We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“1 Week stay at Moon Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“1 Week stay at Moon Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I'll start off by saying that this was my third trip to the Moon Palace resort. My first trip however with a 9 month old. First two stays were on the Sunrise side of the resort and this stay was on the Nizuc side.

We flew down with West Jet. Although this is a review of the resort, I have to say that if you have never flown with West Jet please think of them next time as they were a blast (staff super friendly and they cracked jokes the entire flight which made it easier going).

We arrived on May 18, 2013. We were staying at the Nizuc portion of the resort. We arrived mid day and were able to get our wrist bands, but our rooms weren't ready until 3pm (it was approximately noon when we arrived). We ate and met with the VIP elite concierge and were then able to get our room. Overall speed of check in was reasonable and staff were friendly.

We were in the Pantera portion of Nizuc (our room was upgraded to the Ocean View King room). We had our 9 month old and a crib was provided. (essentially a play pen, but they did a good job of putting a nice mattress in it with matching sheets from the king bed).

The room was clean and the fridge was stocked with beer and soda. Upon arrival it was very hot and we wanted to bathe our little guy and found that the jacuzzi tub had rust coloured water coming out of it. We decided to let the water run for a bit to clear the pipes, but it didn't correct the issue. We decided to call in the morning.

We went to the front desk in the morning 5am (little guy was up early) and they set a repair time of 9am. We had breakfast at Los Caporales and by the time we got back to the room the repairman was already finishing correcting the issue.

With having a little one we were stuck taking several naps through the day and didn't get to enjoy too much of the pool/beach or amenities at the resort.

We ate breakfasts and lunches almost solely at Los Caporales due to the staff. If any managers from the Moon Palace read this please commend Santos and his partner Inocente for their work. They kept my son entertained while we had an opportunity to eat. They went above and beyond what I saw of other staff members. Santos took the opportunity when we were leaving to speak further with us and thank us and he was an all around great guy. I hope you keep him on staff as I'd like to see him next year and reintroduce him to my son (albeit a bit older by that point).

I enjoyed my stay, there were little hiccups during (cleaning staff took all our towels and failed to replace them, and took our robes as well.) We were able to rectify the problem with our beach towels as the cleaning staff also took one of them too... we easily got three towel cards back.

The food was typical Moon palace, they had a good selection, the food was appetizing. The room service was awesome, they were thorough in ensuring we got what we ordered. Premium beer delivered when requested (heineken, coors light, dos equis). If you get room service order the chocolate cake... simply awesome.

Pools were clean, appeared well maintained, they were moderately busy (if you're looking for a quiet pool go over to the moon grand). Met some awesome people from Texas and England at the Nizuc pool.

All around a great trip and will return.

Room Tip: If you go to Nizuc and you are looking for a quieter room look to get a room facing towards the wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hedgyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11,757
    3,750
    1,479
    711
    601
See reviews for
7,547
5,101
89
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Moon Palace in Cancun, best vacation ever! The staff, room, pools,food were perfect! Our concierge Omar bldg. 87 what great, he really enjoys his work and make you feel at home. At night he would with leave my wife a lavender pillow and fill our aroma heater with scented oils. He also left me a birthday cake and wine on ice. Amelia a sever at the pool behind bldg. 86 was also great! The make a very good BLT. We cannot wait to go back. Just look at photos in Google images, it is really just like the photos!

Room Tip: We liked Bldg 87 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnvicbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our third visit to Moon Place Grand and as expected from our last two visits the standard of service was excellent.
My husband loves the Golf course whilst I love the Spa of which both are excellent.
We loved the Italian restaurant at the Golf course and the Mexican restaurant is also excellent.
The staff everywhere can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable but particularly the restaurant we had breakfast in. The service was superb as they remembered you especially Luis and Jorge who remembered us from last year. Ricardo the manager was extremely pleasant and welcoming. Janet was very efficient and Marisol a trainee waitress an absolute delight.
Everywhere in the Palace Resorts we have stayed in it is run so efficiently like a well oiled machine. We think this is due to the fact all the staff appear to love working for this company and a happy workforce makes it a very happy place to stay in and to return to which hopefully we will in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our first visit to the Moon Palace and indeed Cancun and following the many reviews on this site, although mainly favourable, my wife & I were rather slightly hesitant on what we would find - we should not have been concerned!!
From the moment the gentleman with the flower greeted us at the Nizuc lobby, we lived in a "bubble" for 10 days which are amongst the best we can ever recall. The professional and can do attitude of the staff, the opulence of the complex, the Service and choice offered were just unequivocally first class.
Yes, the beach is a no go area for swimming and some could describe the Resort as too big however neither inconvenienced us in the least.
On arrival we utilised our room credits to upgrade to a Concierge Ocean front room which we were duly provided - second floor and a stunning view feeling literally like you were on the water! - Fantastic room with fully stocked fridge(beers and soft drinks) and optics with full bottles of Tequilla, Whisky, Vodka and Bacardi together with (from some quarters!), the much maligned Jacuzzi, which we found heavenly!
We utilised the room credits to the full without any issues(recommend this is done first full day after arrival) and found the Relaxing massages and treatments mesmerising. First ever time for me and hopefully not the last!
The professional etiquette shown by the Staff was really a joy to behold. There was never any chance of your glass or plate remaining empty! - They would continually asked whether you wanted more drinks & food - From our experience, you will never go hungry or thirsty!
The eclectic nature of the Restaurants are also well worth experiencing with the Trattoria(Golf Club reservation required) and Momo in Sunrise standing out.
On a more negative perspective, we paid with room credits for the Chef's Special Meal($198 for the two of us plus tax @11%) which was not special in the least(very poor menu and having to sit with other guest in large tables rather than just on your own - appropriate for some I'm sure but best if they forewarn guest of this)) and the Romantic Meal by the beach which yes, romantic indeed but with a menu which was poor at very best and almost insulting at worst, coupled with plastic glasses to drink from, all at $300(plus tax) which if not paid with resorts credits, I would have most certainly requested a refund!
We certainly do not wish these to detract from an awesome experience and one which will live with us for many years to come. If you are hesitating whether to go to this Resort our simple message will be GO, specially even more with the advent of the room credits possibly being removed from 2015, once the work improvements are completed, as we were advised.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can with your credits to Concierge level (Nizuc) - Stunning view, fantastic room, 2 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had the most amazing time at Moon Palace Grand, I cant recommend this place enough. Every holiday you go on after this place you will be comparing it. The resort, food, pools and the staff are all fantastic, there is not a bad thing you could say about it. We loved being down by the pool at Los Tacos, The staff there were fantastic. The manager Mariana was very welcoming and did a great job and had a great team there.The chef Carlos cooked brilliant food. What can I say about Claudia and Irene they made our days down by the pool, you never wanted for anything. They were so friendly and efficient, we were sad to leave them and say good bye to go home. Already sorting out and pricing up to go next year.

Room Tip: any where you will be happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rooms & facilities are well appointed, new and well kept. The support and waiting staff are very friendly, jovial and eager to help. The restaurants and lounges are sumptuous, many and varied in theme. The activities available are plentiful, although it would have been better if the kayaks and catamarans were available for use in the lagoon. The 3, 9-hole golf links are challenging.

Room Tip: The presidential suites have lots of room, excellent sea views and a balcony area large enough for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have had numerous trips to Cancun and the Mayan Riviera. We usually take two trips a year, one with kids and one without. This was our family trip, which we went with two other families. We chose the Moon palace simply because of the activities on the resort for teenage kids. We booked the Sunrise section but upon arrival we were swithched to the Nizuk section. We choice to to stay there becasue they did have all three rooms side by side. All Good. Like many reviews the beach is the worst I have seen in this area, lots of seaweed and the water is very very merky. We took the shuttle to the Beach palace in Cancun and spent the day there. The beach there was amazing! The kids in our group, all teenagers did have a great time by spending time on the florider and the kids club. The resort it self was very large but suprisingly very easy to navigate so we felt comfortable with kids going back and forth on their own. Here is our review of everything indivudually.

Rooms- Very large and clean. 5/5

Resort- Very large and lots of things to do. 5/5

Service- Amazing service- 5/5

Beach- Again worst I have seen. 1/5

Food- Lots of choices and the elacarts are amazing. 5/5

You do recieve 1500 resort credits per room which we all used for three rounds of golf so that was a good deal although we did not use them all up.

Overall this is a great resort but we sure like the option to siwm in the water which you cannot do here. That may be the only reason that I would have second thoughts going back unless the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blairg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 5,027 reviews
10.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,151 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#9 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 5,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,942 reviews
7.8 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#11 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 7,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing