We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”
Review of Park Royal Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Royal Cancun
Ranked #62 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The resort is spotlessly clean. Food is good, all staff friendly and helpful. Mario and other guy really friendly and entertaining at pool bar. Jose from entertainment staff friendly also. Hats off to all dining staff, towel guys, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sisters42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Park Royal Cancun. We apologize for the shortcomings that you describe. We hope that these events don’t deter you from staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 4,638 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are surprised that we have to pay to use the safe in the room. The wifi is 10$ for 1hr and 16$ for 24 hrs. When we first arrived room, there is cleaning cloth left in the sink. The cleaning staff also forgot to put enough towels and complementary two bottles of water during one of the days. The food in buffet has not many variations. The waiters are nice. The front desk staff on the first day does not speak much English and not very patient to answer questions. The pool are good, not much shade though. The sea is rough and we could not swim during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wodedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica c, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

We would like to kindly thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are acting on your feedback with the highest level of priority and we will be working diligently to make positive changes to the areas of opportunity which you have indicated here. We truly regret the inconveniences that you have experienced.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments and we genuinely apologize for your negative experience. I hope there will be an opportunity soon for the Park Royal Cancun to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent 11 days here. It was beautiful. The resort is just the right size. The staff is amazing and so friendly. The bartenders, Manuel, Mario, Arturo and Benjamin are so nice they want everyone to have a great time. Best vacation ever! Can't wait for next February.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent review! At Park Royal Cancun we try to make everybody’s stay unforgettable, and we are so happy that we succeeded. We are pleased that the service was exceptional and we will let them know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The good:
the bartenders
the Italian restaurant

The bad: 90% Brazillian guests. 15 year old Brazillian girls in thongs. Everyone stared at us everywhere we went as we were some of the only Americans.

Had a pair of sunglasses stolen from out room.

I wouldn't feed the buffet or snack bar food to my dog.

The hotel manager was the most incompetent man I've ever met.

The safe didn't work, we called down to have it fixed-noone ever came. When we checked out they said we had to pay and I refused. They wouldn't let us checkout until we paid for it. The manager said they didn't have a record of our calling to have it fixed so he couldn't drop the charge. He said we had to pay and turned and walked away. I had to pay so they didn't charge my card for an extra night stay.

From the US? DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ChrisB1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience during your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please know that our employees are trained to deliver exceptional service to all clients and we apologize if that was not the service you received. We will address the problems to ensure that they do not occur in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for a week at the end of September - October 2013, and I just booked our trip for 2014 yesterday to stay at the same hotel. The rooms are a little dated, but who goes to Mexico to stay in a room?!?! The staff is awesome, and actually made an effort to learn first names and recognize you by name when they saw you. The food was awesome, and there is a big variety to choose from. The grounds are very well kept and there are lots of iguanas by the ruins on the property. They also have a sea turtle sanctuary on the beach where turtles hatch and are taken to the ocean if you are there during the season.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a nicer room, pay the money and go for the presidential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Park Royal Cancun. We apologize for the shortcomings that you describe. We hope that these events don’t deter you from staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in January 2014. In fact we have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years, always in January. We always get great service. Employees are very friendly. In our experience the place has always been impeccably clean. The pool staff is always entertaining. We have taken friends and family and all of them have made return visits with us. Shopping is close. You can do as much as you want or you can just relax. Also great beach.

Room Tip: We have had several different types of rooms. All were nice and by 10 pm no real problems with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent review! At Park Royal Cancun we try to make everybody’s stay unforgettable, and we are so happy that we succeeded. We are pleased that the service was exceptional and we will let them know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

In five words: An Overpriced Hotel with mediocre service. The staff is dishonest and few of them speak English. They will only put real efforts when they try to convince to you to buy their timeshare membership (google and read many web-sites about famous Mexican Timeshare Fraud to get more info on this before coming to Park Royal which is one of the worst abusers at this).
The food is mediocre. The hotel is more oriented at families - there are screaming kids always running and playing at swimming pools and everywhere.
If you do go to a timeshare presentation (which we strongly advise against) do not believe a single word - what you will get if you sign up is going to be completely different with lots of unmentioned constraints, blackouts, costs etc.
Finally, look at other choices and you will see a lot of reputable hotels at similar or cheaper prices in the same area. Spend a little bit of time and you will have a much better vacation at the end!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmtk767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica c, Gerente at Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We would like to kindly thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are acting on your feedback with the highest level of priority and we will be working diligently to make positive changes to the areas of opportunity which you have indicated here. We truly regret the inconveniences that you have experienced. The lack of customer service and friendliness which you describe is certainly not indicative of the Park Royal standards for which we are known for and from which our customers have come to expect and deserve.
I believe that our employees could have attended your needs differently and much more professionally. I assure you that we are using your comments to develop ways to avoid similar situations. Once again, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments and we genuinely apologize for your negative experience. I hope there will be an opportunity soon for the Park Royal Cancun to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#40 of 176 in Cancun
5,659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 176 in Cancun
3,651 reviews
3 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
5,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 12.5 | Lote 18, Fraccion 1-B | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $196 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Mexican hospitality in Park Royal Cancun, with a staff that strives to make your family smile. Infinitely delight yourself with a wide variety of dishes in our restaurants and snacks and refresh with cool drinks at the bars. When it comes to relaxation and rest, you will find the perfect spot in our comfortable rooms and suites, in the spa or in the beautiful beach. The young and the not-so-young will have a great time with the recreational activities program. ¡The children love the water play area! Take a picture next to the Yamil Lu’um ruins which you have access to from the hotel itself!; or take advantage of the resort’s unbeatable location and go shopping in La Isla Shopping Mall, only a few steps away! Live with Park Royal the vacations you have always dreamed of in the most important Mexican tourist destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Park Royal Resort Cancun
Park Royal Piramides Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing