We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to Vacation”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #24 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We try and go each year. We love the service and all the amenities - especially the new swim with the Dolphin now onsite. Well worth the experience. There is so much to do, or you can just sit and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give better views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22,210)
There are newer reviews for Moon Palace Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,801 - 13,807 of 22,210 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Moon Palace with 5 couples to celebrate a birthday, an anniversary, Valentines Day, and to escape winter and play some golf! We had a truly fabulous time and the service was superb. Although the hotel was fully booked, everyone worked so hard to accommodate our large group. The food was excellent everywhere, but especially at Trattoria, Carabena, and the Mexican restaurant at Nizuk. We especially appreciated Adriana who was the hostess at Carabena and not only remembered us from our last trip but also our names! We also received especially good service from the bell boys at Grand who helped with baggage and golf clubs...with special mention for Victor and Roberto. Whenever we did encounter a problem the staff really worked hard to make it right. The staff also bent over backwards to make Valentine's day memorable with a special buffet in the lobby, drawing bubble baths in the jacczzis overed with rose petals, etc. everyone had a great time. When you arrive the staff welcomes you "home", and we can't wait to go back "home"!

Room Tip: We loved staying at Grand...especially if you want quieter experience. Also, you don't get to b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlaustinsimonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just back from Cancun.. .. to say the resort is massive.. is an understatement.well maintained and clean. no problems getting pool chairs. food is average compared to other resorts. we did the mexican, brazilian, japanese and italian for sit downs.. no probelm getting into them. Booze, ask for top shelf.. they do carry crown royal and grey goose, with no upcharges.

rooms- well we booked ocean front.. when we checked in they told us all o-f are king beds.. given that this is a boys golf trip, that wasnt happening so we got moved to o-v..thus the rooms where in differnet sections.. we where in the main Nizov..rooms where clean, but showed there age. when we checked out the sunrise.. wow.. impressive , clean and new.. the nizoc we stayed in was decent but on the last two nights they start reno work and it echo'd through the building.
golf- moon palace courses are nice.. play the jungle-lakes combo.. dunes is flat and easy.. the riveria is a very nice track... dontwaste your time going to play the playa car..
when we booked we paid for golf all in .. when we checked in they wouldnt give us the 1500 resort credits.. what a joke... as well they charged us extra for carts. 250$... we did check paperwork and upon booking where told the 1500 resort credit was included as well carts where compd.. but the air transit rep there .. the few minutes she was there.. was not helpful.. language barrier..yeah right... when we spoke to other guest.. everyone complained aboiut the credits and trying to use them.. lineups, sell outs, brutal times.. same for us.. when we had to gte the golf coupons.. brutal lineups even though we had pre booked our tee times, we still ahd to wait for the vouchers..over all a nice place to go..given that this was a boys golf trip..i would lean towards the golden crown in puerto vallarta.. better golf courses and adults only

Room Tip: stay in the sunrise section, newly renovated... but make sure you are close to the beach.. not out b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pumpkin155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been hearing about how great the Moon Palace is for years, and it definitely lived up to expectations! Our friends/family regularly cruises or stays abroad, and Moon Palace combines all of the positives of both. My mom, aunt, and myself(21) stayed 7-nights in Nizuc, and they ended up becoming members. Every restaurant we tried on the property was delicious, and any staff member we met seemed genuinely happy to do their job. Each of the 3 lobbies could stand alone as a resort, and has it's own vibe. Sunrise is the most lively, but Nizuc is right in the middle of it all, so we like it there. Be sure to take the free shuttle to Beach Palace/Wet N Wild/Sun Palace to check out the other properties/beaches. If you want to stay on property, there are enough day and night activities to not need to leave. We loved the Nizuc pool activities, mostly because of the staff (shout out to Nelson, Fabian, and the girls)! Also shout out to Menelia by Nizuc pool! She remembered our names, and always went out of her way to say hi if we saw her elsewhere in the resort. We adore her, and hope to see her when we come back. The golf course spa is a must, as is the dolphin encounter on site. This is THE place to stay in Cancun, no matter what age or interests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicholeN343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have visited this resort 4 times - 3 of which were pure bliss and everything we could have hoped for. Unfortunately, the one time was awful; and it was super unfortunate that it was the visit that was our wedding there. The indication was that they do not allow spring breakers so we scheduled our wedding for the beginning of April and to our dismay there were spring breakers all over the place (if these kids' parents all come to the resort as well then it is considered "family" but the parents are off partying and the kids are wreaking havoc). The behavior of the spring breakers makes the atmosphere far less enjoyable and wears on the staff making them less welcoming, friendly and helpful to other guests than at other times in the season like we had experienced in previous visits and on this latest visit. This place is fantastic but don't come for peaceful, relaxing, fun getaway in March/beginning of April.

Room Tip: We've stayed in various areas of the property and all have unique benefits. The resort does a n...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

service great, under construction (sunrise)right now so be aware
see Daniel at the seafood restaurant and ask for a mayan coffee(he is great)
if golfing the workers are great but the course called the dunes have very sandy greens and keep an eye on the stuff in your golf cart the coati will take your food and drinks

Room Tip: if at sunrise get a room closer to pool or lobby construction on outer rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Absolutely enjoyed each of our 14 days at this hotel.The staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
There were buggy's available to travel between each of the 3 main reception areas. We stayed at Moon palace Grande- which is the newer side and it was a 15-20 minute walk to the Grande and Nizuic reception.
There were a lot of American visitors, but a good class of people.
All the restaurants were amazing and offered fresh cuisine that looked immaculate and the staff were amazing with our son- they even entertained Ismael whilst we had our meals- they couldn't do enough for us. They served twining tea which just the icing on the cake to our amazing visit.
Only down side were the drinks selection- for a tropical country, i'd expect more fresh fruit smoothies and the cutlery could be improved (serving drinks is plastic containers is not my idea of luxury)!
We particularly liked that we could take the hotel bus to the hotel strip to visit some of the other Palace hotels and also had out all inclusive privileges there. The view from the balcony from beach hotel was just amazing and enjoyed the free bus trips there and then walking to their shopping malls just 5 mins walk from the beach palace hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nafeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,015 reviews
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,944 reviews
18.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $319 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing