We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel and Vacation Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and Vacation Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2004

What an amazing experience!! You cannot go wrong with the Casa Magna!! The hotel was quiet and the demographic was diverse -- some young people, families, older couples, etc. 7 of us, ages 25-31, spent five days at the Casa Magna and had an amazing visit. The hotel staff is wonderful, especially Jazmin at the front desk! Ivan, the concierge, was incredibly helpful and ensured that no matter where we ate, we always had passes for one round of free drinks or appetizers. The rooms are well-designed and incredibly clean - marble bathrooms, great air conditioning, comfortable beds, spacious, etc. We stayed in the premium oceanfront rooms, with balconies that sat directly above the beach / ocean. Suggestions: Buy bottled water and beer across the street at the liquor store, next to La Dolce Vita, as it is a fraction of the cost. Eat the Mexican Shishkabobs at the poolside restaurant -- amazing! Get VIP passes to Coco Bongo from the front desk, as you will be able to bypass the line (Coco Bongo is an amazing club for all - tip well from the beginning and they will take great care of you all night). We found the best Mexican restaurants to be La Destilleria and La Casa de Margarita! La Docle Vita has great Italian food and provides a great view. There is no particular need to take a taxi -- The bus costs $.60, it is reliable and safe, and services the entire hotel zone. In all, we had a perfect vacation, with absolutely no complaints.

Helpful?
3 Thank Wooglin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,277
    1,048
    248
    97
    53
See reviews for
1,197
1,246
158
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY,NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2004

Casa Magna Marriot is the best choice if youre planning a trip to Cancun for many reasons. The first reson being the price of the hotel. This hotel is extremely affordable. The second reason in addition to being affordable is it's luxurious atmosphere. The grounds are meticulously groomed and landscaped. Also walking through the main lobby and other parts of the hotel make you feel like youre at the RITZ. More importantly the beach is very large and the service is great. Another great thing is that you can use the JW Marriots grounds next door which are extremely beautiful. For the price, atmosphere and location I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Cancun.

Helpful?
3 Thank yoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2004

I just returned on Saturday from a wonderful stay at the Casa Magna Resort. The staff and accommodations were remarkable! I couldn't have been happier with our room. We got a great deal on an upgrade from an ocean view room to an ocean view suite because it was my birthday. The photographs from our balcony are truly breathtaking. I would recommend paying a visit to the Italian restaurant next door (the J.W. Marriott). Being a vegetarian, I was a little hesitant about the food choices @ the Casa Magna, but the staff did everything they could to accommodate me. The food turned out to be rather good and the drinks at the pool bar are muy beuno!!!! Don’t hesitate making your reservation with the Casa Magna. You will be very happy here!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2004

My husband and I spent the last week of April at the CasaMagna. I highly recommend it. We had an oceanfront room with a terrace overlooking the beach. We had not been to Cancun in 20 years and had forgotten how beautiful the beach and ocean are there. Walking the beach is a lot of work, though, because the sand is so soft. The public areas of this hotel are beautiful, actually much nicer than the JW next door. The rooms are on the small side but nicely furnished and very clean. Our only complaints were no coffeepot in the room and the hard, hard mattress. We used the down comforters from both beds as a mattress pad - helped a little. The pillows were OK. We enjoyed lunch from the beach restaurant every day but did not stay in the hotel for dinner since we prefer to try local restaurants. (Ask Ivan, the bell captain, where to go.) Our favorite was La Dolce Vita which is right across the street. Margaritaville has excellent food but is geared toward a younger crowd - very noisy. The same is true for Champions at the hotel. We found the staff, who knew us by name after a few days, very friendly and helpful. We're pretty low maintenence guests - we only require a good housekeeper and a friendly, efficient beach waiter. One other tip: take the hotel shuttle from the airport. It's worth the money to avoid all those time share people.

Helpful?
1 Thank emjayell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2004

The frozen margaritas at the beach bar tasted like a straight tequilla slushie. The pool bar was great too. If you stay during the Summer, expect plenty of trashed high school graduates stumbling around knocking things over. the staff was kind of rude though.

Helpful?
1 Thank dr_281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2004

This hotel is warm, friendly and well kept. We loved walking through the front Lobby area. It gives you the feeling that you are walking through a magnificent palace. We were given an oceanview room even though we paid for a garden view. Nice surprise! It was painted in beautiful warm colors and kept impeccably clean. Alfonso left shaped towels of swans, elephants and various other animals in our bathroom each day to the delight of out two children. The pool was refreshing and adequate in size. You have to see the ocean to believe it. Cancun has the prettiest beach we've ever been to. Just perfect in color and temperature and the constant wave action make it a fabulous playground for the children. The Casamagna offers all inclusive for $110 per adult. Children eat and drink free with paying adult which includes room service! The food is very good. It's a great way to go if you have children. Well worth the price we paid. We all loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed. We will most definately be back. Hast luega!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2004

I just got back from Cancun April 24-27. This property is beautiful. Our bags got lost so we told the concierge, they took a copy of the lost bag form and said that we did not need to worry about it from there on out they would keep up on it. 4 hrs later our bags were in our rooms! Great service.
We had a ocean view room. It was all marble including the bathrooms. Newly painted and new comforters in the rooms color scheme was great. The beds were pretty hard but I heard other people from other hotels say there beds were also hard. The only hotel that adverstises heavanly beds is the Westin. If this is important to you, you may want to check them out.
The hotel was not crowded at all. A mixture of people from old to young.
We bought the 2X1 entertainment card prior to arriving. This a great savings it had tons of restraunts and bars listed that you could buy 1 meal or cover charge and get one free. We took the bus up and down the hotel strip for only a $1 a person. We visitid all the malls. La Isla and Plaza Flamingo (being renovated right now) is just like our shopping malls, the other malls Plaza Caracol and Plaza Terramar is strictly tourist shops thats it!
We ate off of the 2X1 card at OK Maguey for breakfast, very good. Cafe Salsa next door at JW is Ok, Champions at Casa Magna for lunch is just like a sports bar here in the US, Chocco's & Tere for supper was good, and the last day we ate downtown which was not on our card and ate at Jimmy Buffets Margaritaville for dinner,it is a really fun place to go, lots of entertainment, it was a little expensive but everything in Cancun is. Expect to pay between $8-15 per person for lunch and to pay between $15-34 per person for dinner then drinks are between $6-10 for mixed $4 for beer and $3.00 for pop. Do not buy anything at the hotel gift shop it is so expensive, I got ripped off several times there. A bottle of water is $5 when you can go buy water across the street to a little store for $1.50. I also bought ice cream at the gift shop one night. They put 1 scoop in basically like a tasting cup you would see at Baskin Robins and it was $2.70! The sandwiches are not any cheaper than what you can get at the Beach side restraunt around $7 a sandwich.
Other than Cancun being a little pricey it is a beautiful place!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmcelvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,600 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing