We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for business October 2013

Great rooms, friendly staff and public areas are beautiful and well maintained.
Beach and pool areas are wonderful and close to rooms as well.
Restaurants had good service and food (tried the thai restaurant and the sports bar for dinner - both good).
All rooms have balconies which is really nice to relax in the evening or early morning, although they are not particularly private.

The only negative comment I can give is that the location of the hotel means everything is a bit of a trek away, from the restaurants outside to the shops. This is not really an issues though.

Will definitely come to this resort again, when I next get the chance to visit Cancun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,448
    1,092
    262
    102
    56
See reviews for
1,294
1,322
161
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We absolutely loved the Casa Magna. The property was beautiful and the staff were very accommodating. The beach was fabulous and the wait staff there were attentive to our needs. Nadia at the front desk went out of her way to help us and make sure that our visit met or exceeded our expectations. Grounds were well kept. Pool was nicely heated and it was always easy to find a lounge at either the pool or on the beach.

Room Tip: Rewards members can receive a room upgrade. We were changed to a delightful oceanfront room which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Casual hotel on the hotel area. Public areas ok, but rooms would need a bit paint etc. Many restaurants and a very nice beach and pool area. Easy to take local bus to the malls. Pricelevel ath the hotel relatively high.

Room Tip: ask seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perfectroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Like many others people today, I want to be able to connect to the Internet even while on vacation. In fact, it's absolutely necessary in my business to at least check my email once or twice a day. And I want to check the stock market and other favorite sites. And my wife wants to use the internet, too.

This is the world we live in today, so it is ridiculous that a purported high-quality hotel has such poor internet service for its guests. This is true for any guest, and it is especially irritating for those of us who pay for the most expensive rooms, in this case an oceanfront.

Today, there's no excuse for a hotel to not have excellent internet access for its guests. I see that other TripAdvisor reviewers have previously complained about the poor internet service at Casa Magna, so it appears that the hotel's management has no serious intention of fixing this very fixable problem. For this reason, it is unlikely that we will stay at Casa Magna in the future.

This is too bad, because the hotel was fine in other respects. If not for the Internet problem, we would stay there again.

One additional quibble: It was annoying to have to walk all the way from the oceanfront room to the other end of the hotel to catch the elevator, and then have to walk all the way back in order to reach the beach. It's an unnecessarily long walk. An elevator should have been installed nearer to the beach. Oh well, too late for that.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the oceanfront room, but the Internet quality is terrible. In fact, we couldn't conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChaunceyBraxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We take our guests’ concerns very seriously and, because of that, the Management has decided to change our Internet service provider and with this we are looking forward to offering a reliable and consistent Internet service. We are sorry that you experienced problems with the Internet signal during your stay, but we are positive that this issue will soon be corrected. We hope you decide to visit us again in the near future, enjoy our service and facilities once again, and corroborate that this service has improved significantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I just stayed here for 5 days and had a great experience! I'm reading the negative reveiws and asking is this the same place? My room was awesome with a great view - beach is great - never hung out at the pool. I just ate breakfast their and it was great - Definetly walk down and catch the bus to the local restaurants. Staff was great - very helpfull - the place is huge so never felt crowded. It is a busy hotel! Granted my perspective might be a bit influenced by the fact that i had just come from Cuba so this place was heaven to me. I'm sure there are better places however this met by criteria - beach - comfy - value. i would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Haven't been to Cancun since 93 and I didn't know what to expect. It was absolutely amazing! The Marriott Casamagna was excellent! The drinks could have been a little stronger but aside from that everything was GREAT! The property was immaculate! The staff was extremely accommodating and the beach was breathtaking!!! The food was also very good on and off the beach including the breakfast buffet. I will definitely be returning to Cancun and I will definitely be staying at the Casamagna!!! Tip: dont bother paying more for premium ocean view because all ocean view rooms have a wonderful view of the ocean, the higher the better though. Also make sure you take the route 2 bus to town and visit mercado 28 and dine with the locals great food great drinks great prices!!!!

Room Tip: high floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLD157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at this resort from Christmas through New Years and what we like most about this resort is that it has some charm that makes you feel like you're in Mexico, unlike other area resorts that are generic and could be found anywhere in the U.S.

Other things we liked: though sold out for the holidays, this resort never felt crowded. The pool staff was exceptional--extremely friendly, efficient and easy to locate. Flora did a great job of setting up our pool chairs each morning, making sure they were just to our liking. Wait staff was also fantastic--We never had to wait long for drinks or food. The beach was generally clean.

We booked a partial ocean view room and while the view was lovely, the room was really small for our family of three. However, it was always quiet. The breakfast buffet offered many good choices and overall we found the food at the restaurants to be tasty with the exception of Champions.

What could be better: Housekeeping could stand to improve quite a bit. Our room was never cleaned earlier than 4pm even though we saw housekeeping staff starting our floor in the early morning hours. There seemed to be a towel shortage and we never had more than two sets of towels even though there were three of us in the room. A few times we requested more and were told they weren't available. The beds weren't as comfortable as other Marriotts; perhaps they are older and need to be replaced.

Like many resorts, you need to get to the pool early to reserve a good spot and this was no exception, although, there were always enough chaises is you were willing to sit in the garden a little further from the pool.

Service in the restaurants was friendly but a bit slow, especially at breakfast if you were ordering from the menu rather than eating from the buffet. The concierge and bell staff were helpful and knowledgable although quite pushy to certain restaurants and activities (outside the hotel) to the point we figured they were getting a spiff. Front desk staff wasn't as service oriented as other Marriotts we've stayed at, especially given that we are gold members.

The gym has a good assortment of equipment, though it's packed in the room pretty tightly. The resort also has a nice location on the strip.

Overall, the Casa Magna is a nice resort, however, it is a little tired and could use some "oomph" all the way around. We are generally big Marriott fans but I'm not sure we'd come back to this one without some compelling reason to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing