We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Absolutely wonderful stay! Extremely accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. We stayed at the Moon Grand for a week and had a great time. This was our second trip to a Palace Resorts Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eerporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,254 - 14,260 of 22,909 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to Moon Palace for our honeymoon it was incredible I wouldnt have changed a thing. The service and facilities were most definetly 5* plus.

FOOD - out of this world and so much choice of where to eat and what food to eat, we could have stayed a few months and still not been limited for new things to try. The italian was the best italian food we had have and we eat out in the UK allot. The BBQ did the most amazing steaks and the Gentleman who served us was incredible we ate here quite a few times not just because of the food but because of his service, he even set out a table for us on the last night all decorated with candles and stones as a farewell.

DRINK - not local brands all imported any cocktail you could ask for and if they dont have it they will make it for you. Also the optics in the room had vodka, whisky and bacardi which was nice for a drink while getting ready.

Entertainment - fantastic there is a new sky bar which is really smart and has a singer each night. There is also a club again really smart, good music, great service. There are shows on each night that are suitable for families also, these were great from fire dancers to water shows. There was also a singer in the lobby each night.

GOLF - fantastic or so my husband said plus you can use the hotel credits to play for free

SPA - perfect relaxation. Service again fantastic treatments were amazing again can use hotel credits.

EXTRAS- as we went in October they were releasing hatched turtles back in to the sea we could therefore help with this for not cost once in a lifetime experience. Also we took soem bananas up to the golf course (we road up on the bikes that are available to use whenever you would like) and fed the lema which was again amazing.

We intend on going back numerous times and we like to travel so dont generally go back to the same places. would recommend to anyone I could talk all day about how great it was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool, that way you will also overlook the beach. The sunrise block h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family was at Moon (Grand) last year for the week before Christmas. Our kids (at the time 21 and 24) loved it. It was our first visit. We booked through friends who have been Black Diamond members for years. I cannot say enough great things about our stay then. I did review it so it is still there if you want to read it. Our friends that are members asked us to join them a few months later and we did. Even my husband and I were surprised at it not being quite the same. I have to say this trip was as if we were at an entire different resort. We just got back from our 3rd visit and I will list the changes,

In the past you can use points to upgrade wine or Moet Champagne, Moet is no longer available and the Wine upgrade seems to apply one night at one restaurant and not the next night.

I tried to book my complimentary mani/pedi and there were literally 2 appointments available during the 5 days I was there and both at a dinner time hour. We were going out with our friends for a birthday dinner and my polish from home was chipped horrible. I went to the salon to ask for nail polish remover so my nails would not look awful. Guess what, they had not one but several appointments and no it was not from cancelations. Bad communication with the staff.

My husband and son were told on arrival they would have to make their golf reservation at the Golf course. Which was not what they did the last visit. Thank goodness we just asked at a different Concierge, not so, they were able to book it at the lobby of Nizuc.

Food at the Italian Restaurant (which is the best) came out cold not once but twice.

They will no longer make Guacamole table side at the Mexican Restaurant (los Corporales) and in fact they had NOT ONE Avacado. We are in Mexico right? So no guacamole that night.

One of the coolest things I loved to have (and drink) as well as all of our friends and family is to have the Mexican Coffee made table side. The last 2 visits we had it every night. They will no longer do it, they bring one (made in the kitchen) out but it taste nothing like the one made at the table and the show is just spectacular, but no more.

We dress up every night, and it says it is required for certain restaurants. NOT any more. Women in cargo capris at the Italian and Mexican restaurant. One night at the Caribbean Restaurant people were coming in dressed so grubby and baseball caps on backwards. I mean, I just was wearing a sundress, nothing fancy but no one wants to do that any more. and they do not enforce the dress codes.

Our friends are considering selling their weeks. Just not the same resort. Yes, they have upgrades at the (sad no longer) Sunrise, but went twice to do the wave/surf machine and it was closed both times. Grand is under construction so can be a tad noisy. Also, since our last visit the bees at the top pool at Grand are crazy. I got stung and it was 2 weeks ago and it is still swollen and red, nasty bees. Something for what you pay to stay there they should take care of.

Our air conditioner in Grand did not work for 2 days, had to beg for a new room.

All in all, if you have never been before, I am sure you will love it. Just not the same resort and the cost has increased. I hope this helps to those that are considering going to Moon Palace.

Room Tip: I think Grand is the best, but does not have the best views. Nizuc is by far the best pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mawelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Last January, 12-19, I was on a vacation with my husband at the Moon Palace,at Riviera Maya. I have several intolerance. Then the first morning we meet mister Gilberto Cruz Flores at the cocina Gondola.
Mister Cruz listens to me and together we did find solutions for my intolerance. Every morning he was working, he was available and check on us if everything was ok with my meals. Mister Cruz attention made a big difference in my week vacation, for me and my husband. I am truly thankful for his professionalism and his attention. It was a great vacation because of him.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back from two weeks at Moon Palace and one of the best holidays we have ever had. We were in Cactus in Nizuc which, as others have described, is not as noisy or lively as Sunrise but not as quiet and elegant as Moon Grand. For us a great compromise though. Room was larger than the average you get in Europe although the jacuzzi was a bit unnecessary.

We received fantastic service from almost every member of staff. Ismael at reception was helpful throughout check in and afterwards if we dropped by with a question. Two waiting staff in Manglar (Carlos and Glenda) were amazing and arranged a celebratory breakfast for my birthday even though it was 0630 and we were up early to play golf!

The golf course is pretty tough and starting times can seem a bit chaotic - but like most things in Mexico, it turns out OK! Take plenty of balls though - it is often breezy and the second shots are really tight after a generous tee shot. You will also see more wildlife than you expect - keep food and valuables hidden from the coati mundi. Crocodiles and eagles, deer, iguana etc to distract you if you tire of the 27 Nicklaus designed holes! By the way, don't be tempted to play it from too far back as it is a brute of a course off the Black tees. Also - make sure you get the unlimited golf option and not the resort credit - despite Virgin saying we had both it's one or the other and the golf will eat up any credit quicker than you imagine! The spa at the Golf Club is truly amazing - we had a couples massage and the staff are faultless from reception through to the treatments. It really felt like a world class experience!

Restaurants - loads of them and we never waited more than 10 minutes eating at about 7.30pm. The buffets provide such a massive choice that we enjoyed them as much as the a la carte options. Of the a la cartes the oriental (mo mo na hana?) in Sunrise was our favourite, both the standard meal and the teppanyaki were really delicious. The Trattoria at the Golf Club was very nice but not quite as good as it makes itself out to be. Brazilian meat feast at Arrecife was good fun and the Caribeno at Moon Grand was lovely too. Caborales Mexican at Nizuc is also a great option with Mexican food of the like we had not tasted, even in California. At lunch times, eat outside in one of the palapas with grilled meat and fish and so much more. Eating early is worthwhile to avoid the longer waits after about 8pm.

Pools are amazing with every type available. The beach is meagre as the barrier reef is a mile offshore - get the shuttle to Beach Palace to see the white sands and breakers. The beach is fine to sunbathe on though. We did not go to the pool at Moon Grand but were told it was very quiet and relaxing. The other two are quite noisy if you sit near the slightly annoying entertainment areas. Bad and loud music not to our taste by the pool! But everywhere the staff are at your sunbed-side quickly offering drinks and even advice on what to try next. Try the Riviera Maya or the Brown Monkey!

Trips - we did the Virgin Ahoy to Isla Mujeres which is expensive but the very best way to see dolphins and continue the five star experience. We also did a Maya culture trip to Coba - smaller than Chichen Itza but apparently a more genuine experience. Climb the big pyramid for the best view ever.

So there were one or two minor issues - but the overall holiday experience from Moon Palace deserves 5 stars as much for the staff and their attitude as anything else I have covered. Go and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Go for the first or second floor, near the lobby to save walking or further away for peace and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 27CliveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at Nizuc from Mar 5-12, 2013. Our second vacation at Moon Palace and we were not disappointed.

Positives: Beautiful, Clean, Clean, Clean, Food and drinks are amazing, restaurants are beautiful (Momo Restaurant a must see), Friendly service, so many pools to choose from, Rooms are great, Entertainment by the pool keeps it fun for everyone, complimentary sun lotion by the pool, towels supplied, pool lounging chairs always available, free long distance calls, coffee shop open all hours, popcorn at lobby bar, sushi restaurant at night is amazing, Italien restaurant at Golf Course is simply amazing, on arrival we were greeted with drinks, hot towels, and flowers, shuttle bus from one location to the other Sunrise, Nizuc, Moon Grand (minimal waiting), the new Teen club (Sunrise) has the most recent arcade games (free) all day for the kids with their own ice cream and drink bar and play area for younger children.

Negatives: Beds are small, and Seaweed in Water (Sand still beautiful however on beach). If you are really a beach person, then a Shuttle bus will take you at no charge to the Beach Palace 25 min away if you really want to have seaweed free Beach with waves, you can eat and drink at the Beach Palace with your all inclusive braclet. The Beach Palace has a large kids slide in it's pool. Shuttle runs twice a day, leaves at 12pm and comes back at 4pm or from 2-6pm.

Highly recommend, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms in main lobbies are noisy, ask for exterior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gobbie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for the first time after many times at Sunrise. We really liked the close proximity of restaurants and pools to the room. Poolside near the Olympic pool was nice and quiet. Exceptional service from Maria Mercedes who went out of her way to bring special drinks. One drawback was always waiting for transport to or from Nizuc and Sunrise. Peak hours need more frequent shuttles. One further drawback was that on departure day transport to the airport was arranged for nearly four hours before flight time. This meant an early morning and trying to get breakfast. Restaurant was supposed to be open at 7 but the hostess didn't want to let us in until 7:15. Then when we got to airport we were first in line waiting half an hour for check in to open. It would have been nice to enjoy a final breakfast instead of waiting at the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norcanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 177 in Cancun
6,239 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#15 of 177 in Cancun
6,241 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,103 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,624 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $344 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing