We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We recently returned from a great trip to the JWM. In the past we've stayed at the Ritz and enjoyed our stay, so, initially we were hesitant about testing out the JWM (Ritz was booked). This is our new hotel in Cancun, we had an incredible time and have already booked our return trip next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&MSuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear M&MSuss:

Thanks so much for choosing JW Marriott this year, I´m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time, More than happy to welcome you again in 2015! Thanks for your trust and loyalty.
Best Regards
Manuel Magana / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,819
    824
    256
    96
    76
See reviews for
1,361
1,401
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this property for second time and it was just if not more enjoyable than before! The location is perfect ($12 cab to coco bongo and shopping), water is BEAUTIFUL BLUE but the biggest advantage of this resort are the PEOPLE! They are polite, courteous, hard working and go above and beyond making this a MUST EXPERIENCE resort. Magali at the front desk is amazing, Lorenzo at the pool bar is so fun n willing to please,Jorge at pool/beach was young and overly kind (even turned down a tip one day) and Juan at the spa gave me the massage of my life on the beach. He knew about health and healing as I have a bad back but didn't have to tell him.

Also check out the jet ski between the Hard Rock and JW. Ask for Raphel. He speaks English and safely took my daughter n her BFF on their first ride. We were all nervous as non swimmers but he made us secure. Try day pass for $40 @ Hard Rock next door if you want good fun, dancing, zumba etc. They are nowhere near as classy,nor friendly as the JW team but its lively (u will hear music from beach)but if u can tolerate a 2 hour tour and timeshare spill the $40 is soooo worth the all u can eat and drink all day at this resort.

Overall, Marriott hit the mark with this JW. I only do 4-5 stars hotels and this measures. Also as a well traveled single mom I took 2 teens and previously took my parents and we ALL were satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank She-Ma_Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear She-Ma_Atl :
The location of the resort really allows you to access all areas, It´s nice to see you got the chance to do so! I´m glad that you enjoy your stay with us Thanks for your trust and loyalty and for noticing our staff, yes they work very hard and appreciate the recognition, I will let Magali, Jorge and lorenzo know about the wonderful comments you have made.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

A very luxurious hotel. We visited in May of 2013 and had a wonderful time. Our room was spacious and had a very large bathroom. A sliding door opened up to a balcony and I really enjoyed relaxing their with a good book, listening to the waves. The pool area is large with plenty of places to lounge and a convenient restaurant. We had excellent service. The spa was beautiful and I had a great massage. I highly recommend staying at the JW Marriot in Cancun.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King, Ocean View room with balcony and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosspiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear mosspiglets:
I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks so much for your warm comments, I´m happy that our facilities and service where what you expected. Hope we can welcome you again!
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We returned refreshed as a family from a fun filled Cancun holiday.

I have stayed in my fair share of Marriott properties but this one takes the cake and ranks as one of the best Marriott properties I have stayed in...

Large family friendly pool with kiddie pool (wading access)....overlooks pristine golden sand and fantastic waves and water.... plenty of deck chairs in the beach but one major caveat get a jump early to plonk your towels in the morning so that you can park yourself in a prime pool spot...

And now the highlight -- Club 191 access. This is their Club which is on the 14th floor and provides you 5 meals a day including Afternoon tea (:) -- Open bar in the evenings + samplers from the 8 restaurants that are onsite and at the adjoining Marriott. The concierge there allows you to do early check and provides incredible service -- Thanks Adrianna and Rosanna for looking after our travel and food needs. My family is vegetarian and we had the chefs even prepare a couple of veggie meals for my family. And finally the deserts....Completely sublime....decadent creations...and was the highlight of every meal.....Club 191 is the way to go....This is not cookie cutter all inclusive mush....its high quality food that you would spend premium prices for anywhere

All rooms with Club 191 access have ocean views as part of the package. Finally the Club can also arrange for to and fro access to the airport so thats savings of an additional $100 or so...

I am a big go out and explore kind of guy -- but with young kids it is a bit wasted. We still did our share of flea market (Market 28) shopping and ate at 2 restaurants (Thai) and (La Parrilla) in downtown Cancun. My sincere advice -- if you have young kids...Avoid all that, stay on the property, eat at the Club and shop at the airport on the way back....You are completely covered...

We wanted to go scuba and snorkeling but the waves were very high so my only counsel -- if you are inclined to do that.....do it right away rather than waiting for a convenient day....

All in all -- in 20 years of traveling around the world -- I have been to Cancun twice. I would definitely consider going to Cancun sooner than later and would definitely like to stay at the JW the next time around...

Great time was had by all and we will see you again in a couple of years :)

Room Tip: Choose the Club 191 access. This is a bit of a price premium but pays for itself many times over wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shri_Ranganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Shri_Ranganathan:
We appreciate your time in sharing with us your experience, I´m glad that you chose JW Marriott for your family vacations and that you enjoy your stay with us, Thanks for Highlighting our Club 91 designed specifically to offer a more personalized service, I will let Adriana and Rosanna know about the wonderful comments that you have made on this review.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon
Warmest Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have to preface this review by saying that I am not one for big resort properties, no matter how luxurious they are. I stayed here simply because I needed somewhere to base my trips out of.

That said everything was good here: Excellent service at front-desk, friendly staff in the various restaurants, great housekeeping staff. My suite facing the ocean was lovely, spotless, and very comfy.

The food overall however was average and rather pricey (in comparison to some of the restaurants in Cancun, where the food is better).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1337Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear 1337 Mel :
I´m glad that your experience in our resort was positive, and that the facilities and service was what you deserve and expected.
Hope we can welcome you in future trips to Cancun
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have been at this resort three times, and it is lovely. Great beach, excellent adult pool area with an exclusive bar. The suites and guest rooms are great. The staff is nice, very kindly and always do the extra mile. The buffet breakfast is awesome!!!!
Every time I went there I had the perfect time for relax, enjoy the sun, beach and have good drinks!!!!

Room Tip: Best rooms and suites are ocean view oriented. The sound isolation from the outside is great!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Federico A:
Thank you for your loyalty and trust in these 3 years, I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your time in our resort and you had time to relax, enjoy the sun and have great drinks!!!
Thanks for noticing our staff, they work really hard and appreciate the recognition
We are looking forward to your next trip to our Cancun Resort
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I don't know what to tell you. I was at this property for work/fun. The beach was arguably the nicest I've ever experienced (been all over the Caribbean). Food was top notch, service was great. Staff was super helpful and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Area is plenty safe (you can walk around if you want to venture off the property for dinner, drinks, etc). Go to Harry's and Crab House!!!! Staff will go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable at all times! Top notch!!

Room Tip: Buy drinks off property and bring a cooler with you. Will save you a TON of $. Housekeeping will eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mic R :
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience. We treasure your comments and insight.
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,630 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing