We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience All Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience All Around”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a family vacation at the Casa Magna in September. The experience was fantastic. I loved the location, delicious food and a great beach. Not to mention, the staff were excellent and super polite.

Here are a couple of tips however. I was debating whether to stay at the JW versus Casa Magna (about a $40 per night difference). Both share the same property ground and you can certainly go into either hotel restaurants and pool area (atleast I did and when I asked if it was ok, they said ok). Secondly, avoid booking tours through the hotels, Go to the mall opposite the Westin, about a 5 min bus ride away, and buy the tickets for about half the price (really!). Our experience booking through the mall tours was great. The only caveat they pick you up around 7.30 AM and aggregate you at the main hub and then push off.

I also need to mention the breakfast buffet at the La Capella Grill. You have 5-6 fresh juices to choose from, over a dozen varieties of bread and cheese, made to order eggs, the most amazing spiced hot chocolate ever, pancakes, waffles and even Asia food - Thai curry, springrolls..

We were upgraded to a premier sea facing room. It is worth spending the extra dollars on this as at night you can leave the balcony door open and sleep to the pleasant sound of the sea and feel the breeze.

Highly recommend the Marriott for any traveler.

Room Tip: If you are an elite member, you can get upgraded to a better room on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelllholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,092
    262
    103
    56
See reviews for
1,296
1,324
161
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

the casamagna hotel was such a wonderful place to stay for the two blissful weeks we had there. we were treated like celebrities and given the most incredible room upgrade for a ridiculously small supplement. some other reviews for this hotel, state that an ocean view room is not worth the money you pay for an upgrade- we begged to differ! It was utterly breathtaking to take in the views we had! we managed to bag ourselves one of only 15 full frontal ocean view rooms(as it was low season oct 2012) and was stunned every day by the parnoramic view we had every day!
the staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly.
the facilities were great inc the spa and gym.
the pool was very sociable and made for a lovely day of relaxation.

the food we had to room service was incredible! the nights we were too tired to party, we;d snuggle up on the bed in our marriott robes and watch tv on the plasma screen with the ocean sounds and views beyond through our balcony. It was honestly the most beautiful hotel experience ive ever had.

the only downside was that in off peak season, they seem to hold lots of conferances which mean up to around 1000 guest suddenly descend uopn your paradise and kinda spoil it a little for us true tourists. however, we mostly managed to book days out on those days to avoid the "busy" pool and beach.

overall, we couldn't have asked for a better experience and would love to go back!

Room Tip: stay room only if you want to go out exploring the local cuisine. otherwise you are very restircted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwifeSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Casa Magna Resort was absolutely amazing! The staff all greeted us with a "Welcome Home" as we first arrived. Aldo at the front desk was SUPERB! I will definitely let his managers know of the great job he did in helping to make our trip significantly more special! I'm the type of person that likes to try different places instead of doing the same thing over an over but I can honestly say that I have NO desire to stay anywhere else but the CasaMagna when im in Cancun from now on!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izanagi-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The first issue is that I paid for a premium beach view. I define this as having a window parallel to the beach. This hotel defines it as being orthogonal to the beach. I could only see about 50% of the beach area, which made it hard to keep a eye on my teens on the beach while also tending to my wife who was ill in our room. The second issue is that they charge you extra amenity. In this day and age, I don't consider internet access something that a 4 four star hotel would charge extra for. The lobby is very impressive. The main dining room was closed for renovations. I would not recommend this hotel to others. I'm not an expert on the Mexican Riviera, but I'm hoping there are better options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Casamagna in December 2011. We were there celebrating our "baby-moon" and we couldn't have chosen a better place. This location is a little bit farther away from the main hotel zone, but you can get to Cancun downtown by bus in 30 minutes, if needed. The onsite hotels are great as well - especially Sasi thai and Mikado. We were a little disappointed by the service in the American themed hotel, but overall good food options. The beach side make-your-own-taco counter and the seaside bistro are great and economical. Just across the hotel is a McDonalds for breakfast as well - It's also close to the Aquaworld snorkeling excursions main office (from where all the excursions begin). Aquaworld also has a small office by the pool where you can conveniently book your excursions. The spa is wonderful and affordable - I took a prenatal massage at the spa and it felt so relaxing!! The pool is very good - Unlike many other fancy shaped pools at other hotels, you could actually do some laps early morning when the crowd is less, and the hot tub is open late night. The beach is wonderful too. We ordered room service every day for breakfast, and it was amazing to have a nice breakfast soaking in the lovely view. All in all I cannot find any negatives with our stay. Wonderful hotel, with amazing service and lobby, decent rooms and good food & activity options!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with an ocean view for a nice breakfast/ coffee, evening quiet time alone with a loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Returned yesterday from a week long stay at this hotel. From the time we arrived until we left, the staff and service was fantastic. We stayed on the 'Total Escape' package which was very much worth it's cost as otherwise, eating at the restaurants (especially the Argentinian 'La Capilla') could have been incredibly expensive. Food in all restaurants (The Mikado was closed during our stay) was excellent but we found the waiting staff did not all speak conversational English. The room was clean and comfortable as is expected of a Marriott hotel but it could have benefitted from tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There's very little negative about this resort. Unfortunately we chose a week where there were a couple of days of rain so there was little to do without getting wet. This in no way ruined our vacation; we wish we'd had longer - I'd go back for sure.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayakgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After reading a number of reviews, we were left without a clear idea of what to expect, as many suggested your experience with this property could be hit or miss, but ours was certainly a hit! Everything went so smoothly that i wondered if the persons who had overly critical reviews stayed at the same hotel.

From the time we landed at the airport, we had taken the hotel's advice and arranged round trip transportation between the airport and the hotel, we were off to a good start. With the tail end of hurricane Ernesto lingering around when we arrived it was raining cats, dogs and small furry marsupials, so it was very good to see our driver holding up a sign for the hotel and our names as we exited the arrivals lounge at the airport.

He took our bags greeted us and took us to the waiting vehicle, after about twenty minutes we arrived at the hotel and were greeted at the door by very friendly and helpful porter staff. We tipped our driver, who seemed very appreciative and headed to the front desk. As a Marriott Gold rewards member were fully expected to use the elite member desk to hopefully speed through the check in process but found that absolutely unnecessary as there were four front desk employees speedily dealing with the guests who were checking in.

We had booked a special rate package through Marriott rewards and were a little concerned as other reviewers had quoted problems with the hotel honoring some of the Marriott rewards conditions. Not only did we receive everything that we had requested but the clerk still upgraded us to a better positioned beach front room, nice, very nice.

We got to our room and everything was in a good state of repair, clean and enough space for my wife, daughter and myself. Our room attendants name was Josue and he was splendid. Always did a great job of keeping the room clean, replenishing toiletries, towels etc., but also leaving little thank you notes.

The beach was always clean and we never had a problem getting beach chairs no matter what time of day we emerged. We certainly did not experience having to get up at the crack of dawn to go and "book" a lounger on the beach there were always plenty. Our 8 year old daughter absolutely loved the pool and we ended up spending quite a bit of time there, though much of my time was spent at the swim up bar. the only negative comment about the swim up bar is that the drinks are a bit light on the alcohol for the price that they charge, so after a while I gave up on the cocktails and stuck with beer and Scotch, but the service and then speed of service were excellent for an at times busy bar.

All in all, great location, staff that seemed to genuinely want you to have a great experience for your vacation, comfortable accommodations and at a very reasonable price for it all.

In case you had not picked up on it, we had a blast! Very much enjoyed our Cancun vacation and want to thank the staff of the Marriott Casa Magna for making our vacation a great one. We will be back!

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean front rooms, a bit more on the breezy side but the views down the beach are wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewie_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing