We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience yet again at JW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for NYE and while we went in with shaky expectations, overall we were impressed. From the moment you arrive at check in to service throughout the resort, excellent staff and it felt like they really wanted you to enjoy your stay. Our housekeeping was top notch, including evening turn down service - we always tip housekeeping in the USA and in Cancun, we even got thank you notes back from housekeeping for our tips. We got in late on the 28th so ended up eating at the hotel bar, great call -- live singer with piano was fun for our kids (7 & 9), food was tasty for bar food, try the sliders for sure. Our only complaint and it's not really the hotel's fault though they should implement a policy is the time old "hog the chairs with towel" game. This starts at 6:00am apparently for the pool chairs and the ones on the beach. This is just rude guests for sure who spread out across 5 chairs and are no where to be seen throughout the day... other pools have a 1 hour policy - if you don't come back w/in the hour, tough amigo. Go find another spot and let a family who is there NOW use the chairs. We stayed at the JW Ko'Olina last Christmas and that didn't disappoint either. Cancun has beautiful beaches, the pools are warm here at the JW, and pool staff very friendly. ok, 1 more complaint - the gift shop was handy for last minute items but don't nickel and dime us for an empty cup. Prices are a little above normal resort prices but they figured they have you. We went off site for bottled water and sun tan lotion -- rip off for the lotion but get your water off property if you can. We had NYE's dinner with friends at Sedona Grill and it was a perfect buffet. Rack of lamb, carving stations for turkey, ham, beef wellington, good desert selections, fresh vegetables...limited wine selection and again, mark up was insane but hey, you're at a resort. overall, great time. Would definitely come back with the family.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a premium ocean view as I'm a Ritz Carlton elite member. Ocean views are alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cafamily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,380 - 2,386 of 4,445 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just got back from our 2nd stay at the JW Marriott. We stayed for 6 nights over Christmas. Both time we have visited we used Marriott points. Our previous stay was in a 2 room ocean view suite. This time we stayed in a smaller room on the Club 91 level. The room was relatively spacious even with 4 of us in the room. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and the adult pool from our balcony. I still can't decide if the extra amount we paid for Club 91 was worth it for our family (2 adults and 2 boys ages 8 and 6). Besides using our points, we paid $125/night for my husband and me and then another $60/night for each of our kids. The service in Club 91 was great - it was so nice to have that personal service to make dinner reservations, settle the bill, etc. the breakfasts were great and substantial. Typical American food like eggs, bacon, pancakes, bagels, fruit, etc. lunch was less substantial and my picky 6 year old son often had trouble finding something to eat. There were lots of small pre-made sandwiches and salads plus cheese and meats. There was also tea in the afternoon with some snacks and as someone else said dinner rotated between the restaurants. We were there 6 days and while Club 91 was nice, we did end up eating 2 dinners out as well as a couple of lunches at the Beachwalk as the meals seemed to be very similar. So for that reason, I'm not sure we really "got our money's worth" for the extra amount we paid. But having Club 91 there whenever we needed some water or a soda or a quick snack was very nice.

Service by the pool was wonderful and the waiters hustled all the time to get you whatever you needed. We especially liked Ruben and Daniel. Everyone who works at the hotel is friendly and nice.

As we were there Christmas week, the pool area was very crowded every day. I ended up going out at 6 am each morning to put towels down by the pool in a certain area we liked. I am not sure what it would be like at a less crowded time.

Overall the service at the hotel was wonderful. The hotel itself could use a facelift, but it is still in decent shape. The pool was very warm and large and my kids loved swimming from end to end. The beach is beautiful and my kids lived playing in the sand and waves, although the surf was quite rough.

Not sure if we'll be back again next year or try something new, but the JW is a nice place overall!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and had a terrific stay. The hotel was fully booked and since we were staying on points didn't have a choice about room location. I had requested a high floor on the opposite side from the Hard Rock (based on recommendation on Tripadvisor)but the only room available was 4 th floor on the Hard Rock side. We were assured that there would not be any noise issue from the Hard Rock but on 2 nights we had to close the balcony door due to loud music and screaming. There was also quite a bit of hallway noise since we were next to the spa/fitness center. The only other negative was that you had to get up at 6 am to reserve lounge chairs. The staff was incredible - courteous and attentive- from the waitstaff to housekeeping. We had massages and facials at the spa and it was excellent. I would return to this hotel in a flash!

Room Tip: High floor away from Hard Rock and away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddeCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is my third time to stay at the JW Marriott in Cancun...All of my trips have been virtually an identical experience. Lets get the negative out of the way first. The Front desk has improved, but we still had to wait until 6:30pm to receive all of our rooms...we booked 10 room for our entire family....so, most of day one was spent waiting on our accommodations...That was the only negative for the entire trip. Once you get past the front desk, the other employees will make your forget the negativity of the check in...The manager of the Hotel did offer us some compensation at the nicest restaurant on their property...Now for all the great things about this resort.

One of the children on our trip has a severe food allergy...to the point of being life threatening. The Food and Beverage Director, Head Chef and all of the support personnel went so far beyond any and all expectations to insure her safety...we are deeply grateful for all they did!!! words cannot describe the attention to detail and personalized service they provided....Bravo to the Food and Beverage Staff.

The Staff at this hotel are what make it so great. in the trips I have made here it is amazing to see so many familiar people still working at the JW Marriott. The management does a great job retaining their personnel and the personnel seem to truly enjoy working at this resort. The JW Marriott does provide virtually the same experience at their sister resort the Ritz Carlton...

To sum it up...this resort and the people who work there make this a top pick in my opinion...We will be back...

Room Tip: If possible as for a room with a shower only... you will have much more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schamp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our private SUV pick up was waiting for us on time as we exited the throng of tourist trap salespeople in the airport--with the requested welcome sign board with my daughters' names on them...a smooth check-in and informative bellman -tour to our room followed. Our room overlooked the ocean and the bayside (for sunsets). In-hotel food was the quality expected at a JW. The Beachwalk servers were all excellent when we were camped out on the beach all day. Concierge desk was extremely helpful all week. Housekeeping was efficient. Rebeca in Club 91 was great in explaining the Club to us--we will use it on our next stay for sure. Suggestions for even better service: integrate a better, more efficient way to charge items to the room...very laborious--especially in the deli/gift shop. It's almost 2014..an easier technology should be available. TIP: if you want prime seating on the beach or pool, be out there by 6:30AM at the latest.

Room Tip: Really check out the benefits of Club 91.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deliboypitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just came back from spending 5 wonderful nights at the JW Marriott Cancun, our second time in 2 years. It is a wonderful resort. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom has a separate shower, tub and 2 sinks. Everything is in top notch shape.
The gym is more than ample, lots of machines, and individual weights.
The pool is more of a lazy pool, if you want to swim laps, this is not the place for you. The water temperature is just perfect.
This time we rented a cabana. There are some at pool side and others right on the beach. Each is accompanied by individual chaise lounges. The bed in the cabana is enormous. Our family of 5 was able to squeeze in for a photo op.
All in all, one of our favorite resorts.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms overlook both the pool and the ocean, so there's more to look at at night when i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've stayed in hotels of all types all around the world, and never have I experienced such rude and inconsiderate service and treatment as I did here. Not only was the front desk and general staff unwelcoming and indifferent to making us feel comfortable during our 6-day stay, but a stolen property issue with the spa turned a poor trip into a nightmare. It was handled with no professionalism by the hotel and corporate Marriott will do nothing about it.

With all the places you can stay in Cancun, do not go where you are treated like ants in an anthill. I recommend Nizuc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StephCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We are well aware of the issue regarding a pair of glasses forgotten at the Spa, however, it is important to mention that when the lost glasses were reported as missing, we quickly used all the current procedures to investigate.

We took the necessary steps and provide you with response during your stay. The issue was properly filed and closed through our Customer Service Department as well. Please know that we use every source we can to ensure we provide timely response when such incidents occur. Again we are very sorry that this issue tainted your stay at your property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.5 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $237 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room at our hotel in Cancun, Mexico. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing