We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort and great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent resort and great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having been to Cancun for the second time, this resort by far exceeds my expectations! This is a 5 star resort unlike my first visit to Cancun at a 3 star resort. It's worth the money to be in a nicer hotel!

This resort is off path of the Cancun strip and seems to be on its own area. You would enter the gate and in the ground, there are various part to the resort: Sunrise, Nizuc, Grande and Golf Resort. There's a bus which takes you from one lobby to another but if you wanted to walk, you can walk from Sunrise to Nizuc in 15 minutes and then from Nizuc to Grande in another 15 minutes. The walk along the ocean front is lovely but beware of the mosquitoes!

We stayed at the Grande side of the resort and glad we've were placed here as it's the newest part of the resort. The check-in area is exquisite and intimate with a zen feeling. Water or champagne are provided upon check-in and this is where all-inclusive begins.

Our room is very grand as it's roomy and airy. There's a jacuzzi tub on the ground level, and three steps up there's a comfortable bed with a flatscreen in front, and not far away is a nice bathroom with a large shower room with large shower head and a toilet room.

We were located on the ground level of the complex and it's very cool as we enter the hallway. Our view wasn't the greatest as we had the "garden" view and we only saw shrubs and bushes. There is no ocean view but the request for pool view is as close to the ocean as one can get.

The El Caribeno is the largest restaurant there as it has buffet breakfast and lunch and a la carte dinner. They will do to-go dinner for you if you choose. Above the restaurant is a Sushi bar which only opens in the evening. Only stairs can take you up there and there is no lift or ramp. If you go there at night, watch out for mosquitoes. Behind El Caribeno is Los Tacos which opens until 6pm. The taco is very amazing!!

About the pools, there's one right in front of El Caribeno with a pool bar and server to provide you drinks. This pool provides an intimate feel and is quite popular as it's quieter. There's another large pool behind building #87 which also has a pool bar but it's a little louder as there is where the group activities occur. There's not a lot of shade available. The last area to find a pool is in the Los Tacos area. The pool is big and there are lots of individual shaded area. However, there's a lot of stagnant water and behind the pool is a grub. You may see a crocodile back there but you'll see more mosquitoes in this area.

If you venture off to Nizuc, don't miss out the Brazilian BBQ and the Mexican restaurant. The food here is deliciously fantastic. The buffet here is the same as El Caribeno. The grill and sushi restaurant at the pool side is so so but you should try it out if it's all inclusive. There's also a sweet cafe which makes great coffee and snacks. Besides the food, the pools here are larger and has more people. Activities are happening all the time so if you don't mind some noise of music or the DJ, this would be a good area. In fact, join in the fun!

And at Sunrise - none of the restaurants impressed me but still try them out. There were constant constructions from inside the lobby to the pool area and outside the different buildings. The resort is upgrading the facility 24hrs and it's rather disturbing to the public. This area has more facilities for children such as the arcade room so Sunrise would be better for the kids.

On a different note, if you would like to try the spa, head toward the Golf Resort instead of the salons at Sunrise and Nizuc. The resort is tranquil and elegant. Great place for relaxation. Do play golf as they have a great course.

Overall, this is a fabulous resort. It's a huge complex with many areas to venture. If you forget your sunscreens, don't worry, you can find lots at the towel station free of charge. The premium alcohol and wine options are fantastic. You are getting your money worth! But if you want to venture out to the Cancun strip on your own in a taxi, be prepared to pay $70 USD roundtrip. Also, beware of the mosquitoes. If you bring your baby like we did, please get a bring a mosquitoes net for your stroller!!!

Lastly, don't forget to pay $45 USD departure fee for each person. I still don't know why we're paying this fee but it's mandatory.

Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Mosquitoes repellent!!! If $1500 credit is available to be used, use it as it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lszutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,434
    4,179
    1,617
    755
    671
See reviews for
8,666
5,818
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Some of the staff were rude and not helpful at all. We tried to tell them our room was leaking from the rain, however they didn't believe us and acted like they didn't care. It was our last day, so we were trying to do them a favor. We were not looking for any discounts or anything. Just trying to help. Also, we were there for 9 days and the whole time we could not get in the beach. The food was alright, the spa was excellent and the pools were nice. I had my wedding there and one of my bridesmaid jewerly got stolen. Would I go back there again, probably not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbarbieri, General Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I’m very disappointed and sorry to hear that you were not treated with the level of service you deserve. We will take this into consideration to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.




Walter Barbieri
Director de Operaciones Moon Palace
Director Operation Moon Palace
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Carr. Fed. 307 Cancun-Chetúmal, Km 340.
Cancún, Quintana Roo, C.P. 77500
Tel. (52) 998 881 60 00, Ext. 4238
wbarbieri@palaceresorts.com
Nextel ID: 72*777*2093
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were spoiled the whole trip by the food, service and amenties. We were greeted by Ricardo at the main lobby of Moon Palace with a genuine smile and flowers. Ricardo is a dedicated employee as well as all the others. We never had to wait to be seated at a restaraunt or wait on a golf cart to be chauffered around the resort. From the warm welcome to the room services we had all we wanted at our bekon call. Many thanks to Moon Palace for a wonderful and memorable time. We will be back!!!
Thea R.
Hickory Creek, TX

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic hotel, fantastic rooms, un limited branded alcohol, night entertainment ok, swimmin pool, loads of room, loads of eating places. Stayed in a family room wchich was just two rooms with interconnecting doors, fab beds very clean, fab mucus is. Peblo pool waiter has an awesome memory for drinks. Defo recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelababy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently stayed here with my family in September 2012, we had such a great time made so many great friends and friends for life. Hotel was really great, rooms were great with massive HOT TUBS, optics, satellite tv which my partner made great use of when i used the gymnasium. No complaints about hotel or Cancun except for the mosquito's (which was not the hotels fault) as my son in law got seriously attacked by them, this then caused him to stay in the next few nights as he was bit alive!!! We swam with dolphins which was amazing! 1 of group ended up with a toe infection so could not swim but enjoyed the watch from the side of pool. There is 3 sections to moon palace we were located in the grand which was luxury especially to us as we are not used to this kind of treatment. Our friends were staying in the middle part NIZUC this part was loud compared to Grand but we headed over there to meet our friends we walked over there in 15 mins. The Sunrise was over 30 mins away but there was great entertainment a great american gentleman singing and his friend on keyboard we really enjoyed this, the nightclub was also located in sunrise and boy what a place! My partner used the Spa and got his hair cut they made a great job. Spa was out of this world they really make you feel relaxed (i think this is why he went again) The music was great mostly dance music but we all enjoyed this esp after hours but we left around 12 as we couldn't handle anymore dancing! I would definitely recommend MOON PALACE to everyone as the hotel was amazing we had such a great time and made great friends that we hope to visit soon. Thanks to all at MOON PALACE for a great stay love from the McSwiggen Family x

Room Tip: stay in the grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMcSwiggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a wonderful time at the moon palace, the only bad point was the construction work being carried out but there was loads of places to go to get away from it, the shows are like going to a west end show very professional indeed, the staff could not do enough to help, everyone was so friendly, you would find it hard to fault this holiday because there is nothing to fault it, this has without a doubt the best holiday we have ever been on, if your looking for a relaxing holiday that everything is taken care of its here, we will be going back for sure next year and the year after that

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fulhamfcboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just got back from our honeymoon in moon palace September 2012. The hotel is an amazing place to stay, we stayed in the grand section, i could not fault this at all. There is only 1 restaurant in the grand section but just a 10 minute walk to the next side there was various places to eat. There is also a bus that runs every 10 minutes to take you to each side of the hotel as there is 3 sides. The pools on the grand side are out of this world with lots of entertainment to do during the day. Alex, Alfredo and Miguel where amazing the 2 entertainers and the bar man, the cocktail list is a must! The rooms are massive with jacuzzi baths in each room, they also have optics and a fridge that gets refilled every day. The cleaners are a bit of a pain and sometimes don't come or come at 5/6pm when you are getting ready so have to turn them away. Be careful of leaving money out they will take this and think it is a tip. Use the safe provided.

About the resort credits, if you booked before April 2012 you do not have to pay the 11% tax as we where unclear before we went. Do not listen to people who say it is impossible to use them all, we had the maximum amount to use and used every last $! You can use the credits for:
Dolphin swim ( DO NOT LISTEN TO THE THOMAS COOK ADVISOR!!! HE WILL TELL YOU THAT IT IS NOT WORTH IT BECAUSE OF GROUP SIZES ECT SO THAT YOU BOOK WITH THEM. WE WENT AND IT WAS AMAZING YOU DO SO MANY ACTIVITIES WITH THE DOLPHINS AND YOU HAVE 8 MAXIMUM TO A GROUP)
Golf lessons and rounds
Wet and Wild ( WHEN YOU BOOK THE DOLPHINS THERE IS NO TRANSPORT INCLUDED SO DO THE WET AND WILD IN THE SAME DAY EVEN THOUGH IT IS THE WORST WATER PARK I HAVE EVER BEEN TO IT MAKES UP FOR IT BECAUSE THERE IS A BUS PROVIDED.)
Photo Shoot
Tequila packs
Cigar packs
Spa and beauty Treatments - A MUST!!
Upgrade of your room
Upgrade of wine choices
Upgrade of wedding

There is a bus that runs at 12, 2 and 4 to the Beach Palace in cancun. You can only spend 4 hours there before the bus picks you back up so try and get all your shopping done in 1 day as it takes around 20 mins to get there.

The beach at the moon palace is not great and the red flag was up at all times because of jelly fish but as we are not beach people this did not bother us. If you are, take the bus to the Beach Palace this beach is amazing.

The moon Palace is too far out of cancun and cost around £40 each way into cancun centre so if you are wanting to go out at night if will be an expensive night out. The entertainment at night is very poor. It starts at 7/8 and finishes at 9 leaving you nothing left to do. There is a club on the sunrise side but it doesn't start until 10 and the last bus back to the grand is at 11 so a walk back would take around 30 mins depending how drunk you are :) The club is only on a Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday night. The restaurants are great but is the same things served every day. Would advise booking into the Chinese and Italian at the golf course the best 2 places at the resort to eat. Men do not forget your trousers!! As our room was on the ground floor the first night it flooded because of the rain but the staff where more than happy to move us if we wanted. The weather was amazing, people say September is a bad time to go but we had 2 days of rain maximum it was red hot all the others.

Other than the night entertainment i have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The staff are amazing and could not do any more for you. Well worth the money and would recommend to anybody. Not so much for families though.

If anybody has any questions feel free to email me bec.gomm@btinternet.com

Enjoy your stay :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the Grand side are much bigger and quieter around the pool compared to the nizuk where lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becgomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,237 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing