We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
620 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

From the moment of check in at Club 91, until you depart, you will be treated in a very special fashion. This is not the club level at The Ritz, but they do what they do well. Full buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners are offered daily. Open bar at night. Rooms are crisp and fresh. The 91 experience is worth the slight up charge. Only complaint is that the Tv's in the club are only tuned to Fox News...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,819
    823
    256
    96
    76
See reviews for
1,360
1,401
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My 11 yr old son and I stayed here at the end of our trip to Mexico (the Friday and Saturday night of President's weekend) on the 14th floor in Club 91. In reading the recent negative reviews, I have to disagree. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, both at the club level and in the rest of the resort. I do think the hotel has a more staid atmosphere than other Cancun hotels, it is more closed in and feels more like a city hotel and is perhaps a bit on the formal side for a beach vacation. However, since it was the end of our trip, I found it very relaxing and a nice "fancy" way to end the stay. Our only "paid" meal at the hotel was at the pool and it was just ok, nothing to rave about. The rest of the time we ate at Club 91 which had a decent offering of food and drinks, comparable to other concierge lounges I have used. While they did not want you to take a lot of food or alcoholic beverages from the lounge back to your room we never were rebuffed when we took a "snack" to go. The room was in good shape and spacious, as was our balcony (which could have been lovely if it had a bit more than two skimpy chairs out on it). The pool was warm, clean, in good shape and the towels were abundant (big plus!). The game room in the pool restaurant is a nice touch to break up the day because there is not a lot to do on property for older children. The beach was clean, free of debris and the water was beautiful and not rough at all. They do charge extra for in-room internet which is kind of a bummer. Recommendation: sit on the side of the pool closest to the restaurant as the hotel casts a big shadow over the pool as the day progresses.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

What tremendous customer service and orientation! I noticed that there were several negative reviews regarding customer service at this hotel. With tremendous respect, this truly took us entirely off guard. We are about to leave the JW Marriott now after having spent the last 4 days here. We found that the staff at the front desk, concierge, spa, weight/exercise room, pool attendants, restaurant (Sedona Grill) - they were all almost unusually customer oriented. As an illustration, we had a rather unusual request for management at the Sedona Grill. We went to speak with them, but the manager had stepped out to the adjacent property (also a Marriott - the Marriott CasaMagna) to deal with an issue that had arisen, and would not return for around 10 minutes. We explained that this was not a problem at all, and that we would return at another time, and left. Around 90 seconds later as we were about to enter the elevator some distance from the restaurant, Alfonso, one of the managers of the restaurant, *** ran *** up to us, out of breath, apologies for not having been there when we needed him, and asked how he might be of service! We explained our request which he granted on the spot - replete with additional and ridiculously unnecessary apologies for his not having been there at the time we had asked for him.

The service was accompanied by the most warm and, at least to me, quite sincere smiles and friendly attitudes, often stopping to start a conversation with you. The hotel itself is quite nice, is beautifully situated on a wonderful beach, has a truly great pool, and no matter how busy it seemed to get (we were here from February 19-22, 2014) it was always still possible to find a couple of recliners for my us to use.

We came for business reasons but ended up having the most relaxing and enjoyable time, and would look forward to returning to this hotel and venue for a vacation in the future.

Room Tip: While all the rooms face the Gulf at least in part, the best ones are the ones at the far eastern pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the JW Marriott last week for a 2 night stay after staying at the Hyatt regency for 3 nights. The hotel was structured well and the interior was nice. We felt like we were finally at a nice resort after being underwhelmed at the Hyatt.

We had lunch at their beach walk lunch spot and I had a steak salad. 6-8 hours later I experienced severe food poisoning and did not leave the room until our departure day. It was horrible to spend as much money as the JW is and not be able to enjoy due to the food from the hotel. Would have love to have given a higher rating but my trip to Cancun was not the same and that is disappointing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We truly regret that you could not enjoy your stay with us as desired. We would like to mention that we follow the highest level of sanitation standards and that we serve a large number of meals on a daily basis without being reported of any foodborn illness. We appreciate your comments on our resort and we hope we are able to serve you again in the near future and have a chance to make your trip a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Worst customer service ever. JW Marriott Cancun failed us in every way. First we arrive at the airport to which the hotel concierge had booked our transportation for the wrong time so we had to wait for alternative transportation to take us to the hotel. Once at the hotel and attempting to check in we did not receive our guaranteed room upon check in. Then we were never offered to switch rooms even after requesting to do so. Not once but twice, the manager repeatedly ignored our request for a returned phone call. We were denied access to concierge club, told they did not offer one then found out two days into the trip that the hotel actually had one but we could do use it. We actually checked out of the hotel 2 days ago and we still have not received our final bill! We are to assume at some point they may charge our credit card some amount that is unknown without us reviewing it. Terrible customer experience.
The worst part of all is that we are "marriott rewards gold elite" members. We received absolutely no benefits or customer service or even our wake up call the morning we were scheduled to leave at 7am.... I think we need to realize that we should no longer be so loyal to their brand since they really have no intentions of rewarding loyal travelers.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what you book and pay for- they put you in anything they have available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We sincerely apologize for not providing a pleasant experience at our hotel. The failures in the service that you describe are definitely not indicative of the Marriott standards for which we are known for. We have to mention, however, that our property does not have a Concierge level but a Club 91 which offers an option to enhance our guests' experience when they choose to do so. We are reinforcing the information given by with our Front Desk personnel in order to make it clear and accurate.

We experienced a system failure which has caused delays in the billing process; we are working hard to correct it so that any pending bill is sent as soon as possible. Rest assure we have followed up all your comments with the appropriate Department Heads for immediate improvement. We do value your preference for our brand and again, we apologize for not providing the level of service that you totally deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was so excited when my husband told me that he booked a three night trip for our one year wedding anniversary.

Fortunately I had an amazing time simply because I got to spend time with him. Unfortunately the JW proved to be underwhelming at best.

The front desk staff including the concierge are rude and unwelcoming. Apparently they don't feel it is within their job description to be asked questions by guests.

The beds are terribly uncomfortable.

THE ROOM SERVICE IS TERRIBLE - I GOT SOMETHING SIMPLE - THE GRILLED CHEESE WILL MAKE YOU WANT TO BARF! The breakfast is good but it will cost you $60 each morning.

Make sure you have a big budget for cocktails!!!!! We are not cheap by any means but the price of drinks is outrageous. A bucket of 6 "Pacifico" beers will cost you 50 USD and if you want a margarita it will cost you a whopping $20 bucks - for a regular sized drink.

On top of that the hotel's system went down during our stay and as of today 2/20 (we checked out on Monday Feb 17th) it still has not come back online and we don't have a final invoice of what they will charge us.

On a positive note the view of the ocean from the balcony is beautiful and the hotel is within walking distance of several great Seafood restaurants! Try out the CrabHouse and Fred's - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that we failed to provide appropriate responsiveness to your questions during your stay; we have shared your comments with the involved Department Heads to reinforce that all our guests queries are responded in an accurate manner. We would also like to mention that we offer high quality products in all our restaurants and bars and that we conduct periodic surveys in order to maintain our prices according to our market. We apologize for the inconvenience caused from our system failure; we are working very hard to correct it so that we can send the pending bills as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice hotel, typical Marriott. The reception staff could have been more helpful. I was looking for a guest that was staying there and they said that they did dot have a reservation system and could not check? I found who I was looking for but it took a while.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapeartiststravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing