We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymoon!”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #21 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dream honeymoon!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in moon palace resort for our honeymoon..from the moment we stepped off the plane the experience was wonderful! The staff in moon palace are a dream I'd like to give a special mention to Ernesto in Il Caribeno restaurant he was amazing he made us our own special desert! I have never tasted anything like it! The room was fabulous with the jacuzzi and the stocked fridge of beers and also the optics...and we also had a seaview room. The room service was also amazing and the ladies who served water and drinks around the pool where great! Nothing was too much trouble. It was a holiday of a lifetime for us! We hope to go back in the future! If your thinking of a honeymoon location and resort this is it! I can't recommend moon palace enough! It's amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsCrossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,652
    4,222
    1,635
    758
    671
See reviews for
8,790
5,915
111
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,952)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed during the spring break for a week and came back march26th. Excellent place to stay and no threat of spring breakers whatsoever ! Had fun fun at dolphin swim/ para sailing ......
One big disappointment is the beach.... Full of weeds . They run shuttle to beach palace that makes it up. If you are a beach person then not an ideal place. But beautiful resort with great service!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stay away during spring break. Been here for 2 days - It is too busy here-I've waited in lines for hours (literally). Too expensive to wait 2 hours for a table for dinner. They said they did reservations but were already booked out 10 days the day we arrived. Pool service is terrible, drinks watered down. Room service didn't come til 5 when we were getting ready for dinner. Laundry service hung on the door never picked up. Disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atozz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got back from moon palace. The place is huge, exhausting, over crowded, long lines for everything, from checking in to making reservations for dinner to buffet lines to getting towels. The service is terrible, many do not speak English and are totally unhelpful. When you book they tell you u will receive a $1500 credit to use for activities and other items like spa, golf, etc but then there is nothing available and the lines to find out nothing is available is long and annoying! I would definitely not recommend it for families with young children who have to adjust to time difference and then don't eat until late...

The construction is everywhere, nothing is peaceful and quiet, it's loud machines drilling everywhere u turn.

The kids camp is cute but the kids don't actually do anything and didn't want to go back.

The food is good and fresh especially for an all inclusive.

I will never return to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mlg0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had been planning our spring vacation for months looking forward to a place that could offer fun for the whole family. With that in mind we chose the moon palace hotel, yet this dream rapidly became a nightmare! Cleaning service in the room was terrible, every day we had to call and insist to have our room cleaned (each one of these calls could take 15 or more minutes in order to be able to talk to someone!). Room service didn’t work (again, 30 minute wait just to talk with someone). All the facilities like the pools, restaurants or spas were always booked solid and getting any kind of space was quite a hassle. Whenever we had a problem (and we had plenty) we would be directed to the public relationship department, an army of young people in blue shirts, who again made you wait an endless amount of time in order to attend your needs. After the long line of equally unsatisfied customers, the HR people would rarely be able to offer any information or solutions to our problems or concerns. The information provided by them was contradicting, and each new person in blue seemed to have no knowledge of our previous concerns or complains. Now to really narrow down some of the situations that we encountered during our stay we will share a few experiences: Our air conditioner broke down in our room and a condensation leak flooded our closet, damaging our clothes (specially the whites). Another incident was one afternoon while at the lobby lounge with our family I took my little three year old girl to one of the lobby bathrooms and one of the bathroom doors actually fell from the hinges. It did not land on top of my daughter by pure chance. While attending to this most unfortunate incident, I left my things at the table and my cell phone was stolen. The hotels response to these events was to offer us 250$ deducted from our account, when by the way we paid 40 times that for the whole week, and suggest that we sign a non disclosure form. Which of course, we did not sign, since for us, free speech and liberty of opinion is more valuable that being bought off.
Summarizing it all up, our experience at the moon palace will unquestionably be one to remember, but not for all the good it offered. The hotel tries to offer a lot in terms of physical resources, yet all that without appropriate human resources and good service, is worthless. While out exploring the beautiful sights of Cancun we saw all the remarkable hotels that are in the area. Definitely our recommendation for you would be to explore other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catalina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at Moon Palace for 4 nights and I enjoyed most of it. However, there were qualities that were not the standard that we would expect. The sunbed situation. You have to get up at about 6 to even stand a chance of getting one. Me and my family would spend the whole morning looking for somewhere to sit! The evening situation is appauling! You have to queue to get a seat and I have a nine year old in my family and she could not stay up late enough to have dinner! Also the room sizes are ridiculous! I am in a family of 4 and the bedroom was not big enough (the room was taken up by an unessacary hotub). I personally don't think they should sell that room to a family of 4. We have moved hotel because we couldn't stand it any longer. This hotel definetly wasn't up to scratch!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've been visiting the Moon Palace for the last 10 years and somehow it just seems to get better every time! We had 28 people (7 families) this year and everyone has been there multiple times. The amenities are very good (there's some remodeling going on right now) but the entertainment staff is phenomenal! You have to say hi to Ruban, Ivan, Danny, Jose, Yadhira, Alonzo, Felix and the rest of the gang. They've become like family and are a big reason we keep going back!

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd level are quieter. Moon Grand is the nicest/quietest area and is still close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,361 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing