We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great vacation at Moon Palace!”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and 3 other families vacationed at Moon Palace from 2/18/13-2/25/13.

My family had been to Moon Palace before and have had such wonderful vacations in the past. This time we traveled with friends. Our kids ranged in age from 6 to 17 years old. Everyone had a blast! The food, drinks & entertainment as always were great, but once again the service you receive is the best.

I would like to make special mention about Jesus Francisco Chavira Lira in The Diamond Concierge. He went above & beyond to accommodate all of our requests which in turn made our vacation one we won't forget. Thanks for everything Jesus!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,461 - 14,467 of 23,133 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been to the Moon Palace twice. It has been one of our favourite places for a vacation. Highly recommended. The people were lovely and we were treated well and felt like special guests. My husband usually feels 1 week in a vacation resort is plenty...But not here. He golfed nearly every day using his credits. I treated myself to treatments at the spa. This holiday ticked all our boxes. We even used the bicycles that are available whenever you want. I wish we were coming back soon but it'll be later in the Autumn.
Now the food and all inclusive suited us with plenty restaurants to choose from.
Which brings me to a very important message for some of the staff that treated us like VIP's. I have enclosed photos which should have been posted a long time ago. Please accept my apologies. The photo's are there for anyone as I feel they all deserve a special mention. Kind regards

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank suzieshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just got back from a week at Moon Palace and we had a great time and experience. It was for our kids, 14 & 13, and they both had a fabulous time. It was only our second all-inclusive resort experience and their first so we'll probably be less critical than some of the veterans posting here.

We only had a few small hiccups through the week - no facecloths one day; tiny details like that, etc. We never got turned away at any restaurant; on one evening, we waited 45 minutes at the Brazilian Steakhouse but that was during primetime that night.

Anyway, overall I feel I got great value for what we paid and I would recommend this place to everyone. All of the golfers I asked loved the onsite course. We took a bike ride through it and it looked pretty awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful vacation spot--awesome staff--great drinks --good food--plenty to do--always felt safe--left the resort by car to visit sister resorts where we were always welcomed and enjoyed the same amenities--spa is outstanding---worth the trip---Take Jet Blue from Boston --4hours non-stop.

Room Tip: Stay at the Gran Moon if you like walking and quiet but stay at the other end at the Sun if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gblier123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

FIrst of all, I have to wonder who writes all these 5 star reviews. In general this hotel resort is just an average in every way.

We stayed one week at Moon Palace (Nizuc) in the beginning of March 2013 and it was our first and last visit to this hotel. We had a terrible room first two days at main building: really loud noise whole evening from the lobby bar, unbelievable noise at 3 a.m. from floor cleaning machine, couldn't be in the balcony because of Italian restaurant cooking smell came straight to our balcony every day and all the time (exhaust pipe few meters from our balcony). One bed smelled also like urine etc.

Luckily we got another room from beach house, but there you had to wait sometimes hot water for half an hour and when you walked to restaurants and main building you had to walk though smell from sewer. Direction of wind must have been totally worst possible whole that week.

Food and its variety and quality was just average, nothing special. The quality of food was sometimes even poor. Anyway, I have to say that some meat at Brasilian restaurant were good and tasty. On the other hand appetizers and other food there were really poor.

The staff tried to be very helpful and polite, but in reality some of them was not really interested of their work.

There would be still lot of other comments but I don't bother to comment anymore. There are lot of other better choices with more quality and same money so I suggest you to choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Nizuc main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JH_K_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been to Moon Palace at least 12 times now. We always have a great time once we're checked in to our room. The check-in is ALWAYS a problem. We always pay the extra for an ocean-front room but EVERYTIME we get there they always tell us there are none available & try to put us in a lessor expensive ocean-view room. It always requires a fight to finally get what we paid for. It seems really dumb to start your guests vacation off every time by pissing them off. We generally always stay for 12 days & for the first 3 days you are bombarded with phone calls to your room (sometimes as early as 7:30 AM) wanting you to attend your "Welcome" meeting which is simply the start to a high-pressure sales pitch. Ultimately by not being nice you convince them you are not attending no matter what & to stop calling! Surprisingly this time we had very poor housekeeping service on 4 of our 12 nights. They failed to get to the room at all 2 days & the other 2 days they didn't leave coffee, water, hand towels or wash cloths.

It's a beautiful resort & the wait service staff is wonderful. We had Jesus at the Nizuc pool for the first week & he was just terrific. The second week we had Gregorio & he was just as good especially since Jesus had already pre-prompted him about taking care of us. Both did an absolutely amazing job. Another stand out is Karina who is now in the Lobby Bar at Nizuc. We met her several years ago when she was a pool waiter & she always recognizes us by name & always goes so out of way to try to do anything she can to make our stay better & more memorable. Staff & service like this really sets Moon Palace apart from other resorts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our third stay at Moon Palace and the best for sure. Hard to improve on excellence but they miraculously seem to do it every time. The staff at Caribeno Restaurant are wonderful - Jorge Diaz, Alejandro, Luis, Efram, Alberto, Mario, Zavier.....they are all amazing. They call you by name from memory and remember every little detail about what you like to eat and what kind of wine you like to drink. The group at the Terrace Pool are also great - Claudia is the best server ever. Elena is fun to be around and Alfredo is so lively and fun. Everything was top notch in every area of the resort.

Room Tip: All standard rooms are the same - some with ocean views depending on which building you choose. Ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andiamo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 176 in Cancun
6,279 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#15 of 176 in Cancun
6,305 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 176 in Cancun
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
10,251 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $367 - $879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing