We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancun vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel with excellent service, the beach was amazing. We ate at the Capilla ( Argentinian stake house) great food we had a daily $50 credit from Costco and can use at any time in the hotel gift shop or restaurants.

Room Tip: We had garden view, but were able to see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omgbigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,121 - 2,127 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We enjoed our vacation at CasaMagna hotel. Good hotel, good restaurants, very nice garden setup and amazing breakfast included. Pool Bar is very cool and the spa facing the ocean is a nice feature too.

Room Tip: You don't need to take a front ocean view room. Their garden view rooms looks at the pool and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked our stay through priceline for a bargain and stayed here for 4 days.

Room:
The lobby looks fantastic, and the room is very spacious, with a huge balcony. Although we opted for the garden view room, we can still see the ocean from our room! Our maid made our bed everyday and makes everything spotless.

Beach:
The beach is right behind the hotel, with a large pool and jacuzzi. The beach is not crowed at all. You can actually walk along the beach to visit other hotels...

Internet:
The only free wireless internet located in the main lobby, and it works poorly. Strongly recommend to buy a internet plan if you can.

Location:
It is located in the south of the hotel zone, but with a bus stop directly at the JW Marriot. Aroung 30 minutes from downtown cancun and 15 minutes from Isla Mall.

Gym:
We used the gym once and find out it is great! Although quite small, it has most cardio and weights equipment. The best part is that there are few people here, so you are likely to enjoy this gym as private workout space.

OVER CHARGE...

I would love to give a five star for my stay, until I get back home and see my credit card record. I was charged USD 400+ on my credit card, although we have no purchase/dinning/bar expense in the hotel at all. We booked our stay through priceline so we are not expecting any charges at all. I called Marriott asap and they only told me that "we will look into this issue". Still have no idea what is going on and will file a dispute with my credit card company if no follow-up from Marriott.

TIPS:
Be careful when booking with priceline...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morganjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were told that our stay was during shoulder season, so the hotel was not at capacity. The hotel rates were very reasonable, and the service was excellent, which I don't often say, since I travel a lot. We received a complimentary upgrade to a partial Ocean View room because of our Marriott Rewards status. The room actually had a great view of the ocean because of the orientation of the balcony.

The room was comfortable and the housekeeping service kept the room spotless. Turndown service was available. Service at the pool and beach was also attentive and we found the casual food there better than Champions.

Aside from the few activities we planned, we stayed at the hotel complex (which included the JW Marriott) for most of our meals, simply because the food and service was so good. The exception on food quality was Champions Sports Bar. The service, food, and atmosphere at Gustino's was so wonderful, we went there twice. We did try a seafood restaurant across from the hotel and cancelled our dinner order after the less-than-fresh appetizers arrived. Since we were disappointed with that outside restaurant, we returned to the Marriott for another wonderful dining experience at the Sedona Grill.

The hotel was in a good location in the Hotel Zone, so it was easy to get around on the frequently running buses, which cost 8.5 pesos one way. It was a 15 minute trip to the marina to catch a ferry to Isla Mujeres, and a slightly longer ride to downtown Cancun.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would return in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoInCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed in multiple hotels in the area of Yucatan Peninsula. This is definitely the best four star hotel that we have stayed.

Great lobby, service, beach!

We did not pay for the ocean view room but we can still enjoy quite a bit of ocean view at our massive balcony! If you have a group of people who want to do a bit of pre-drink before going to clubs, we would suggest you to ask for third floor so that you can have way bigger balcony regardless if you want to have massive ocean view of not.

The restaurants are lovely but quite not cheap. They only offer free wifi at the lobby and the wifi is very unstable...

Room service is the best part of this hotel. We also love their jaccuzi and beach....As guests of this hotel, you can also use most of the services of the JW marriot.

Even though you love clubs, you do not have to stay at the "club zone". The R1 and R2 buses run every 30 seconds and sometimes less than 30 seconds for most of the time except late night, and you can get to places like Coco Bongo in less than 15 minutes. The late night bus will always be available except it will wait until the bus is full to leave at 3am......

There are also a MacDonald and a convenient store across the street if you want to buy cheaper water and grab a quick eat. If you want to have a romantic dinner, the best restaurants are all around this hotel at least from what we think.

Lastly, the hotel is very quiet. It made us feel that my husband and I were the only ones would got back from nightclubs after 3am, When we went to bed early like 10am in some day, we could not hear any thing but any noise made by ourselves and the sea...You do not necessarily need the air conditioning to sleep well during the night.

Room Tip: third floor(with large balcony) for a group of more than 5 people love pre-drink before nightclubs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely hotel, great service and good food. We had an ocean front suite and it did not disappoint. We had a huge balcony! Our room was spotless and room service was the best. Only drwaback was the price of things in the gift shop...I would avoid purchases there. Spa was also quite nice. Highly recommend this hotel. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyP445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here (June 13&14) and the hotel is still very pretty even though I imagine a bit old. We received an upgrade to ocean view since I am a Marriott Gold member. The conceirge provided complimentary champagne for our wedding anniversary and we were greated with a rose pedal lined floor and bathtub in our room, towel animals and nice note.
The Consierge was also very helpfyl in finding some of our favorite restaurants (La Distileria and La Parrilla) again.
Very easy to hop on a bus in front of the hotel and for 8.5 Pesos (about 0.75 cents American) go anywhere we wanted on the strip or downtown. The La Isla Mall is still a favorite of ours due to the little resaurants on the lagoon, shopping and people watching.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IronTalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.6 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $199 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise at Marriott Cancun Resort. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and our 5-star resort in Cancun, Mexico. A legendary locale close to Kukulcan Plaza, Luxury Avenue, La Isla Shopping Village and Coco Bongo and perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing