of our trip. ATTENTION MANAGEMENT: Be very nice to Ricardo!

Our trip the spa was okay. This is one area that is a little lacking. The facilities are okay, but a little dated. It was nice to enjoy the saunas and hot pools before the massage, but it was annoying that they are gender segregated so we couldn't enjoy them together. I also was not a huge fan of being led around from sauna to sauna, pool to pool by the attendant. He meant well, and did his job well, but I prefer to make my own way. The massage itself (a couples hot stone massage) was okay, but I didn't enjoy it fully as the room we were in was too cold. All in all the spa experience at home in Vancouver is better... Still I'm not really complaining, it was nice for what it was.

The on-resort entertainment was good. Live piano player during dinner, various shows in the evenings, and probably a lot more that we didn't bother with. We did catch a Michael Jackson impersonator who was really excellent. He was actually singing, not lip syncing. What was very nice is that unlike at smaller resorts, everything here stays open late, so you don't find yourself wondering around at 11pm with nothing to do and wishing you'd gone into town.

Alright, I'm just about done. Just a word about the resort credits. It is not in any way a scam, and some idiots on here have claimed. The resort is upfront that you will have to pay some taxes and service fees. So what? Did you really expect the resort to give you back the entire cost of your trip in credits? We had a nice couples massage, visited the Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza (which included transport, a fully guided tour by an awesome tour guide and a stop for lunch which provided a small dose of authentic Mexico and authentic, if not wonderful, Mexican food). We also took home various gift shop items and a good amount of tequila for less than 250 dollars, not bad, IMO.

Would I go back? Absolutely. This was overall the best resort experience I have had, I the previous two were pretty damn great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My kids 4and 8 years old loved going to the kids club. There were so many fun activities both inside and outside. The facilities were new and very clean! The ladies were fantastic and we really liked Paola! She always had a big smile and was hands on. My girls Ceilidh and Aleah loved the mini disco, it was so fun! It was nice that my husband and I could go for ann elegant dinner knowing the girls were having fun too and were in good hands. We were given cell phones in case we needed to to talk to them.
Thanks Paola!
Kathy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel was very very upscale and nice. Newly renovated, great GREAT great resturants and food. The bel hop staff was perfect, couldn't be nicer and english speaking friendly.

Elvira, Leslie, Janet and Paola in the Kids center (Nizuc) were the best taking care of our little one graciously and selflessly.

I'd recommend Moon Palace for an all inclusive luxury vacation in Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tskinnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for coming to enjoy our renovated Nizuc Lobby, particularly our newly opened Playroom. We are pleased that our staff has treated you in the best way that you deserve.

Thank you very much for your kind recommendation, we are sure that our Tripadvisor readers will find it very helpful.

Hasta pronto !

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our second trip to Moon Palace and this time with family. The first was many years ago as a couple. The resort is wonderful and the landscaping fantastic. The beach as always was a mess with the seaweed, but having been there before we knew what to expect.

Now for the best part! Our family had several wonderful meals at Bugambilias Restaurant. The food variety is great, ranging from authentic Mexican to many other nationalities. The highlight was the outstanding service, smiles, laughs and friendship we formed with one of the waiters named Daniel. He and the rest of the wait staff were wonderful, including several chats with the head waiter Miguel, complimenting him on our great experience. Seriously, if you go to Moon Palace and eat there, ask for Miguel and request from him that you can sit in Daniel's section for him to serve you. Give them a smile and some courtesy and they will literally make your dining experience First Class! Pete L. Kansas

Room Tip: Pay to get as close to the central location as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlatlanderUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We've been on several cruises so we thought we would try an all inclusive this time.
A beautiful expansive resort that provided quality accommodations, great food, and average entertainment.
A couple of items to highlight.
- Reservation at La Trattoria is a must
- Wendy at Caribeon's a la carte restaurant provided excellent service. The night we visited they provided an impromptu buffet menu to our disappointment as we were looking forward to coconut shrimp. That is when Wendy stepped in and talked to the chef. Thank You Wendy for the coconut shrimp!!!
- Shuttle service between lobbies and to the golf course is necessary as the resort is very large. Walking the grounds is simple and nicely manicured. The signage could be improved to help identify room locations, que for shuttle service and tours and other resort amenities.
-$1500 in resort credits was great. Although we left without using all of them (and were not offered the balance for later use as promised ) what we did use we just paid the 16% tax as promised.
- The free phone calls to USA and CANADA were offered but we never made use of that either
- One suggestion to the resort to help solve the issue with people reserving pool loungers is to put a towel on every chair in the morning. We saw alot of ( reserved with towel ) chairs that could have been available to everyone.
Comparatively, this all inclusive resort would a good choice if you want a single location vacation rather than multi locations on a cruise ship.
- Do remember to take small change as there are many opportunities to tip bell boys, waiters, bus boys, shuttle drivers. Although, only one time did I hear the request for tip when we were dropped off at the airport.
We took the shuttle to both sister properties, Beach and Sun Palace resorts. These are a must if you want to see the clear ocean waters.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, 3948 in Sunrise. Good location between Sunrise and Nizuc so we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jettaset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have been to many all inclusive resorts around Mexico, but went to the Moon Palace for the first time March 2014. We are both vegetarian, and while we usually get by with finding some vegetarian options at most resorts, this resort was wonderful and went beyond our expectations! We truely were able to enjoy the food instead of just making do.

Couple of highlights on the food:
1. First of all they had a seperate "vegetarian" grill at the evening buffet which was great because usually people that don't eat meat don't want to use a grill that has meat on it right before. Something resorts usually don't think of and was much appreciated!

2. And best of all, they had east indian vegetarian food in the buffet each day! If you like Indian food, this is definetly the resort to go to. They had variety everyday and the quality was amazing. Hope Moon Palace keeps this up (compliments to the chef), we will definetly be back again and tell others! Two thumbs up Moon Palace!!

Rest of the trip was also great, clean and well kept property with great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,224 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing