We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights, with family of four. Comfortable mid sized suite, quiet hotel for sleeping. Nice pool and ocean views from the pool deck area. There is a chair scramble as noted before 7am. After 2pm, folks start to leave and more open up. Wish they had a coffee maker in the room. Pool and beach service was great. Spa was great, and fitness center is top notch. Has a nice little deli, bakery which is always open and gives you a quick breakfast and lunch option without always dropping 25 to 30 dollars on a pastry or cereal and coffee. Very, very friendly staff. Would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,929
    863
    259
    98
    78
See reviews for
1,422
1,462
89
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriott the first week in March for 7 nights. Based on previous reviews of the hotel, I immediately asked for a higher floor room on the non-Hard Rock side. After first telling me that the Hard Rock side was preferred by most guests (wait, what?), the associate changed our original room and told us it would be an hour wait for the new room; thus, an exact 4 o'clock check in. We were not upset, just happy to get the room we wanted and we explored the hotel while we waited. Our room was wonderful, the view is better from higher up floors. The Hard Rock was not too noisy, but I am happy that we had a view of the adult pool instead of the main pool.

My husband travels frequently for work and we had platinum status the whole time we were at the resort which led to free morning coffee in the gift shop, 15% off at the Sedona Grill for breakfast, a treat upon check in, and numerous other freebies throughout the week. Marriott really does take care of their returning customers.

A couple of tips:
1. We ate at the breakfast buffet the first morning and felt it was great but pricey for how much we actually ate. Thus, we began ordering off the traditional menu and spending much less. The food was delicious and we were more than satisfied with our morning meal.
2. If you want a seat in the adult pool area, you need to get out there early. We found there was always room at the beach but the umbrella areas of the adult pool were a hot item and were usually full if we didn't arrive around 9 AM.
3. If you enjoy drinking by the pool or beach, find a great waiter (ours was Daniel) and treat them right ($$) and they will treat you right. We enjoyed talking and hanging out with Daniel all week and tipped him well and he provided excellent service.
4. If you know you will be drinking beer, the gift shop offers a six pack of domestic beer for the price of 5 beers. I think it was approximately $20. The same beer by the pool is $6 plus tip. Just something to think about.

We LOVED Mikado. The food was delicious and the service was spectacular. We also dined at the thai restaurant, the sports bar, and the italian restaurant. Thai - the food was good, the service was slightly slow, but the atmosphere is awesome. Sports bar - food was just ok, it was more of a quickie dinner. Italian was delicious but a little pricier than we were expecting, the service was a bit slow but the restaurant was very busy the night we went.

We did wish that the JW had some type of entertainment in the evening besides the singer in the lounge. We would have enjoyed a comedian or some other type of entertainment.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Cancun and felt the JW was a very quiet and relaxing resort to spend the week.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean. The Hard Rock wasn't took loud (except on concert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, MN
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from our family spring break trip. We were hesitant on traveling to Cancun and have always avoided it. But, wanted an easy, direct flight to our destination, and decided to give Cancun a try. Everything went beyond our expectations, and we have high expectations! The JW itself is stunning. I cannot say enough about the staff. From the doormen to the maid to the pool waitstaff, everyone was exceptional. Our room was very nice. We requested a high floor with an premium ocean view. We got exactly that. Big balcony with chairs and a small table. I highly recommend you eat at the Italian restaurant, Gustinos. Probably our best meal there. Hard to decide which was the best as we ate at some great places. I had no idea Cancun had such fine dining. We ate at the Japanese restaurant at Magna, and it was fine, just average. The buffet breakfast at the JW was average as well. We just ate there once. All other breakfasts were grabbed at the little deli in the hotel and taken to our cabana to eat. You must eat at Lorenzillos just 10 mins away from the hotel. It is the most fabulous seafood restaurant! Casa Rolandi was also very good. If you eat at any of these, be prepared to pay premium prices. But well worth it. We bought snacks and drinks at the hotel along with our breakfast every day, and while I never took the time to see what we were spending, it was alot. Very expensive there. Go offsite if you can. The beach was to die for. Soft sand and the water was warm. I didn't realize Cancun was so windy. It was actually nice as I don't think we ever realized how warm it was. The breeze kept us feeling just right. If you are looking for a calm ocean experience, this isn't it. Our kids (and us) loved the waves and body surfing and renting boogy boards. Hardly ever saw anyone selling along the beach. We did see them, but there weren't many and they didn't bother you at all. Lots of families here, which was what we were looking for. I was worried about the beach chair situation from reading other reviews and wasn't looking forward to getting up early to grab chairs. That was not needed at all. Plenty of chairs every day. We are a pretty early spring break (March 7th), so not sure what it's like as it gets busier. We rented a cabana for the week, and that is a great way to go. I have no negatives whatsoever about this trip. We are planing on returning in the future!

Room Tip: I think I would make sure to request being away from the Hard Rock. We were on the other side and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyrebecca1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I highly recommend not only the hotel, but the restaurants at JW and Casa Magna. The pool, rooms, view, staff, everything in our vacation was super. I did not hear any noise from Hard Rock, the hotel is peaceful, quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown,pa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our family of four returned again for spring break vacation to the JW Marriott Cancun. We have two connecting rooms, both with great views. Maybe the same rooms as the year before. Because of the kids vacations we arrived a week later. Much more crowded than the year before, really could only be noticed at the pool. People would get up between 530 and 630 to save pool chairs. This became a little annoying. The staff was all very gracious and well trained. Seems like they have a fairly high retention rate, they seem more polished than the year before. The concierge staff, was extremely gracious, but seemed to have limited knowledge of the restaurants , except for the few that they recommend.

PS We have stayed at a very nice hotel in Maui, that was very crowded, pool policy was 1 not at the chairs and your towels were removed. This allowed you to leave for lunch or quick trip to the room. The pool staff could always find space.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We normally stay at the Ritz Carlton but booked late and decided to try JW Marriott. Good choice. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived about 6:30p :( they did offer to pay for our dinner and the room was ready afterwards. We had a regular king size bed room plus and oceanfront suite - both were great! Both rooms had very pretty views - the suite had 2 balconies. The suite had plenty of space but was disappointed there was no coffee pot/service. The room attendant, Veronica was very attentive and our room always looked great. My only negative comment: terrible pillows! I ended up putting a sham cover over a sofa cushion and using that for a pillow. Pillow were VERY soft . . . Because of the bad pillow - both my son & I took advantage of a massage in the Spa :)

Room Tip: If you are finicky about your pillows - check these out before you nestle in for the night or you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I just spent 6 nights here in Cancun- this was by far the best vacation I have ever been on. The hotel was beautiful with stunning beach views everywhere! We stayed at the Club 91 level and it was definitely worth it- delicious food all day long and open bar from 6pm-10pm. Roxana, one of the concierges in Club 91, was so helpful and friendly. Almost all of the staff were happy to help and were so nice. We also got a couples massage- definitely the best massage I've ever gotten, and that was followed by two small bottles of champagne and strawberries and apples with chocolate. Also, the spa area is AMAZING- jazuccis, steam room, sauna, showers overlooking the ocean/pools, powder rooms, dressing rooms, relaxation room- it was awesome. One bad thing was that if you wanted to buy drinks at the pool/beach bars, they were all around $12 per drink, which gets really expensive. Overall, this trip was amazing and I would go back and stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,934 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing