We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience. J Marriot next door offers some differences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we were at the Casa Magna for 8 days as we stayed while participating in a course on site.
the staff is great and attentive both inside and poolside. prices for food and drinks a little
high as you will experience "resort pricing". beach is great but can be very windy depending on the month you are there. Feb = wind May, not so much. lots of small children at the pool; can be good or bad depending on your perspective. next door, the JW Marriot is more upscale. pool is
more lavish. not many kids. Rooms more lavish too but prices a little higher. a guest at Casa Magna CANNOT use the JW pool but can use the restaurants. food is good at both resorts.
Going to the local nightclub CoCo Bongo is a must (Las Vegas style shows). Zip-lines with Selvatica properties is fabulous.

Room Tip: corner suites on the ocean have large balconies great sun and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,206 - 2,212 of 4,100 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here after a backpacking adventure. Arrived at 6.30am and were not due to check in until after 2pm. They were so wonderful and let as check-in early. The bed was wonderful, rooms very clean and spacious. Loved to pool area, not the most modern one, however still very clean and lots of sun beds. Enjoyed sitting in the hot tub drinking corona watching the sun set. Nice area of beach, although the day we were there no swimming was allowed to do the current. Very relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle. Already looking to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

First, location, location ,location. On the beach and excellent location in the hotel zone - short bus or cab ride anywhere.
Second - great rooms, staff & service. Rooms are well done, staff is friendly and service is quick. Room service even has a timely delivery guarantee. Tried all property restaurants at CasaMagna and JW Marriott - all great meals. Even the food from the poolside bar was good (as we're the drinks!). Third - access at CasaMagna means access at JW Marriott. Each property is uniquely different but you get the best of both worlds. You will enjoy your stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great hotel with great location. Bus is just on the front street and convenient. Beach is beautiful. Staff at the pool are attentive and do a great job. This hotel is well staffed (except at times at the front desk with prime arrivals). Mikados restaurant is a must. Champions is ok but noisy - do not go here if you want to be able to talk! The pool could use more selection of food on the menu - when you are here for a week the same food at lunch gets old. Our group had a list of activities that were supposed to have happened each day at the pool, however, we never knew when they were happening even though we had a schedule with times (bingo, aerobics, volleyball, style show). A few years ago the had an activity director who was present each afternoon announcing these activities and joining in - made it lively. The last two years have been terrible. This hotel would have even more of a gold mine if they did a few things just to add little touches above other hotels.

Room Tip: The majority of the rooms are great views but make sure you dont get one facing the front parking or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamOf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the CasaMagna for the second year in a row. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful – As a Marriott Gold member I received an ocean view room and free wi-fi – I could not have been more pleased with our room and the cleanliness of the hotel. The beachside bar (La Bahia) was excellent and we ate lunch there everyday.
My only complaint was the service (or lack of service) at Champ’s Sports Bar. We ate there our first night and the service was less than Marriott-like. They were very slow and I had to have my check redone twice because of mistakes. We decided to give Champs one more try later in the week – we were seated and after waiting 15 minutes for a server, we got up and left. I will not eat there again – The Crab House and Fred’s across the street were both good places to eat and were both right on the water.

Room Tip: Marriott Gold members receive and automatic upgrade to ocean view rooms so don't book the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northshore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent hotel. It is beautiful. Great location with bus stop right in front of hotel and Oxxo convenience store, Papa John's Pizza right across street. Get your beer and snacks there as it's much cheaper than at the hotel. Very expensive food and drink at this hotel, but that is my only negative. Plenty of lounge chairs on beach and around pool even when the hotel was at capacity. Very comfy beds, all rooms have view of ocean and pool and you can hear the waves when the slider is open. No room to room noise. Pretty much what you would expect from a Marriott. Good service. No coffee maker in the room though, so if that is important to you, either take the bus to Walmart and buy a little coffee maker, or downstairs in the lobby they have good cappucinos or coffee for about $4, or if you are up for a walk, the oxxo accross the street has good coffee. Filtered water at this hotel, so it is safe to drink. Get the breakfast included in the room rate. It is a really excellent buffet, but $25 per person if not included. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Cancun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HappyTraveller007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel
The hotel itself is beautiful, with stone flooring and an authentic feel. We looked at the JW, which is nice, but the Marriott feels more like a resort in my opinion. We were offered the upgrade at check-in (which other reviewers mentioned too). I'm sure it's a ploy, but our room rate was so affordable that an extra for $49/night to have a corner room, with wraparound porch and ON the ocean is worth it. Rooms are clean, sizable and comfortable.

If you are a marriott rewards member, look at the special offers. You don't have to use your points, but they do have packages available. Ours included internet, breakfast for two, 25% off F&B and 25% off spa.

Food & Beverage
As with most hotels, the food and drinks aren't cheap. We were able to get a package deal that reduced all our F&B on the property by 25%, so that was very helpful. I know people think it's Mexico so everything is cheaper, but other restaurants in the general area we were at were just as expensive. The breakfast buffet is great...churros and quesadillas for breakfast?? OK! We also really enjoyed the thai place. We had dessert one night at La Capilla, and the creme bruelle was an odd temperature and felt like it had been pre-made and sitting out. We sent it back and they took it off our bill with no problems. Only other complaint was that we had a $12 mimosa at brunch one morning - as a reminder a mimosa is almost half orange juice.

Based on other reviews, we also went to Hacienda Sisal...very good! Also did Surfin' Burrito downtown by taking the bus.

Service
The service is incredible. I have to share this story. The drinks are not cheap, so based on other people's reviews we went to 7-11 across the street and got some beers and canned margaritas/cocktails (pretty cool that they have these in Mexico). We drank some and then the next day went out all day long to Xel-Ha. When we came back we found that our housekeeper had put all our drinks on ice for us for our return. That is ABOVE AND BEYOND. We tipped her that day and on our last day. Also, poolside service is exceptional. The Concierge Sarahy, was super helpful in securing us a shuttle with VERY short notice (I forgot!). Thank you Sarahy!

Overall a great trip.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $192 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise at Marriott Cancun Resort. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and our 5-star resort in Cancun, Mexico. A legendary locale close to Kukulcan Plaza, Luxury Avenue, La Isla Shopping Village and Coco Bongo and perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing