We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. The property is big with manicured landscape, the inside architecture is awesome, very high ceilings all over the common areas, beautiful chandeliers and really nice variety of art pieces very well placed throughout the hotel. It's located just about the half mark in the hotel zone, with the convenience of a Bus stop, a McDonald's and a Pemex pretty much in front of it. There is also taxis just outside the lobby. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the same customary service excellence that we have become spoiled by while in Cancun. Check in was quick and efficient, we took their offer of upgrading to an ocean front suite, which turned out to be a corner suite with a large balcony a front view of the ocean and of the JW Pool. The sitting area had a large screen HD tv along with a sofa bed, a chair and small ottoman, the room was separate from this area and had the most comfortable king size bed with another large screen HD tv, a couple of night tables and floor to ceiling sliding glass door (there was the same type door in the sitting area and both access the balcony), there was also an area at the entrance of the room with a mini bar, the bathroom itself is small but the water pressure was really good and so it was the hotwater. The beach area was clean and beautiful, the water colors are so amazing, plenty of chairs and palapas, just be aware that the ocean is a little rough and have strong under currents. The pool area is again big, clean and pretty with plenty of chairs, towels and umbrellas. There is a swim up bar at the pool and if you need anything else there is always people all over making sure you get what you need. The hotel have 4 restaurants, La Capilla (steakhouse), Champions (sport bar), Mikado (japanese), and Sasi (thai), we only ate at La Capilla (which I reviewed separate) There is a gift shop in the lobby with a coffee house inside, you have to try their delicious chicken or beef empanadas, you won't regret it. My wife and I loved this hotel, it has an opulence to it, and even though we traveled in the low season for Cancun, the service was never lacking, the only reason this hotel gets a very good instead of an excellent is because a personal pet peeve of mine, they charge for WiFi and they don't even offer it for free in the common areas like other Marriott hotels where is either free or available in the common areas, but don't let my personal issue stop you from enjoying this hotel, that couple with its location and service is one of the best ones we have stayed at , and certainly one we will be coming back with the kids next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JUMACALSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,996)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Cancun Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,268 - 2,274 of 3,996 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun on Sept. 6-11. This was my first time staying at a 4-star hotel and had been in Cancun three times. I usually stay at 5-star hotel whenever I vacation in the US and internationally. CasaMagna Marriott Cancun is not bad at all. We paid $150 per night, oceanfront, with balcony and free buffet breakfast for two daily. However, our beauty stuffs got wet everyday because of a slow fawcett leak in the bathroom, the towels are sticky, looked wornout, offwhite and felt dirty. Our housekeeping lady, Merry Luz tried her best to keep us comfortable my making sure that our beauty stuffs are away from the leaky faucett, beddings are fixed and clean daily and she even organized our room. The carpet in our room has a lot of stains. Thanks Merry Luz! The greeters at the front door are the nicest hotel staff and most specially Enrique at La Capilla who made sure that we were well taken care off to the max at the breakfast buffet. Mucho Gracias Enrique!!! Front Desk personnels were nice too but the check in could have used a little faster service. One thing that strike me was when Front Desk asked for copies of our passport to keep in the files. Usually, hotel ask for a copy of your ID, not passport. The staff at La Bahia pool and ocean side service made sure we were at home by pampering us with Ice Cubano drinks. The concierge service was very helpful whenever we had questions on where to go around Cancun area, same with the front door greeters, they were extremely helpful and even gave us coupons for just about every place we go. Thanks Guys! The pool is clean and huge, the beach was swimmable, clean, nice. Our overall experience at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun was not bad at all, it was a good experience for the price we paid. I will stay there again if I need to save money for a hotel on my next Cancun vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just came back from a 7 day stay at Casa Magna. The reason for the 4 star and not the 5 is that you have to pay for wireless internet $15 per day!. A huge bummer seeing as I run my own business and internet was a must. Signal wasn't very strong when I did purchase internet. Pool was amazing. Beach was gorgeous! You can even watch sea turtles come on shore to give birth. A bus stop is located in front of the hotel which was really convenient. We had the breakfast buffet and it was REALLY GOOD! Kinda pricey so go with a good appetite. We also ate at champions. They had great nachos, good beer, and great service. Only downfall was there hard drinks were not so hard. Also check out "Fred's house" across the street. Great drinks, food, and service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is very nice, with a beautiful pool and nice beach. The service was good throughout out the hotel. re the restaurants. I had dinner 2 nights in the Argentinian restaurant and it was very good.

Room Tip: The ocean rooms are worth the additional cost.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is an outstanding hotel with a well trained and friendly staff. Excellent location, safe and with a beautiful swimming pool, the beach has suffered a bit from the hurricane but it is still charming. The breakfast is excellent and there are four good restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed the Savings the Turtles experience and the resort design. The price is fair given the many features of the property. Beware of the Thirfty Car rental office in the premises, they convert the dollar value of your reservation to pesos at $14.80 and charge you credit card in pesos which then get converted at $13.20 so if your reservation was for $250.00 you end up paying $280.30 and they will also sell you insurance that you don't need. Other than this experience, The CasaMagna has to be one of the best Marriotts of the world.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a very nice balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerT982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is much better than the modernista hotels as the entry has an expansive colonial feel. Every time you enter or leave the hotel gives you a feel of luxury. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hint: request a room on the 3rd floor as all those balconies are much larger. Room 3100 is tops with 3 patio doors, an expansive deck with views east and south, privacy on the deck and sun throughout the day or shade as you like... The small store and cafe offers a good quick breakfast alternative. The pool is big with a bar in-pool. We have stayed at this hotel four times and will not stay anywhere else in Cancun!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Venus-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a great 5 days we just enjoyed at Casa Magna Cancun. Paulino, the Director of Rooms and his associates made us feel like VIP's throughout the Hotel. Beautiful Beach (clear blue water), very nice pool area (swim up bar). Special shout out to Yolonda at the pool, best service we've ever had!! We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Room 3022 Caribbean Suite has a great balcony. All rooms on 3rd floor appeared to have larger balco...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishwpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 176 in Cancun
9,415 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,910 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
9,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $147 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing