We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon Palace restaurants”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent a week at the Moon Palace before Christmas. Our rooms were large enough with an ocean view, and very quiet. We stayed in the Sunrise section which is the best if you have children or young adults traveling with you, lots of activities, the surfing machine, beach volleyball. We ate at all of the restaurants, and found La Trattoria and Arricefes to be the best. If you go to Arrecifes, request a table with the team of Uber Lopez, Juan Carlos and Lazaro...they are amazing! Their level of attentive service was the best, comparable to any in fine dining restaurants in the U.S. The food there was excellent. La Trattoria was very good, our waiter Gonzalo provided top level service and the food was great (prosciutto with melon, seafood risotto, steak all very good!)
We found the buffets to be quite good in the mornings, with lots of fresh fruit and cereal if you're a light breakfast eater, plenty of hot stuff if you like a bigger breakfast. They have a juice bar which was good, and the service in the breakfast buffets was excellent. Yes, it's a big resort and you will have to walk a lot, but you'll need to if you eat as much as we did!

Room Tip: Our beds were hard, they do have pads that you can request to make them softer.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LaurelC743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,477 - 13,483 of 23,872 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

I booked JetBlue Getaway for my 8 year old son, a friend and myself to Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort in Cancun Mexico from December 22 to December 27, 2013. Here are the negative aspects of the trip: TourExPlaya which was to provide the transport from the airport to the hotel sent its driver late and we had to wait 20 minutes for him to arrive to take us. It would have been better had he been waiting with a sign with our names outside the airport. When we reached the resort, we were not booked into the Sunrise Phase our booking had indicated and, after queuing up for 25 minutes were told to wait for transport to take us to the Nizuc Phase and this took another 20 minutes. Then, we had to queue up again at the other building to check in and wait for the bell boy to take us to our room and that took another 25 minutes since the bellboy had to lug our 3 suitcases up the stairs since there was no elevator! Also, the toilet tank had to be opened several times for us to manually push the rubber stopper down so that the tank would fill up with water after the toilet was flushed and this had to be done throughout our stay. The biggest down point was one night when our card key could not open the door. I went back to the lobby 3 times to complain and the guy and the reception kept saying he had reactivated our card key and it should work. He said if it didn’t work to call on the phone at the bottom of the two flights of stairs we had to climb to our room. I ended up having to call 5 times since the person that was to come failed to show up each time I was told he would be there in 5 minutes. During the 2 hours it took for the security man to finally show up even after I found out that the even the room service waiter couldn’t open our door with his master card key, mosquitoes bit all of us including my poor little son who was still wet from the waterpark. Apparently, the batteries in the key card reader attached to the door had died out and had to be changed and that took another 40 minutes to do. My poor son has a bad cough and cold as a result of waiting so long in wetclothes since we couldn't get in the room to change his clothes. Lastly, I never did understand the resort’s resort credit system which was supposed to reward us with $1500 in resort credits for spa treatments, tours, giftshop purchases all of which were overpriced anyway. It was too restrictive and even extended to the entertainment at the resort since you had to redeem points for tickets to those shows which were usually fully booked…One would think it would be better that anyone at the resort should be able to see a show at the all-inclusive resort for free. I only managed to use the credits for lotions and bathgel since anything requiring booking was already fully booked for the time we were there. Here are the positive aspects: The room was lovely with 2 double beds and a Jacuzzi and the room as well as a shower and toilet. The buffet restaurants had a wide variety of food options and the best was the daily barbeque near the pool area. The pool area had many pools at the Nizuc and Sunrise phases and other water attractions such as a giant slide, a surfing type wave pool and a children’s waterpark. My son also liked the playroom at the Sunrise with a movie room, an obstacle course area with a ball pit, game room and outdoor pirate ship-themed slide and swing area. He also liked the snowman balloon and Mexican puzzle that he received at the Christmas event for children. We would go back due to the positive aspects but I hope the negative aspects won’t be repeated and also hope we would finally get to see one of the professional live entertainment shows at the resort and that I would get a spa treatment next time. Also, while the resort is absolutely gorgeous, the beach has too much seaweed and the hotel staff should remove it to make the beach prettier and cleaner.

Also, FYI, The last night of our stay, the resort received a huge number of guests, probably for the New Year's Eve festivities and the Ricky Martin Concert on December 28 so we had to queue up for 1.5 hours to get a table and then queue up for another 30 minutes just to get pasta and other food at the various food stations although we never had to do so for the other nights. If you go on the 27th of December or later, you might want to allow more time to get seated in the restaurants.

Room Tip: You can only choose the type or standard of room but won't know until you get there which of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UNpeacekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We understand just how important vacations are, and try to continuously raise the bar in the services and amenities we provide. We hope to have the pleasure to host you in the near future. Happy New Year 2014 ! Norma Granados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are just returning from a 6 day Moon Palace vacation. We traveled with 2 adults and 4 teenagers and overall we had a wonderful time. The employees who work at the pool and in the restaurants are incredible. We had amazing service. Balthazar at the Nizuc pool was our favorite. He was more than attentive, funny and just a pure delight!

The food was really good for an all inclusive - probably some of the best I've ever had at an all inclusive resort. The grounds are really well maintained and the property is very nice.

Our only complaint was working with the "vacation planners" and front desk personnel. Trying to use the resort credits took up so much time and was so confusing that it wasn't even worth it in the end... we had two rooms with $1500 of credits on each room - and we left still having $1400 of credit on one room and $900 on the other room. Each time we spoke to someone at the "vacation planning table" or the front desk, we got a different story - that was frustrating but not enough to put a negative spin on our trip.

Our biggest frustration occurred when trying to book a deep sea fishing trip. I would not recommend using AquaWorld for any trips. We were told that the seas were calm and our trip would be normal, only to experience 12 foot waves and swells. We never even fished, returned to the marina and tried for 2 days to get a refund on our trip - to no avail. The resort would not assist us and AquaWorld refused to refund even part of our trip cost ($666) - so I am planning on fighting this charge with my credit card company.

All and all, if you are booking at Moon Palace because you want the resort credits, you will probably be disappointed. If you are booking because you like the look of the resort based on photos - you will enjoy it a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gracieo2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort experience with Tripadvisor readers. On behalf of all our Tea, we wish you a Happy New Year! Norma Granados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Once again we had the pleasure of staying at a Palace Resort. This was our first Christmas here, so we weren't sure what to expect. The resort was at high occupancy, but the service didn't reflect the number of guests. We spent must of our time at the Grand Moon pool and Sara was our server. She did a phenomenal job, especially considering the full occupancy. The Christmas Eve special dinner was quite nice. We were originally hesitant when we realized it was a buffet, but everything moved smoothly and our two servers were top notch. We also had an opportunity to attend the Cirque of Dreams Holidaze show and were quite impressed. A special thanks to Jose, Fanny, and Fernanda, the Diamond concierges. Our 10 days have been relaxing and memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triestoteach9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A family vacation Dec 19-16. Booked two adjoining rooms. High season, a fair amount of people. Spent $5K for stay. Spent extra for resort credit service fees, water shoes, jet ski ride and parasail ride.
The good - Nice rooms, excellent service poolside and at the restaurants, golf course looks very nice although I didnt play it. Bring mosquito repellent if you do. I think you will need it. Breakfast at the Gondola restaurant. lunch at the bugambilias restaurant and dinner at the Trattoria. Wife said the spa is decent.
The mediocre - The Gondola Restaurant dinner, Momos Teppanyaki
The bad - Palapa Fragatta - the seafood place was absolutely awful. The fish and shrimp that we had tasted like it had been dipped in a toxic chemical and it was burnt as well. I didnt drink much but the few drinks I did have were seriously watered down. The wine at the restaurants sucked. Burnt cheeseburgers, lousy pizza poolside.
The ugly - read the fine print on the resort credit you get. We got $1500. We could only use it on the tours(check out reviews prior to booking them), golf course, wine upgrades an a $300 max on the spa. Each time you use the credit, a service fee is applied that is not payable with the resort credit. The wine upgrade was a joke. They price crappy wines at $100 and then charge a service fee of $11.00. The reality is that the wine can be bought for less than that here in the US. Total joke. When you arrive, they try to hustle you into a timeshare sales pitch in return for more applied credit to the spa. We told them we would consider it. They woke me up two days straight to try to get me to attend. Advice - make it clear you are not interested! They tell you its 90 minutes. We spoke to someone who listened to the pitch. They were ticked off because it took them more then 3 hours. The hallways leading to the rooms echo all the sounds especially in the early morning hours when the partiers are walking around, talking loud. They will wake you up.
Probably wont go back. The dinners need a lot of work. The BS service fees are an annoyance. Why dont they just include it in the price? Moon Palace Management - be transparent on the resort credit. Be clear on how it can be used and the service fees. You are only burning bridges by overselling it. Knock off the hustle on the timeshare. You are burning a lot of goodwill there as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jnjndf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Thank you so much Fernanda for helping us coordinate a great group vacation! Thank you to Andres for solving our room issues at Nizuc. Thank you for the amazing dinners at Carabeno Xavier! Always something new to learn about wine/food pairing.
The Nizuc remodel is moving forward and looking amazing- decorating is not fully completed. Los Corporales new menu is wonderful and decor very interesting. We will return to see the fully remodeled and redecorated Nizuc area of the Moon Palace grounds!


.

Room Tip: Nizuc is centrally located on the Moon Palace grounds- most buildings are close ocean view or ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Justin L,
Thank you very much for your kind review, it means a lot for us to know that your expectations were met and you truly felt special during your stay at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort. Happy New Year 2014! And we hope to see you soon. Norma Granados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Consistent service and continual improvement is the signature of Moon Palace, and I believe, the rest of the Palace Resort properties. The one significant factor that sets apart the palace resorts from all others, are the employees of the hotel. It was so great to interact with Maria, Sergio, Pablo and Mario of the Caribieno restaurant each morning for breakfast. We had a blast playing the Jungle and the Lakes course, and left quite a few balls out there. Mercedes was great at the sushi bar, and we discovered "Toncha" the creme tequila there, It is like liquid ice cream. Found a crocodile in the back of the Los Tacos pool, while being served the best banana monos and mimosas. We had a great exploration tour, led by Ceasar, Pau and our driver, ?, of the Xenotes. Discovered open, semi open and closed centotes, the mayan language, and fun kayaking, zip lines, cliff jumping, snorkeling, etc...Loved playing tennis at Nizuc , then hitting the Sweet and Coffee for Frappaccinos!!!
It was our 7th time, but certainly not our last. Loved every second.

Room Tip: The Grand section is more modern, quiet and away from the main activities, but we still played ping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarlLee105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,647 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,579 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,227 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#25 of 177 in Cancun
10,040 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $425 - $971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, ten minutes from the airport, this luxury all-inclusive resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service, top-shelf drinks, free WIFI, CHI-branded amenities and complimentary calls to Continental US, Canada, and landlines in Mexico, Over-the-top amenities are included for everyone, families and couples alike, such the state-of-the-art Playroom for kids, a lounge designed just for Teens; an endless variety of gourmet dining options and bars, a FlowRider® Double Wave Simulator, not to mention world-class entertainment and nightlife. With the added indulgence of an AWE SPA® for hard-core pampering, and a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course for enthusiasts and novices alike, Moon Palace Cancun has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing