We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent 4 days there and loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I just spent a 4-night getaway at the JW Marriott in Cancun and we had an absolute blast! It wasn't perfect, but it generally met all of our expectations. It's a beautiful resort inside and out. The exterior grounds are essentially one giant swimming pool with lounge chairs lining the whole thing. Our room had a nice view of the ocean (we were not on the Hard Rock Hotel side, following another Trip Advisor suggestion), had a very comfortable king-size bed and a nice bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly and was very accommodating; poolside, they made quite sure we always had drinks in our hands if we needed them! The atmosphere there is very relaxed, which is exactly what we needed. The breakfast buffet was great, and lunch from the Beachwalk was always great, too. Dinner at the Sedona Grill was good, but maybe a bit underwhelming.

If I have any complaints, they're somewhat minor. Everything there is a bit expensive. I don't have enough resort experience to say whether or not it was all overpriced, but food and drink definitely were not cheap. Also, we had one experience with the concierge where we felt like she missed an opportunity to give a couple of Cancun novices some good advice. We had a dinner reservation at La Habichuela (which was awesome) and the restaurant is outside the Hotel Zone in downtown Cancun. A friend had told us not to worry about riding the bus while in Cancun, so we planned on riding the bus to downtown Cancun, do a little shopping and then have dinner. This is where the concierge could have stepped up to be helpful. For starters, she could have told us that downtown Cancun is a dump and that there is no shopping there. Also, she could have told us that a cab directly to the restaurant was advisable. That's what the two nice Mexican gentlemen on the bus told us anyway. The bus was a bit sketchy, and the neighborhood surrounding our restaurant was even sketchier. It all worked out fine, but we certainly felt like the resort concierge could have given us better advice there.

Overall, we had an amazing time and this resort was exactly what we needed: comfortable room, friendly staff and great food. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,362)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,274 - 2,280 of 4,362 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Despite the rain and the storm the staff at JW made our trip a pleasure. The hotel is a great location with beautifully designed pool, the beach is fantastic and staff make sure all your needs are met. Club 91 is nice but we decided against it because we really enjoyed the restaurants at the hotel and we don’t drink. The breakfast buffet is fantastic it should be tried at least once. If you are Marriott elite member Platinum or Gold do not expect free breakfast or upgrade to the club level, or use of the spa.

Room Tip: The high floor rooms facing the pool have the best views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I booked the JW Marriott for one night as a layover to fly to Cuba the next day. We chose it as it was one of few choices available through our travel agent where friends and family had kindly contributed to our honeymoon fund.

It was fine but only fine - I would definitely not want to stay longer and I don't get why people holiday in Cancun and/or choose places like this to spend their hard earned. The place is massive, kind of dated and is just another huge concrete monstrosity on the beach. Lifts were super slow, gym was very crowded and the restaurant we tried for dinner and breakfast was really just "meh". Also, you have to pay for wifi in the rooms (what is this, 1998?) which I think is ridiculous.

Pros were the view from each balcony was nice and the staff were lovely. We are in Tulum now though and the view and facilities are way better and the staff are just as great. So choose your own adventure.

If you want an all inclusive style resort with real non-Mexican, very American feel this is probably your place. Cancun and JW Marriot are not for us. Enjoy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We are very sorry that our hotel’s structure was not to your particular liking. Our resort offers luxury facilities and amenities, and we regret they were not up to your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff’s service and the view from our rooms. We appreciate all your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for a week and it could not have been better. We have visited Cancun several times before and always stayed at the sister hotel next door, Casa Magna. We just decided for this trip to try something different so we booked the JW Marriott and I am glad we did. Transportation to and from airport was great and on time. The hotel was beautiful. Our room was excellent overlooking the water. Bathroom had tub an desperate walkin shower. Several connecting pools are heated. Pool staff was super, friendly, conversant, very responsive to any need or request. Beach had great sand, lots of beach chairs and umbrellas. Located in middle of hotel zone, it was easy to get any where by bus or cab. This place just reeks of class. Only complaint would be quality of tv stations. But who watches tv in Cancun any way. We will definitely stay here on next trip to Cancun.

Room Tip: Any room above floor 2 is fine as all rooms have ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My sister is in a wheelchair and booked a wheelchair accessible room. At check in we were given a room on the 10th floor which was NOT wheelchair accessible. We were then given a room on the fist floor which is wheelchair accessible. However, whoever designed the room knows nothing about the needs of a person in a wheelchair. The shower has a very slippery marble floor and a narrow bench at the back of the shower that is so far from the shower head and the hand held faucet that it won't reach the person. This poor design could be corrected by providing a shower chair, but there is none. The bathroom also has no drawers, in an attempt to accommodate the person in a wheelchair, so the usual amenities are missing, ie the blow drier.I called the front desk to ask for a hair drier, I was told it was in the drawer to the left of the sink. Hello, there is no drawer. Anyways, an hour later no one had brought one. It took a trip to the front desk to personally complain. In addition there are no towel bars. Where are you supposed to hang up a towel? Our room is nice, but it is tucked into a back part of the hotel with no view of the beach ( only handicap room in the entire hotel with two beds). The lagoon pool outside our room is not filled with water due to repairs. This not what I expect from a 5 star hotel. It's nice, but seems awfully expensive for what you get. No coffee maker in room, coffee at the in hotel store only so so. Next vacation it's back to the Hapuna Prince Hotel in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Avoid Cancun in general if you are handicapped.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel was absolutely beautiful! The employees couldn't have been more accommodating. Pool, bar, front desk and restaurants were amazing. Juan Carlos at the spa gave the best beachside massage you could imagine. I had been to cancun 10 years ago with a friend and stayed at an all inclusive but was not impressed. My husband and I came here with another couple and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The front desk upgraded us to a partial pool ocean view even though we booked the resort view for a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Let's face it - most of us our in Cancun because of the weather and the beach. JW Marriott does not disappoint. The service is outstanding as well as the pool and the beach. The only complaint - slow elevators. We stayed 3 nights and for 2 days it rained non stop. The day we were able to use the beach it was perfect. However on the rainy days I was happy to sit on the balcony and watch the sea. The buffet breakfast was expensive but good. We also ate at the restaurant on the beach where the service was exceptional and the food good. We did not have time to use any of the spa services or the gym but spoke with others that had and they were happy with their experience. We stayed as a couple but saw many families. I would definitely pick this hotel again. If you are up for a walk the new mall La Isla is about a mile away. We were able to walk in about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a bad room but with the elevators running slow maybe a room on the first floo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $210 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing