We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous return visit for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous return visit for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We returned to the moon palace after honeymooning there in 2001 we promised ourselves we would return after having such a wonderfully time then we were not disappointed if it was possible the moon palce is even better now the food and staff are all amazing, some highlights on our trip to the moon palace are the Italian restaurant at the spa , the pools around the moon grand and the pool entertainer , beech side meal at the beach palace , all the staff who work there nothing was too much trouble so friendly make you feel special. Used the resort credits on dolphin swim and spa treatments and tequila package could not spend it all as some items have a limit on the amount you can use but was a great addition to our holiday there is some building work going with improvments on in the sunrise side but the resort is so vast it had no affect on our holiday thank you moon palce we shall retun in the very near future mr and mrs fisher room 5915

Room Tip: Rooms at the moon grand are all brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaznetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13,422
    4,174
    1,617
    755
    671
See reviews for
8,653
5,814
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just recently I spent 2weeks at the Moon Palace Sunrise section. Guest capacity was very low.
Service staff excellent, property conditions poor.

During my first week I was overwhelmed by the quality of service in all of the available restaurants. Especially at the La Gondola thanks to Hostess - Yadira Orendain Arroyo, Waiter - Ernesto Ndjera Luna and Floor Manager - Roberto Avonse. I also visited the 2 restaurants at the Golf Spa area and received excellent service and meal suggestions from Herrera Loria Francisco - Bambu and Carlos Trjero at the LaTratoria, both knew all aspects of the appropriate menus.

At the start of my 2nd week things started to go downhill. Management decided it was time to start a major renovation project which includes the property exterior, the main lobby, 2 restaurants and a number of various sections of rooms. As you may have quested there was a great deal of dust, pollution and closed facilities. You would think that they would have closed the Sunrise section during this time.

If it wasn't for the service staff and the particular staff members I became friends with my 1st week the 2nd week would have been a real bust.

Larrym

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Moon Grand for 3 days as an extention to our week stay at Playacar Palace. It had been 6 years since we have stayed at Moon and never on the Grand side. The regular rooms are so spacious and nice! We took advantage of numerous spa treatments. We also enjoyed dinner at the Italian Restaurant at the Golf Course. Adalberto was our waiter and it was his first day in this restaurant. He did an excellent job! We enjoyed talking with Lizbeth and Manolo at the Sunrise Pool - VIP area, such nice people! We spent some time talking with Timoteo Martinez Cruz also. All these employees work so hard and really made our vacation special. Our favorite was having lunch every day at Los Taco with Blanca and Luis! They were very attentive and funny and food is just WONDERFUL! Loved talking with them each day.Israel as check-in did an amazing job assisting us. We did the turlle release one evening and that is always an exceptional event to participate in. We witnessed at least 3 weddings while we were there also. You can't go wrong at Moon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottavaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful six night seven day anniversary trip to Moon Palace in Cancun. We went during the off season and hardly any people were staying at the resort.

We ended up going over to the Sunrise side and swimming in their pools two of our days and we only had to share the pool with a handful of other people. It was fabulous. The downfall to going during the off season would be, the palace doesn't staff as much so we did sometimes have to hunt someone down for drinks or service.

The spa was absolutely wonderful hands down to the service that we received there, definitely worth your time.

The room was quite large with a nice view and a Jacuzzi in the room. Maid service was always timely and our room was kept very clean, we never had to ask for anything.

We felt like the food could have been better for as many stars as the hotel received. We thought the buffet's just really weren't that good. We did order room service a couple times, that was wonderful as well as several of the sit down restaurants that we attended. The best food was poolside - on the sunrise side they have an outside pizza oven and they made the most fantastic ready to order pizza. Several people told us that the two restaurants at the Grand side were very good, but we never made it over there - they do require reservations and casual formal attire for men.

The beach was very saddening for me, its totally not what I expected - but they have a shuttle that leaves for two other palace resorts about four times a day and you can go up to Beach or Sun palace and use their beaches all inclusive eating and drinking so we did that and I didn't feel like I missed out on the Caribbean beach experience. the transport was about 15 minutes and we stayed there for four hours until we needed to re-board and return to Moon Palace, I thought this was a nice amenities especially because you could see what the other Palace resorts were like and if you would want to stay with them in the future.

Overall really nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, food and beach to be desired but the place is huge and there is so much to do there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Absolutely First class Treatment...Impeccable stay,Staff with Kind Heart to give the best of best to the guest speaks laurels on their commitment,dedication and going out of the way to serve them to the satisfaction is what one can see & experience here at Moon Palace Resort.

It's called as " Aththi Devo Bhava "....means Treat the Guest / Customer like God & that's what your people have done to us to make our stay like a Maharaaja...

Room Tip: Book it well in advance, with specifics and have a confirmation...Sea View Perticularly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

this was one of the best holiday we have had ,it wasthe 4th time in mexico and the best.. The staff cannot do anymore for you.My husband loved thhe golf while i used the spa fantastic.we are looking into going next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Moon Palace Resort in Cancun in August and it was thje most amazing family holiday ever.
The service is simply amazing, the accomodation breathtaking, the staff an absolute joy and the facilities the best.
The Restaurant Manager Raquel Villagran is the nicest person you will ever meet - her staff Franeisco Cocom and Erik Hardo always went the extra mile to ensure we weren't left wanting these 3 individuals made our stay a joy.
If its a family holiday this is the place a true all inclusive resort - I have been to the Caribbean on AI but this was something unique and special

Room Tip: This is a very big hotel and our rooms were about a 5 minute walk from the main lobby but given the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,224 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,532 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing