We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a really good standard of service…….”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still a really good standard of service…….”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on business in October and found it to be very pleasant experience. This is the second time I have stayed at this property this year and both times have been good.

Location: In the hotel zone close to Cancun. Hotel is on the beach and next door to a JW Marriott property. There is a walkway between the two hotels and you can use the JW facilities and charge back to your room.

NOTE: There is not a Club Lounge at this hotel.

Reception: Large reception/lobby area with plenty of staff available to check you in. This was a prompt process. There is a lobby shop which sells souvenirs, cold drinks, water, coffee, snacks as well as clothes and gifts. There is also a car hire company based at the hotel.
Room: Large and spacious, a little dated but spotlessly clean.

Bathroom: Large bathroom area, with a separate room for the toilet. Good, powerful shower and plenty of towels and amenities.

Minibar: Lots of choice, but not re-stocked every day. Also note, no coffee or tea facilities in the room.

Internet: No wired connection in the room. Free WIFI available in the room and public areas of the hotel, fast and keeps connected.

Restaurants: Plenty of choice: Japanese, Thai, Argentine Steakhouse, Sports bar, beach bar and lobby bar. Breakfast is a large well stocked buffet featuring English/American and Mexican dishes. An egg station is also available for freshly cooked eggs and omelettes.
Gym: Modern and well equipment with latest equipment. Property also has a SPA.

Staff: All very friendly and helpful

Transport: Can be booked with the hotel. They run a shuttle bus where you can purchase a ticket or you can pay for a private car or minibus. Any of these choices makes life easy on arrival at Cancun airport. The shuttle bus is around $10 USD per seat one way.

Laundry: In room laundry bags available for use. Service was very quick and some items sent away in the morning where back by early afternoon the same day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Speedbird_238_Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,448
    1,092
    262
    102
    56
See reviews for
1,294
1,322
161
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stay at Marriot's regularly for business and have never had such a negative experience.

We booked this hotel through Expedia a month or so in advance. When doing so I stated that we would be 4 people, 2 adults and 2 children. I requested 2 double beds. Upon arrival they told me that they were full and had a room with one king bed. They told me that I could rent a rollaway bed for $20 per day. I explained that I had already paid for the room and that I made a reservation for 4 people. The fact that each of us should have a place to sleep seemed obvious to me. I told them that I would not pay extra for a rollaway bed. We went round and round with Vicente and the manager Israel. After much discussion Israel told us that there was a sofabed in the room. Why they did not tell us this in the beginning was beyond me. We were fine with a king bed and a sofa bed for the kids but they never mentioned it. It was not a good start to our trip. To make matters worse, our room was not ready and we had to wait a few hours to get into our room.

The hotel itself is well cared for on the inside. The lobby, gift shop and restaurants are clean but we were shocked at how much garbage was around the pool in the day and at night. People drink out of plastic cups and leave them next to their chairs or on the rim of the hot tub. They were still there when we were at the pool in the nighttime. Nobody comes by to clean them up. A few had even been knocked into the pool along with the liquid inside.

I would not stay at this particular Marriott again.

Room Tip: Room 2115 is small and located next to the ice machine and the elevator. You can see the ocean....if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry that you had inconveniences upon check-in. Our check-in time is 4PM and we do our best to give rooms before that time, but we might find this a little bit difficult especially during high season. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we will definitely make sure that all the room information is properly given at check-in, and that all the used glasses at our pool area are picked up in a timely manner. We hope that you decide to visit us again in the future. We are certain that we can change the negative impression that you had in this particular stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed many times at Casamagna but never really got to write a review because to me it was average, not great and not bad. This time it was different, the service is way above average from Dario at concierge, Yolanda at the pool and specially Octavio (everywhere from the beach to the pool) they make your stay special. The hotel is beginning to show signs of old age like the slooooow screechy elevators and the cracked floor in the basement, but overall it is still nice and comfortable.
Breakfast buffet is good with fresh fruit, some oriental dishes, pancakes, bacon typical mexican dishes and eggs cook to order any way you want them. The Mikado restaurant at the hotel is really good (don´t miss the sushi combinations)
My three kids (ages six, and the twins five) really enjoyed the pool (nice size and you can watch the entire pool from various points) and the beach had no shortage of chairs but if you want a shadow you have to wake up very early.
Overall a great stay and very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the CasaMagna. Hotel is well maintained and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Relative to prices in the Caribbean, this hotel offers good value. The beach was terrific, with soft sand, beautiful warm water and nice waves. Eating at the property can be somewhat expensive but the food quality was good. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Caribbean Suites have great views of the beach and a little extra room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the CasaMagna in October with a couple of friends, and we enjoyed our stay. Pool and hot tub were well-kept, happy hour was lively, and restaurants were solid. The room rate was definitely a good value for the price we paid. The hotel also offers free access to the pools at the JW Marriott next door, so that's also worth checking out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late on Christmas night and were welcomed with beautiful rooms, that had stunning pool and sea views the next morning. The staff of the hotel were very interested in making sure we had an excellent vacation. The restaurants were very good and we had a lot of fun at Chamions sports bar one evening. The beach was beautiful and well maintained. Very impressive and I would recommend this resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved the Casa Manga Marriott. Situated in the Hotel Zone away from all the Las Vegas craziness of downtown Cancun. The beach was beautiful and spacious and getting a chair at the pool or beach wasn't too difficult. Nice big balconies over-looking the water. The food was very good and the staff and service was excellent. The people working there were extremely nice and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the inside of the property and back pool area was very pretty. We are Marriott Silver member so we were able to get an upgrade and some discounts. The front could use a little sprucing up as far as painting but they seemed to be working on that. The only reason I gave them a 4 star ratting was that there was no coffee make in the room so every morning there was a big line in the store to get coffee which usually was out. Also, they must have a problem with people giving bogus credit cards because they put a large hold on my Amex of about $2,000, even though they said that we could pay with a different card at the end. Despite the lack of coffee in the room, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethWinnetka_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing