We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to cancun”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 26, 2012

this was our first trip to cancun and our first stay at a palace resort. i will happily reccomend both! hubby and i travel quite a bit and have stayed in all kinds of accomodations. this resort is huge!! we stayed in the sunrise section in the mango area in room 3405....had a decent view of the ocean and the lake terrace area of the resort. room was really good sized even with the huge jacuzzi----which hubby and i used and loved. the staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was nothing but friendly, curteous and so helpful. i can highly reccomend the spa in sunrise(we also went to the golf spa and it was great too) but i want to specifically mention abigail the massage therapist at sunrise. i have serious issues and do massages every two weeks...so i know massages..lol....abigail worked out issues i had that had been almost impossible to work out. she freed my body to truely enjoy this vacation....thank you. she also did a massage on hubby and he was shocked at how good she was! also we had manni/peddi's and they were great also.

we ate at as many restaurants as possible and really liked all but the italian buffet in nizuc..our favorites were the italian at the golf area and the oriental one in sunrise...very good! also the brazillian at nizuc was great and the carribean one at the grand was lovely. service and staff in all the restaurants were great!
we also visited the beach palace...took a cab ourselves up there and spent the whole day...loved it! beach was great and we loved the skytop pool and bar area....while there a man climbed the glass wall and proceeded to lower himself to wash the windows...scarred the crap outta me...i dont care what they pay him..it needs to be more....lol i also want to say i have never seen a staff so attenative to keeping a property clean.

all in all i would highly reccomend this property and look foward to returning to cancun!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmeyerpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15,479 - 15,485 of 22,539 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

We are Palace Members for 8 years. This was first time to Moon Palace. The food was not as good as other Palace Resorts we've stayed at over the years. the beach is a definite downer as it is covered always with sea weed which they are busy hauling away all day. also the noise level in the Sunrise area. We found hanging at the VIP area at the Moon Grand the best with Miriam, Marisol and Fedenico meeting are every need. Also VIP beach at Sunrise----with Gloria.

Room Tip: Moon grand is the newest section at this hugh resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHOTSZEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our second trip to the Moon Palace Resort, both times staying in the Sunrise section. The first time, my husband and I didn't leave that side of the resort or take advantage of the free shuttle to the other Palace properties (we were just happy to be kid-free for a few days!). This time we walked the entire resort, tried food from most of the restaurants, and took a shuttle to the Beach Palace resort where the ocean is crystal blue and the sand is soft and powdery. The trip to the Beach Palace helped me get over my only disappointment at the Moon Palace - the lack of beach and ocean access as there is a ton of seaweed washed up along the shoreline. The property is really built not for the beach lovers, but for the pool, food and drink lovers! It is a beautiful resort and you can visit the Beach Palace everyday if you want!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had help planning this trip & read all the reviews and found the resort everything we wanted in a vacation.
Loved the grounds, beautiful. the staff was courteous and very helpful. Room service could have been a bit better.
All in all, we loved our stay.
We will go back.

Room Tip: The further away from the lobby the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Recently visited here and had a great time. All inclusive resort with plenty of things to do and see. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful grounds! Drawbacks would be noise and beach. Food was good, but didnt blow me away. They do offer a free shuttle that takes you to two other resorts and they are wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayhawkfanx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I know all-inclusives come with their pros and cons but the Moon Palace makes everything difficult in what must be an effort to get you to not use the services.

Food is mediocre. If all you want to do is get drunk, it's fine for that as they are happy to pour the alcohol but everything else is just less than you hoped for.

The property is like a campus - it is huge and not terribly appealing. So big that if you leave something in your room it's 15 minutes to get there and back from the lobby.

You find yourself waiting in line for everything. There are far too few representatives to assist the number of guests and even something as simple as making an appointment for a massage requires you wait in a line, and then another 15 minutes for them to fill out all the paperwork for the reservation.

If you want to spend any time in Cancun this property is too far away.

Everything was so frustrating. We will not go back to that property.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Moon Palace (Grand) is a great experience..., all is great..., the food, drinks,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
2,312 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,125 reviews
23.8 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#38 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $349 - $826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing