We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
usa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overall a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went there for a destination wedding and met up with about twenty people. Having read on TA about the construction, we selected the junior golf suite and had a great time. The room was always kept immaculate and well-stocked with towels. Had the use of our own golf cart so we could get anywhere easily and quickly. All the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. The golf course is amazing! Had a fun round there. Loved the variety/number of pools to choose from in the different sections.
The wedding was beautiful and the reception and dinner following were excellent. Two things make this just a bit less than an excellent rating. The food was okay, just buffet food. But the stone oven pizza by the pool was fantastic, as was eating at Los Tacos. Recommend eating at the golf course, too, for breakfast and/or lunch as you get better food. The other thing that was irritating was all the selling up front. It took hours to check in because we had to wait as some others checked in to sit through a sales pitch for a 'chance to earn two hundred resort credits'. Which led to wasting several hours the following morning going through the time share selling. Try to avoid that. It's not worth it. You can only use the credits for tequila and select cigars in the shops, some spa services, and a round of golf (still have to pay to rent clubs), and upgrade of wine (I don't think so...it wasn't that much better). So overall we enjoyed ourselves, had a good time with friends, but for the short time we were there we didn't appreciate having to endure the sales pitches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuxedo-spats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,421
    4,174
    1,617
    755
    671
See reviews for
8,652
5,814
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,887)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fantastic Hotel (some renovations at present but very carefully and tastefully dealt with as to not disrupt the customers, hardly noticed them)

Perfect Service at the Carribeno Restaurant as always, lead by Alejandro (Alex) Coral with his fantastic cheerful, professional team, Angel, Sergio (David) Brisicilliano (Priss), Fernando, Vincente, Poncho, Lily on reception and their wonderful new chef Daniel - perfection! 5 Stars! - it is the service of the Palace Elite staff and especially in this restaurant that makes us return year on year for certain! - what a team!

(They have a new head waiter Xavier and a few other changes happening but to be fair it was always perfection - which is now just being 'tweaked' - I hope the regular guys do not get overlooked and not recognised!)

Fantastic service from Luis Huchim Ku at Los Tacos who always brings a smile and the best service you could wish for and his father at Nizuc poolside. We consider Luis a friend we can visit each year like Alejandro and team - what fabulous people

Thanks again guys for making our holiday so special

Janine & Carl Nixon x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just came back from a week at the Moon Palace Sunrise. Service is excellent, rooms are spacious and the golfing is great (according to my husband) I choose to use the spa. Went with 4 other couples. Had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOnna56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having been to Cancun for the second time, this resort by far exceeds my expectations! This is a 5 star resort unlike my first visit to Cancun at a 3 star resort. It's worth the money to be in a nicer hotel!

This resort is off path of the Cancun strip and seems to be on its own area. You would enter the gate and in the ground, there are various part to the resort: Sunrise, Nizuc, Grande and Golf Resort. There's a bus which takes you from one lobby to another but if you wanted to walk, you can walk from Sunrise to Nizuc in 15 minutes and then from Nizuc to Grande in another 15 minutes. The walk along the ocean front is lovely but beware of the mosquitoes!

We stayed at the Grande side of the resort and glad we've were placed here as it's the newest part of the resort. The check-in area is exquisite and intimate with a zen feeling. Water or champagne are provided upon check-in and this is where all-inclusive begins.

Our room is very grand as it's roomy and airy. There's a jacuzzi tub on the ground level, and three steps up there's a comfortable bed with a flatscreen in front, and not far away is a nice bathroom with a large shower room with large shower head and a toilet room.

We were located on the ground level of the complex and it's very cool as we enter the hallway. Our view wasn't the greatest as we had the "garden" view and we only saw shrubs and bushes. There is no ocean view but the request for pool view is as close to the ocean as one can get.

The El Caribeno is the largest restaurant there as it has buffet breakfast and lunch and a la carte dinner. They will do to-go dinner for you if you choose. Above the restaurant is a Sushi bar which only opens in the evening. Only stairs can take you up there and there is no lift or ramp. If you go there at night, watch out for mosquitoes. Behind El Caribeno is Los Tacos which opens until 6pm. The taco is very amazing!!

About the pools, there's one right in front of El Caribeno with a pool bar and server to provide you drinks. This pool provides an intimate feel and is quite popular as it's quieter. There's another large pool behind building #87 which also has a pool bar but it's a little louder as there is where the group activities occur. There's not a lot of shade available. The last area to find a pool is in the Los Tacos area. The pool is big and there are lots of individual shaded area. However, there's a lot of stagnant water and behind the pool is a grub. You may see a crocodile back there but you'll see more mosquitoes in this area.

If you venture off to Nizuc, don't miss out the Brazilian BBQ and the Mexican restaurant. The food here is deliciously fantastic. The buffet here is the same as El Caribeno. The grill and sushi restaurant at the pool side is so so but you should try it out if it's all inclusive. There's also a sweet cafe which makes great coffee and snacks. Besides the food, the pools here are larger and has more people. Activities are happening all the time so if you don't mind some noise of music or the DJ, this would be a good area. In fact, join in the fun!

And at Sunrise - none of the restaurants impressed me but still try them out. There were constant constructions from inside the lobby to the pool area and outside the different buildings. The resort is upgrading the facility 24hrs and it's rather disturbing to the public. This area has more facilities for children such as the arcade room so Sunrise would be better for the kids.

On a different note, if you would like to try the spa, head toward the Golf Resort instead of the salons at Sunrise and Nizuc. The resort is tranquil and elegant. Great place for relaxation. Do play golf as they have a great course.

Overall, this is a fabulous resort. It's a huge complex with many areas to venture. If you forget your sunscreens, don't worry, you can find lots at the towel station free of charge. The premium alcohol and wine options are fantastic. You are getting your money worth! But if you want to venture out to the Cancun strip on your own in a taxi, be prepared to pay $70 USD roundtrip. Also, beware of the mosquitoes. If you bring your baby like we did, please get a bring a mosquitoes net for your stroller!!!

Lastly, don't forget to pay $45 USD departure fee for each person. I still don't know why we're paying this fee but it's mandatory.

Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Mosquitoes repellent!!! If $1500 credit is available to be used, use it as it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lszutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Some of the staff were rude and not helpful at all. We tried to tell them our room was leaking from the rain, however they didn't believe us and acted like they didn't care. It was our last day, so we were trying to do them a favor. We were not looking for any discounts or anything. Just trying to help. Also, we were there for 9 days and the whole time we could not get in the beach. The food was alright, the spa was excellent and the pools were nice. I had my wedding there and one of my bridesmaid jewerly got stolen. Would I go back there again, probably not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbarbieri, General Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I’m very disappointed and sorry to hear that you were not treated with the level of service you deserve. We will take this into consideration to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.




Walter Barbieri
Director de Operaciones Moon Palace
Director Operation Moon Palace
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Carr. Fed. 307 Cancun-Chetúmal, Km 340.
Cancún, Quintana Roo, C.P. 77500
Tel. (52) 998 881 60 00, Ext. 4238
wbarbieri@palaceresorts.com
Nextel ID: 72*777*2093
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were spoiled the whole trip by the food, service and amenties. We were greeted by Ricardo at the main lobby of Moon Palace with a genuine smile and flowers. Ricardo is a dedicated employee as well as all the others. We never had to wait to be seated at a restaraunt or wait on a golf cart to be chauffered around the resort. From the warm welcome to the room services we had all we wanted at our bekon call. Many thanks to Moon Palace for a wonderful and memorable time. We will be back!!!
Thea R.
Hickory Creek, TX

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic hotel, fantastic rooms, un limited branded alcohol, night entertainment ok, swimmin pool, loads of room, loads of eating places. Stayed in a family room wchich was just two rooms with interconnecting doors, fab beds very clean, fab mucus is. Peblo pool waiter has an awesome memory for drinks. Defo recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelababy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,221 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing