We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Moon Palace**Wonderful**” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moon Palace**Wonderful**”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just arrived home from our 2 week family vacation at Moon Palace.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank ALL of the staff that literally catered to our every request. A special thank you to Angel Gonzalez Viana! The food was as good as any Five Star Restaurant in downtown Calgary. Most notable -BAMBU,TRATTORIA,MOMO,ARRECIFES,EL CARIBEÑO. If you plan on going over the Christmas holidays, the "high season" cost is more than worth your money. Included is a Christmas Dinner Gala and New Years Eve Gala (sit down filet and lobster 5 course meal for 5000 people with great entertainment). They know how to do it up right! The Golf Course is spectacular. The Spa is wonderful as well! We are already counting down the days until our vacation there this year!
Lance and Angie S. Calgary AB.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,036
    3,811
    1,500
    716
    610
See reviews for
7,745
5,214
94
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and spent our third Christmas at Moon Palace and it did not disappoint! As always the service was fabulous. The highlights were our breakfast staff at Caribeno (Luis Cario, Mario Gomez, Calros Ceh, and Jorge Jibran) who knew our order after our first day there. They were all very kind and fun to be around.

The resort filled up after Christmas, probably for the Usher concert and New Years. All of the restaurants were great! Our least favorite was Arrifeces (the Brazilian Steakhouse) the service wasn't the greatest there and the meat was not to our liking (this was our favorite restaurant our first year there). La Trattoria was great once again and Momo's hibachi tables were impressive and pretty much the same quality you would find back home.

One minus: We didn't have a problem making reservations at the restaurants, but heard from many people who were not able to get in the whole week they were there. It was upsetting to go to those restaurants and see empty tables. I think Palace should implement a "no-show" fee for those people who don't show up for a reservation and don't cancel. There were a lot of people wanting to try those places that could have if there was a policy in place.

I love Moon Palace!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If this had been our first trip to Cancun, I'd not be in a hurry to ever go back. We were hesistant as to the quality of the beach, but nothing prepared us for the unsightly conditions. Living on Lake Erie, I feel the lake water was more inviting. I do understand that is a sign of a healthy marine habitat, but definitely not usable.

We also noticed an inordinate amount of room service trash/plates being left outside of rooms for hours upon hours. Considering the wildlife in abundance, probably not the wisest of practices. Around the pool area, we noticed numerous times when servers would walk by trash. I understand not wanting to continually clean up, but this made for swarms of seagulls to constantly be diving at patrons; neither sanitary nor safe.

Power went out on New Year's Day and was out for over 5 hours. When we inquired as to when we might expect a restoration of service, we were told most of Cancun was out out. We later found out this was not the case and quite a frequent occurrence at the Moon Palace.

Our room was set up for small children. We appreciated the child-size bathrobes, slippers, and fridge stocked with chocolate milk and juice, but wanted something more adult apporpriate. We had to call down for more appropriate beverages daily and met some resistance from the staff when calling.

We were so disappointed that we requested a transfer to the Beach Palace. We were told, for 2 days, there was no availability. I finally did an Internet search and found that there were, indeed, rooms available. It was only after demanding to speak with the manager that we were able to facilitate a transfer. (I will post that wonderful stay on the Beach Palace area.)

The Moon Palace may suffice for some travelers, but we were sorely disappointed.

Pros-
Dolphin swim on-site
Pool-side activities
Usher concert was complimentary
Assortment of restaurants

Cons-
Water quality beachside
Staff seemed "put upon" for service
Room service wait times (up to over an hour)
Internet is extremely spotty
Too far from hotel zone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boatdrinklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are very disappointed to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We work very hard to provide top-rated services and amenities as expressed by so many in previous reviews. We understand that vacations are very important, therefore we will take all the feedback you shared into consideration. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. Norma Granados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basildon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although the resort is large, there is plenty to do, the golf is excellent and well kept.
The staff very polite and helpful. The only negative are the trips booked with room credits, the food available on these trips is poor at best. Avoid Isla mujeres unless you want to snorkel or scuba, as the beach is better at the hotel. Spa was very nice, pools big and resort very clean.
We had a very enjoyable trip and would return to palace resorts again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drummondsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stumbled across Moon Palace 7 years ago and what a stumble it turned out to be.We've been back every year since. If you want a place to take the family and leave the kids to their own devices, look no further. Palace are currently investing $50m upgrading the resort and what a difference its making. New flowrider surf machine, teen arcade,mini golf, dolphinarium, 27 hole golf course for him, huge SPA for her, not to mention all the various restaurants and entertainment in resort and all included in the cost of the holiday. I would reccommend this place to anyone looking for a great family getaway for a great price (best prices booked through members like myself!) Go on, you know you want to....................

Room Tip: Stay in Moon Grand for the extra space, stay in Sunrise for the newly refurbished rooms and a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alievesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The amenities are good enough, most of the staff (except for front desk staff) try hard to make things work, but the inefficient processes for scheduling activities combined with the staggering number of guests makes for a really disappointing vacation. It's great to have a resort large enough to support a FlowRider and the Dolphin Experience, but all in all, the trip was not worth it.

Room Tip: The property is huge. We were far from the pool which at first we thought was a bother, but in talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BethCo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We will take your feedback into consideration and we apologize for not being able to completely satisfy you during your visit with us. We hope you give us another opportunity to get it right the next time around.

Norma Granados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has over 2,000 rooms - what does that mean to you? Be prepared to wait in line to do anything - forget about going to one of the four nice restaurants because it is impossible to get a reservation. All that is available is the buffets which does offer a huge variety of food, but it is all about quantity and no quality. When they tell you the beach has seaweed, it is an understatement. The beach is black - nothing like the beautiful blue waters you are used to in Cancun. The rooms are being renovated, but our pillows smelled so bad that we could not use them. The pool was filthy - bandaids and garbage floating all around. We asked several times for someone to come clean it, and finally they did - but we would not go in...it was disgusting. The saving grace for this hotel is its staff who work so hard trying to please its guests. They are overworked and go the extra mile to try and please the guests, but they cannot overcome the fact that the hotel is dirty, over-populated, and serves sub-par food. I would strongly recommend any other hotel besides this one. After two days, we left and moved to the Beach Palace which was excellent - great food, rooms twice the size, on the beautiful beach, clean, great service, and overall and excellent experience - at the same price!

Room Tip: Do not go here! - If you have to go, make sure to get a room that has already been renovated. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank molliemaxzoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing the concerns mentioned in your review. We understand that vacations are extremely important, and as such we will address the issues you presented. We hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you.
Norma Granados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 5,105 reviews
10.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#9 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#12 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 7,347 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,163 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 7,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing