We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My pleasure?, YOUR PLEASURE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“My pleasure?, YOUR PLEASURE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Can't fault this wonderful resort hotel! The staff are unbelievably friendly, helpful, genuine and make the holiday. The place is spotless, being cleaned constantly and it makes you feel very secure that the food is being prepared in the same spotless environment. I have a three month old and a three year old, I have no reservations about bringing them here. If they got sick, it definitely would not be the hotels fault. The food is amazing, the steak house in nizuc is to die for! As is the Mexican. This morning we went to the spa and I couldn't believe the quality and ambience, it's the best I have ever been to. The smallest things I would do to improve this hotel for us 1, get bottle warming faculties, this caused no end of strange looks and stress when baby needed feeding! 2, make an easier way to book the two al a carte restaurants, we found the booking incoherent and a bit strange! 3, have the kids club program advertised to family's with kids at the start of each day perhaps at breakfast so families could plan their day.
Picky but it's nailed everything else! I want to book to come back ASAP! Highly recommend this wonderful hotel! Had the best holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninawena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,434
    4,179
    1,617
    755
    671
See reviews for
8,666
5,818
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Did a one week stay at the Moon Place, Sunrise and enjoyed every minute. The resort facilities are great! The restaurants are amazing. The staff was fantastic. Lou Cervantes was a great help and went above and beyond! Gabino Tuz provided amazing service in two of the restaurants -- we really enjoyed getting to know him - he was absolutely professional, helpful, and just a great attitude and spirit! We went into Cancun (not the hotel strip), and enjoyed the markets and the actual city. On Thursday, we visited Chichen Itza. This was a fantastic tour. Our guide, Jorge Romero, was a brilliant, funny, relaxed, and engaging tour guide. He did a fantastic job with the entire tour. Our driver, Victor, was great as well!

The Moon Palace facilties are wonderful but its the staff that makes it fantastic! They are all wonderful and we enjoyed getting to know them! It's fantastic when you walk away exchanging e-mail addresses so you can still stay in contact with the people you met!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason_b2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just came back w/ all 26 of our family for our 6-day vacation trip. It was a nice place, good beach & amazing help all around. Our family were juz not happy with the many construction going all over the lobby, hallways, walkways, doorways u name it they were hammering it! New floors were being put it all through the nite and early in the morning! It's the last thing u see in the evening and the first thing u see b4 breakfast! By the end of our trip...we were exhausted! And the bugs??? Seriously!!! First nite out in the pool...we were surrounded with a mob of mosquitoes everywhere! People were leaving the pool and staying indoors at 6pm??? Really? And for crying out loud! I've never seen empty pools in all the places we have been cuz the pool water was soooo COLD!!! The ocean was warmer!!! The restaurants were so-so! If u don't mind eating the same menu every morning and lunch!!! Hmmmm.....And the THE ICING on the cake???? Oh my word...the shower/bathroom smelled sewer all day/nite that we had to put towel over the drain and close the door! And that is to all the rooms...(we had 13 rooms for our families)...Okay....the bathroom was the downer!!!!! They surely cud use a different engineer!!!! Bad design on the drain pipes!!!! Other than that....PEOPLE WERE VERY NICE AND POLITE!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the middle...otherwise u will be running all day long just to go to the lobby!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our 6th trip to the resort, the first dating back to 1999 and the most recent in 2011. We stayed in the Sunrise section of the resort. Hotel arranged for transfer from airport & no problems there. Quick ride & we were at check in. Little mix up with our reservation (they had us down for 1 King & we needed 2 doubles since there were 4 of us) but that was quickly resolved. The room was a bit farther away from the lobby & pools than we hoped for but the closer buildings were in the process of being renovated so they gave us the closest they could. There was an NCAA basketball tourny going on when we arrived and we were given 4 free tickets for a game (both sons loved it). At first I was not thrilled with the construction that we had to walk through every day but seeing the changes that occurred just during our week stay it is exciting to imagine the finished product and we can't wait to go back when it's done. The new Flow Rider was a wonderful addition & lot of fun for the kids (& my hubby too) & we really liked that they moved the bicycles next to mini golf in the middle of Sunrise & Nizuc. There were always plenty of bikes available & lots of cool animals to be seen during our rides around the resort. Also loved the new additions in the main Sunrise building - the Teen Lounge and the Sky bar. The teen lounge has a cafe with pizza, ice cream, popcorn, etc, xbox game playing area, movie watching area with bean bag chairs, air hocky & pool table area & large game room. There is something fun to do for "kids" of all ages. The Sky bar is a classy, modern atmosphere with great bartenders, TVs & pool tables. Wonderful place for adults to relax & hang out in the evening. The pool water was a bit cold (compared to June when we usually travel here) but the temps were great for all of the other activites we did. We were able to use our resort credit tor the Paradise Adventure tour, which everyone loved. The negative - we had to pay extra for our own transportation to the boat dock ($50 US round trip for taxi) but that was nothing compared to the positives - a boat ride, a submarine ride through the coral reefs where we saw sea turtles & stingrays, followed by a wonderful snorkiling experience. For 4 people, you can't beat the price! We also used the resort credit for golf (always nice at the Moon Palace) and spa. My husband & I enjoyed our first couples massage. The spa services are always fabulous at Moon Palace. Only change I would like to see is a "common area" with jacuzzis and saunas to be used by couples. The food is always top notch. There are so many choices that you can always find something for even the pickiest eater. Beyond all of the food, drink & activities, the best thing about the Moon Palace is the service & the people. Everyone is so friendly! Special hello goes out to Bernard who we look forward to seeing at breakfast every trip! Also wanted to mention a special dinner we really enjoyed at the Caribbean restaurant at Moon Grand. They had an amazing mentalist, Armando who came to our table & gave us stories we will be telling for years to come! All in all, the Moon Palace is our family's favorite vacation destination. I could do without the construction mess & noise but fully understand that it's a necessary evil and will be well worth it when complete.

Room Tip: The Sunrise is currently under renovation. Some of the room sections are closed as they make their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just got back a week ago today from a one week stay at the Grand Moon. I could have written this review sooner but it took me a week to get over my depression of having to leave that Paradice. This was my 3rd visit and the people were as wonderful as I remembered. From the moment you arrive Victor was there to offer us cool cloths and a flower as he organized our luggage to transport to our rooms. All staff go out of their way to ensure that your every need is being met. Our TV didn't work and once I finally rememered to tell someone at the front desk (We hardly missed it) they were in our rooms immediately to have a look at it.

Our concierge Alex was great and funny too. He made sure we got everything that our VIP black bands entittled us to.

The rooms atat the Grand were well appointed and always immaculately clean. They regularly check the fridge to restock! A few other reviewers indicated that the renovations were annoying but there was so much space and so much else to see it was not a real problem. We love the improvements! The SkyBar was very classy and the updates to the disco were amazing turning it into a highend looking club lounge. The Young men in the family (and one old one!) throughly enjoyed the new FlowRider wave thing and sent about an hour on it.

I was there with 11 family members and everyone really enjoyed it. The credits enabled you to have extra spa services or take some additional excursions that you may otherwise have not taken the opportunity. I had my pedicure and a Citrus Massage...It was wonderful. We found out about the College basketball tournement being held the week we were there and were thrilled to find out that our credits could be used to purchase tickets for the games. Even though we are Canadian and not familiar with the teams we had an awesome time and became Kentucky and Witchata fans! Hotel staff continued to service you popcorn, chips, tacos, soft drinks and alcoholic beverages as you watched the basketball game. We used the last bit of our credits to take some great family photos.

Our family really enjoyed the food...I little too much. Most of us came back 5-10 lbs heavier! Our favorite place for breakfast was the Caribbean restaurant by the Grand. Our beautiful hostesses Adriana and Addy were always there to welcome us with a smile and ensure we got our table for 12. Carlos, Alberto and Antonio knew what we wanted after few days in and ensured we got all our favourites. For dinner Bugamalias (I think that's how you spell it) at Sunrise was a fav of ours, special shoutout to Andres who was a great server.

On our first night there we had a lovely family dinner at the Italian restaurant in Nizuc. We were amazed by the skills of mentalist Armande. His psychic abilities blew us away...he bent spoons with his mind and was able to read our minds...great fun!

The beach was beautiful not as pretty as it is right in Cancun on the Hotel strip but it is much calmer at the Palace. The staff do an amazing job of raking the beach and keeping it clean.
the multitude of pools provides multiple lounging options. We found a new one that we never lounged at before by the Grand. I had 3 pools including and Olympic sizeed one for laps. the entertainment staff by that pool were so much fun. Alejandro and Alfredo taught us spanish and socialized with the crowd making uslaugh just like we were old friends. They encouraged us in water volley ball and worked hard to get us to do water arobics.

Last but not least a special thank you to all our bus drivers that work tirelessly driving the big bus between the Lobbys especially Sergio who always waited for us when we were late, and was there with a helping had when we were getting off. the golf cart driver Rogelio with the wonderful smile and dimples was so pleasant and helpful in getting us between Nizuc and Grand.

All in all Moon Palace...especially the Grand side comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are writing to say that we recently had a most enjoyable stay at the Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort Cancun, The Nizuc part of the complex from about 19/8/2012 to 3/9/12. From the moment we came through the hotel lobby doors to the check in desk, everybody was being offered a glass of sparkling wine to make the wait to check in a bit more bearable after the long flight. It was not to long before we were allocated our very nice room in the Delfin Block and found that our luggage was there waiting for us. As the holiday progressed we have nothing but praise for the many different styles of restaurants/entertainment and other attractions that were available and of course the staff who we found could not do enough for us no matter what time of the day or night.
We spent a lot of the time at the Palapa Pelicanos /Delfinos Pool Bars and we would like to say a special thank you to Ana the Manageress and her excellent staff Lupe (Jose Guadalupe), Sylvia, Alberto, Angelino, Rocio, Hermelindo, Salvador, Adrian The chef and many more whose names elude me but made our stay most enjoyable and memorable. As I am sure they have happy memories of us, perhaps some time in the future we would love to return for another enjoyable holiday.
We will never forget our last night and the special meal arranged for us by Sylvia and Ana. It was the highlight of our stay.
Our thanks go out to all the staff that made our stay most enjoyable.
Mr Cliff, Marilyn and all our party from the UK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The resort is beautiful and the staff is amazing! Cristina at the Kid's Club was fantastic. My kids loved her and I felt very comfortable with them in her care. Thank you Cristina for allowing us to have a few quiet romantic dinners. The pools were nice and the shows were a lot of fun. If you have an option to save some more and not get the resort credits then I would advise to not get the credits. The usage of the credits are very limited. If I had anything to complain about it would be the beach and the limited shuttle service to the hotel zone. Otherwise, the best vacation we have taken in a few years. I came home with a great tan, great memories, and very relaxed!

Room Tip: We stayed on the Sunrise Side which was good because it was close the the majority of the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,237 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing