We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotcha rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gotcha rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Avoid the Marriott in Cancun. I made a mistake and booked a non-refundable reservation for the wrong date, realized the mistake, called them within the hour, and they will not cancel the reservation -- a very expensive penalty for such a small mistake. I will not do business with this "gotcha" hotel chain again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are very sorry that you had this incident during your on-line reservation process. However, all non-refundable rates are clearly indicated in the rates’ listing and there are several steps during the reservation process where you can confirm all your information before making a final purchase. Thus, we have to adhere to the on-line reservations’ policies but we hope that our facilities and our first class service during your stay make your impression about our hotel chain change for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,826
    827
    257
    96
    78
See reviews for
1,366
1,407
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed one night at the beginning of a two week trip and two nights at the end. We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the upgrade and welcome gift as a Platinum member. The rooms and beds were comfy, the view was beautiful and the beach was really nice. We also spent time in the pool and especially enjoyed the fact that they heated it starting in the late afternoon.

The buffet was decent and was great since it was included in the rate. I also liked that they kept breakfast open until 12 or 12:30pm. But I wouldn't have paid $30 per person for it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaniaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are Marriott Platinum and expect a lot from upscale Marriott properties -- we were very pleased with the JW Cancun. All staff members were very pleasant and courteous. A room maintenance issue was solved within 10 min of my call. Housekeeping essentially comes twice a day. The evening turndown service is more like a normal daily service. It is especially nice to come back to a "fresh" room after dinner. The Club91 staff is OUTSTANDING. Virdiana, Martha, Roxana, Adriana and all other Club 91 personnel display just the right mix of courtesy, service, personality, and humor. We were always pleasantly greeted by name on each Club91 visit. The Spa was great for relaxation and exercise. Upper level spa access is included in Club91. The outdoor services staff were also very helpful. The transportation inbound from Prestiege was the only irritant in our stay. We read several reviews about noise from the adjacent Hard Rock but never had a problem. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 14th Floor -- Low odd number
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently chose JW Cancun for our spring break destination. Lovely hotel; adjoined with Marriott's Casa Manga for many dinner options on property. Lovely pool and private beach. Room was well appointed and spacious enough for 4 with a perfect balcony view over the pool. Kids menus, easy access to transportation, and friendly service. We would definitely return to this spot for a Cancun visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine2779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having been to Cancun 5-6 times now, wanted a hotel on the main strip as I like that side of the beach better. We really liked the JW Marriott. Very good service and wonderful people/personnel. We were a little bummed that they did not have an all inclusive option but the food and drinks we ordered were wonderful. We went in Nov. 2013 and felt like we had the resort somewhat to ourselves as it wasn't over packed at all. Wonderful beach w/plenty of huts for shade. We also liked that it was pretty tranquil...vs. all the music/pool games you find at other resorts. Really good health club in the spa. Great gift shop that includes a section to get a sandwich, ice-cream, etc... Would definitely go back to this property if ok w/non-inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel and service was everything that you would expect from JW Marriott from what we could tell. My husband and I stay at Marriotts (platinum level) whenever we travel and this property did not disappoint - for the most part. Although very uncharacteristic for a Marriott property, the website did not warn that the hotel was undergoing MAJOR renovations. We would have chosen to stay at the Marriott adjacent if we had known. The JW's lobby has been relocated and is quite underwhelming. You feel as though you're checking into a Courtyard...or more like a Fairfield!! Parts of the hotel are cordoned off with yellow construction tape while undergoing renovation. The lazy river was completely closed down. There was no peace to be found within your room or the hotel during the day due to loud noise. We requested the manager on 2 separate occasions, but he was not available. We really wanted to switch to the Marriott, but since we were only staying for 4 days we gave up trying.

Again, if you go after the renovation then I am sure this hotel is at the same caliber as other JWs. Just make sure that the reno is completed (again, it doesn't give any warning on the website).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I took my 2 teenage sons here during springbreak as my husband had business conflicts and could not take the time off. I had never been to Cancun so I wanted a good safe option but I wanted to be pampered, while my boys could be off on there own on the property. We opted to upgrade our room to an ocean front suite. It was huge, with a small kitchen and table with chairs, as well as a little living room and separate king beedroom. On first blush, the room was amazing. But the longer we stayed there the place was very worn down and needed to be seriously updated. The carpet looked dirty, the couch swalled in the middle and the balconies had peeling paint and chipping plaster. The service was spotty as well. The pool area is beaustiful as is the beach, but there is very little attention payed to guests by the pool staff and the beach staff were no better. Once again, I had to be the caretaker of everything from getting the towels, pulling chairs together, searching for the waiter, on top of carrying the families supplies. This is not what I expected from a "5 star" hotel. The property is gorgeous, with crystal clear water and powdery sand beaches. The natural setting is perfect. It is right next door to a Sheraton, which is nice as it increases your options within the contained hotel properties. I just think with a little hospitality therapy with the staff and hiring some extra maintenance people to take care of the wear and tear of the rooms, it could be a 5 star property, but not yet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing