We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all inclusive get away from your day to day”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at Sunrise - largest pool, great areas for the kids and for adults who don't want to be near the kids. Rooms are beautiful, all granite, marble and of course the in room Jacuzzi. The food is good, from the buffets to the sit down dinners. The house wine is fine, but if you want to 'upgrade' they have an impressive wine list. The staff, from the porters, doormen, wait staff, entertainment staff, room service, maid service, they all go out of their way to make your stay here as pleasant as possible. This place has something for everyone. I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We booked a garden view room. Ask for the 3rd floor so you get a good view of the complex. Also, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetectiveofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear DetectiveofTravel

Thanks so much for your comments. We value your loyalty and constructive feedback you have definitely contributed to our success. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with all travelers.


We will look forward to seeing you again soon.



YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,141 - 13,147 of 23,902 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just returned from our 9th Trip to the Moon .... !! and well what can we say, the place just gets better and better and we think it is the finest it has ever been. The recent renovations are totally awesome. So impressed that we are currently planning another trip later this year and well worth the 11 hour flight to get there. As soon as you arrive it feels you have arrived back home and you are cocooned in luxury. The staff as always are friendly and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble and you are consistently thanked with "its my pleasure" .We are always treated like royalty on our visits and recognised year on year by staff members at every level within the resort and regard many of them as our Mexican family that we have known for 9 years. We are lucky enough to be Elite members of this resort and special thanks go to Raul Castenada and Viridiana our concierge for taking such good care of our arrangements. This year we stayed with our friends (who we first met at this resort 8 years ago) in a wonderfully remodelled sea-view Presidential Suite at The Sunrise which was the perfect location for us to get to all areas of the resort. We have stayed at all three hotels Sunrise, Nizuc and Grand over the years and it is hard to choose our favourite.
The only downside for us this year was that we happened to visit during the worst weather that Cancun had seen for many years and it rained consistently for 10 days out of the 14 but hey... we come from the South West of England where we have endured floods and hurricanes daily since December so a bit more wet weather did not dampen our spirits. The staff at the golf club and resort coped remarkably well with the conditions but unfortunately the golf course naturally closed due to flooding for a few days during the trip and it was a bit soggy underfoot but all in all the green-keepers, starter and staff at the club did a great job in terrible weather conditions and kept a smile on their faces. And so if you cant use the golf course or swim in the pools there is always the truly fabulous spa.... Pure Heaven.... Don't forget to use your resort credits... Or you can always dine in any of the many restaurants... With the packed entertainment programme there is always something to do at the resort come rain or shine.
Do we love this place - definately.... Will we be back ... Of Course . Wish I was there right now....You Bet.. FABULOUS. Look forward to seeing you all again very soon (perhaps with just a little more sunshine at the end of June (hopefully) :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank TheBuchanans2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear TheBuchanans2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the compliments regarding our services and facilities. We pride ourselves of offering the ultimate quality experience to our valued guests and also of selecting the right people and allowing them to do what they do best, take care of our guests.

Thanks for all the compliments as well, I’ll be sure to share them with our entire team.

We’ll look forward having you with us again soon


YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at Moon Palace Sunrise in February. The weather was exceptional with one day of rain out of 14. We had two weeks to relax and that is mostly what we did.Exceptional employees Aldo, Nico and Patricia at the pool we fell in love with and hope to stay in touch with. We celebrated our 47th anniversary at La Gondola and the manager, Armado, served us a beautiful cake with a greeting written on plate! We plan to go back every year and plan to take the grandchildren there soon. I encourage anyone that wants exceptional service, food, accomodations and entertainment to stay at Moon Palace. We will be back every year

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Sandra Lou

We are delighted to learn that you have had an exceptional time with us!

The entire team here takes great satisfaction in doing their jobs well, and your kind comments reinforce that.

Thanks for all of your great comments about us at Moon Palace. We’re really glad that you took the time send out this message.

Best regards


YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the moment you drive through the security at the front gates, you know that Moon Palace is something different. We stayed four nights at the Sunrise part in the last week of January and had an amazing time. Our room had a private hammock on the deck, and in-room jacuzzi. What really blew me away was the all-inclusiveness of it - all the food was included, even the room service, and of course all the drinks. You could pay for 'premium wine and spirits' but there was really no need - we had magaritas, mai tais, mojitos, pina coladas... all included. If you like cocktails, this is truly the perfect place for you. There are bars everywhere and staff even wander around the pools asking if you'd like something so you don't even have to get up. In fact, the staff are always bending over backwards to help you, no matter where you are in the resort.

We ate at a few different restaurants and all the food was delivered to a high standard, even (or especially) the buffets, which had a really wide range of stuff, including flavour-packed Mexican dishes. The Brazilian restaurant was also quite fun as they bring the meat to your table. You can also get freshly made pizzas by the pool, which makes a handy light lunch. Several restaurants require booking and a high standard of dress though, so make sure you bring some nice clothes (for men, pants) to ensure you can get in.

If you get bored of just lying by the water there are plenty of free activities to do - table tennis, mini golf, bicycle, tennis, basketball, outdoor chess, the wave rider, sea kayaking & windsurfing, and an indoor arcade (technically the teen zone) which has air hockey and a pool table. You can also pay extra (or use resort credit) to swim with dolphins, go on jet skis, play at the 18 hole course, get a spa treatment, or go on an excursion. We paid for the Chichen Itza/Valladolid trip and really enjoyed it, especially Chichen Itza.

There are free shuttle buses daily from Moon Palace to the sister properties in the Cancun Hotel Zone, Sun Palace (for couples) and Beach Palace (for families, and close to two big shopping malls). Both are pretty small compared to Moon Palace, though I really enjoyed the lunch at Sun Palace which has a great view of the beach.

It was off peak when we went so we got a pretty good deal on Orbitz, however I would still say it is totally worth going if you can afford it - it was so relaxing not having to worry about the price of each drink or meal. All the facilities are great and you can see they are constantly upgrading too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luna block on the Sunrise side, which was perfect - far away enough from the stage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clararar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Clararar

On behalf Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort Staff , we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detail review about our services and facilities

It is always much appreciated when some one takes the time to let us know that we were able to fufill their expectations.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, we truly hope that you will return for another fantastic experience.

Kind regards,

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip recently, after visiting for leisure over 10 years ago, and was incredibly impressed with the quality of the resort, services, and staff.

I stayed in the Nizuc phase of the resort which I found to be a little more relaxed than Sunrise - more of an older crowd with fewer families. My room was very well appointed with an in-room jacuzzi and ocean view, with an easy walk to the pool area and lobby. Everything was kept very clean, and drinks and food were always replenished. The staff was very friendly and helpful - greeting me wherever I went, happy to speak with me, and while at the pool area, my glass was never empty.

The restaurants were also great - good diversity if you're willing to hop between the phases (easily done on the lobby-to-lobby bus), and staff there was also eager, friendly, and helpful.

The only downsides are that it is huge and far from central Cancun (you will never leave the resort unless you plan a day trip or something). Also the beach is not fantastic - it was great for sitting next to, watching the sunset, hearing the waves roar, smelling the salt air - but not for swimming.

But, all in all, this was a fantastic stay, and I can't wait to return for pleasure. This would be my first choice in Cancun and next time I hope to be able to explore some local sites like Tulum.

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view - I stayed in Edificio Mono in Nizuc and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markk612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for giving us your review of your visit to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, on behalf of all our staff we thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new facilities and quality services that have always characterized Palace Resorts. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a great experience staying at this resort.

Some of the things we really enjoyed:
- The hotel is 10 minutes away from the Cancun airport so you're not traveling for hours to get to your destination.
- The staff go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating - all of them, from the luggage porters, to the front desk staff, to the restaurant and bar servers. We did leave tips ($2-$4) at each meal, and we could tell the staff definitely were appreciative of this.
- Reservations are not required at the majority of restaurants.
- The food selection and quality were very good - cold items were properly chilled and hot items were sufficiently warmed at the buffets. A great selection of cooked-to-order items were available at each meal at the main restaurants, as well as a good selection of fresh fruits and juices and baby food jars. I have a crazy sweet-tooth, and personally found the desserts disappointing at all the restaurants (huge selection, but taste just wasn't great; I lived on the popsicles and ice creams which were much tastier). Bottled water was readily available everywhere. My personal favorite was the Brazilian restaurant.
- The resort credit was a nice bonus - it can be used towards the spa, to book a romantic dinner or chef's dinner, at the dolphin enclosure, off-site excursions, etc. You only need to pay a small fee; and note this credit can no longer be used towards upgrading your room (request a complimentary upgrade at the time of booking).
- The resort was exceptionally clean and in good repair. We did see the occasional bug (cockroach/beetle/spider) traveling down the hallway outside the rooms at night, but as this was on the grounds this is to be expected and there was nothing in our rooms. The only place where we found a lot of mosquitoes/cockroaches was the evening we traveled to the golf course for our dinner at La Trattoria, and were waiting at night for the shuttle back to our section.

Things we were not so thrilled with - nothing that would deter us from going back, but worth mentioning:
- When meeting with the guest services team to find out about the resort, they are very pushy in trying to book you for a presentation "to see the other section of the hotel". I'm sure this is not the end-game once they get you there, but my husband and I managed to avoid it.
- The a la carte Italian restaurant at the golf course: we were very excited expecting the food to be excellent given that this was 1 of only 2 restaurants where a reservation was required. The ambiance was nice, and the service was nice, but the food was appalling. Each dish we were served either lacked flavor or was cold once it reached our table.
- If a beautiful beach is high on your list of priorities, this will be a disappointment. Despite a regular clean up of the shoreline, the shore is strewn with some sort of seaweed/grass. It does not make for romantic walks along the shoreline or a swim, but was still nice to sit under an umbrella and admire the overall view.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6101(Nizuc) - oceanfront room. The view was beautiful, and 1 minute away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCJP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We all are honored to know that our efforts had such a positive results and we will be always happy to welcome you back to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort and remain at your disposal for any assistance.

Norma Granados / Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Fourth time at Moon Palace, first Time at Sunrise complex. We has on l'y great experiences at the Nizuc and Sunrise complexes for the rooms, the views and to be close to the action. Everything is impeccable. The personnel makes you really feel at home. We consider the personnel as our friends and we are very happy to see them year after year.

Room Tip: Any room with oceanview at Nizuc or Sunrise complexes. Nicer if you have a room on second or third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Daniel D

One of the best ways a guest can compliment our team is by recommending the hotel to their friends. Thank you! I’m glad you had such a positive experience here at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

We appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about our Resort and Staff

Kind regards


YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,585 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,244 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#25 of 177 in Cancun
10,055 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $421 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, ten minutes from the airport, this luxury all-inclusive resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service, top-shelf drinks, free WIFI, CHI-branded amenities and complimentary calls to Continental US, Canada, and landlines in Mexico, Over-the-top amenities are included for everyone, families and couples alike, such the state-of-the-art Playroom for kids, a lounge designed just for Teens; an endless variety of gourmet dining options and bars, a FlowRider® Double Wave Simulator, not to mention world-class entertainment and nightlife. With the added indulgence of an AWE SPA® for hard-core pampering, and a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course for enthusiasts and novices alike, Moon Palace Cancun has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing