We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be BEAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't be BEAT”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a 7 night stay on the Club 91 at this Cancun resort. We found the hotel to be well maintained. The staff was excellent and catered to our every need or request. We are already talking about going back to this location on our next trip to Cancun. I would highly recommend
this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the higher floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 630bedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,891
    849
    259
    98
    78
See reviews for
1,395
1,445
87
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were here as part of a 4 day work conference. The beach and water were amazing. The pools and bars were just fine. The hotel was good, but nothing that really stood out for decor or accommodations in general. The restaurants within the hotel were okay. Though we didn't find many good restaurants outside of the hotel either. It felt like they were just used to so many tourists schlepping through, that no one was special. HOWEVER, the hotels breakfast buffet was an awesome selection of fruits, foods, Mexican foods, juices etc. The breakfast buffet was the best part of the JW Marriott in cancun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orianarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and specially our Breakfast. We are working extremely hard in making all of our guest feel special and exceed their expectations during their stay. Please let me know when you plan to return so I can assist in making your next stay a wonderful one.

Tania Heinze
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The JW Marriott in Cancun is one of the most beautiful Marriotts we have ever visited. Even prettier than the one in Kauai, which is excellent. Gustino's table of candles made us try the same thing once we arrived home, wanting to keep some of the ambiance going after returning to the US. The pools are outstanding: quality, quiet, and tranquil. A very Zen experience. The spa pool on the 4th floor is not to be missed. A bit bothersome that one cannot utilize the steam room nor the sauna unless booking a spa experience. We stayed almost entirely at the hotel, as we are not as comfortable traveling around Cancun as we had been in years past. But there is so much to do that we did not feel at a loss. However, if you wish to travel to see some sites, the Chichen Itza tour is outstanding, as are the cenotes. Swimming with the dolphins at Xel-Ha is outstanding, with the dolphins lifting you out of the water riding on their backs. What delightful creatures. Isla Mujeres offers a dolphin experience, but it is not as involving. But, just enjoying the beach in front of the hotel is enough! A beautiful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night vacation at the JW Marriott in Cancun. I've been a loyal Marriott guest (Platinum) for years but I have to congratulate Marriott that this property is truly exceptional. The entire property is well maintained with perfect service anywhere you turn. We chose the Club 91 for our stay which made everything even more perfect. The multiple food selection throughout the day, the warm atmosphere and best of all, the delightful team who never stops make you feel welcomed ensured that we had nothing else to desire for. A big thank you to the JW Cancun Team. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GermanUS0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just completed 7 nights here. We had a fantastic time. It was extremely relaxing. The beach is exactly as expected, beautiful. Very quiet and laid back.

We ate everyday at the beach, with real plates and real utensils, not paper or plastic. Recommendation - Cancun Club sandwich. If you like club sandwiches, this version with a fried egg and avocado puts it over the top. The Beachwalk staff, Reuben and Jorge, along with everyone else were great. The pool is also very quiet and beautiful.

The bellhop staff, Erick and Manuel were so nice.

Concepcion in the spa provided a great massage. If in fact it rains, which it did for parts of most of our days, the indoor pool is quite nice as is the gym. Of note, the rain did not last very long. The most it did was for 1 hour on 1 day. The remaining days we had rain showers of 15 minutes to 30 minutes maximum, and then sun, sun, sun.

Gustino's was just ok. Having eaten here previously, it was good. It just wasn't as good as we remembered it to be.

The entire staff at this hotel were so friendly and they are not just looking for a tip.

As others have complained, the room should have a coffee machine. This is the first Marriott property that we have been to that did not have a coffee machine in the room.

The elevators nearer to the beach and pool did not always work properly. There were times when the elevators did not show and times when the elevator would go up to the 5th floor and then back down and up again, without getting to your requested floor.

All in all, we did have a great time and will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Made a mistake and stayed at sister property for a week. We can see why JW doesn't allow the sister hotel guests to use its pools. Went here to eat every night at Gustino's and what a treat. Honestly, the only good thing about our stay. The time during the evening when we dined, the resort was so upscale and elegant. Can't judge the daytime as we were next door but sure it was quiet and adults acted like adults.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myakkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Myakkalady:
I am glad that you enjoyed our signature restaurant " Gustino". We have had excellent comments on Trip Advisor during these days about the excellent service and the delicious food at the restaurant. On the other hand, I am really sorry that your experience at our sister hotel was not as good as you expected. I would like to know where you think we have opportunities of improvement so we can work on that and develop ways to avoid similar situations. Thank you for your feedback and I invite you to give us the opportunity to demostrate to you the excellent service we are always looking to bring to our guests. We hope you stay with us on your next trip to Cancun.
Warmest Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Old Beds, No Coffee Machine (In Mexico I've Stayed At The Jw In Santa Fe, Mexico With Nespresso Machines And Complimentary Cartridges, I Was Told That The Gm At Jw Marriott Cancun Doesnt Think People Needs Coffee In The Morning, I Wonder Why You Sell Perfectly Fine Full Coffee Jars , Of Good Coffee , At Your Food Outlets ) , For People Coming To Enjoy The Hotel And The Weather, Let's Say : Relax , They Have No Options At The Jw Marriott Cancun, Pool Menu Lacks Creativity, Use Of Local Ingredients And Fish, No Daily Reccomendations (Like A : Catch Of The Day Ceviche, O Mayan Whatever, Like You Find At Other Luxury Resorts) Your Menu Offered Pacific Oysters, Acapulco Style Ceviche Etc. Nothing From The Region Nor The Caribbean, No Fun For People Wanting Just To Stay At Jw Marriott, Regardless Of The Previous Food Was Good And The Staff Was Very Attentive. I Have To Give Them That Your Room Service Was Excellent Though. And Bellman Staff Are Extraordinary.

Big Turn Off For Me And My Wife: Kids Club Not Even In Your Jw Marriott Cancun You Have To Go To Casa Magna To Get This Service , So Quality Time With My Wife At The Pool: Gone.


Towel Service At The Pool Excellent, But Your Lounge Chair Cushions Were Just Plain Old.
Andrea At Front Desk Was Excellent, Manuel , Bellman Too, And All Of Your Staff , But Thats To Be Expected When You Go To Mexico , Warmth. But Warmth Without Delivering 100% In The Core Of Their Business And Especially Jw Marriott Reflects Badly On The Brand.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enjoying always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Enjoying always:

I would like to thank you for the time that you have taken to provide us with feedback about your stay with us at the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa.

Please know that we will be taking your comments into consideration regarding not having coffee machines in the room. I will also be working with our Executive Chef on some new local menu items for the Beachwalk restaurant menu. In regard to the lounge chairs, we are currently in process of purchasing new cushions for all of the chairs at the pool area. I am sorry for the inconvenience about the Kids Club. At this time we share the Kids Club with the CasaMagna Marriott, our sister property, since we have not seen enough demand to construct a second Kids Club for our two properties.

I would also like to thank you for the nice comments about our Bellman and Room Service staff. I will make sure to commend the associates in these departments for their high level of service and commitment.

I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to host you again in the future. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely,

Manuel Magana/ Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 175 in Cancun
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing