We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel with AAA 4 Diamond Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel with AAA 4 Diamond Restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is wonderful! I have a tradition of ending my backpacking trips with a 2 night stay in a really nice hotel as a vacation from my vacation before heading back home.

The 4 o'clock check in is really unfortunate, however many other hotels have that rule and are pretty accommodating for those arriving early. J.W. Marriott isnt. I must say, they definitely checked for us, but they simply need to hire more staff if they can't get rooms for people until 4 p.m. They would tell me to come back in an hour, every hour which was quite irritating. Inevitably after returning several times to the hotel check in counter as requested over the course of 5 hours, they finally had a room available at 4PM.

The room I stayed in was magnificent. It had a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea, a stunning bathroom (with a bathtub and a separate shower), very comfortable bed, clean rooms, etc. The prices for food are quite affordable relative to a five star hotel in the U.S. The staff was very nice, helpful and professional. Most of all the food at Gustino's (a 4 diamond restaurant) is wonderful!

The hotel is a family resort which meant we were able to avoid the Spring Break debauchery in the all-inclusives. Any hotel you get in the Hotel Zone means you're likely a bit out of the way of Cancun City. Fortunately there are frequent busses (once every few minutes) that you can flag outside the hotel for only 17 pesos a person will take you very quickly to the city 24 hours a day.

Overall J.W. Marriott was a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,929
    860
    259
    98
    78
See reviews for
1,421
1,460
89
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Breakfast in the morning is good as are the rooms. Had to fight the front desk for 45 minutes to get a decent room. (They try to stick you on a lower floor even when you pay the upgraded room fee) No one on property knew how to make a Daiquiri (Traditional) without instruction. Restaurants on property (and attached Casa Magna) were average and very overpriced. $4.50 for a diet coke?! In Mexico?!?

Room Tip: Go to the Ritz and get much better everything or just go to an "All inclusive" and deal wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friend and I booked a pre-Christmas getaway using the Club 91 option and for the first few days it was excellent. Transportation was provided from the airport (easy and fast), the bellboys were friendly, and the Club 91 staff were helpful and nice. We especially liked Martha and Roxanna. The food at Club 91 was very well done and our room had a great view. The resort did not seem crowded and one of the rivers near the pool was undergoing maintenance. One of the jacuzzis at the pool level was cold. The wait staff at the pool were good. We used the gym and had massages/pedicures, and were very satisfied until we both became violently ill with stomach problems the day before we were to leave. We had never left the property, and this was my fourth trip to Mexico, so the illness was unexpected. We needed to call in a doctor ($200 each and he wanted cash) and absolutely could not make our flights home. The Club 91 staff told us we had to move to another hotel because they were full with incoming reservations. This was not feasible as we were still horrendously ill. After some back and forth phone calls with the manager we were allowed to extend our stay for several hundred dollars but had to move rooms. I hope our old room was treated as a biohazard zone. Three months later, we are still trying to get our travel insurance to cover some of these costs. Shortly after returning home I filled out a Marriot guest survey explaining this issues but never got any apology from the hotel. Again, for the first few days it was great, and I highly recommend Club 91. We had a very poor ending for our trip, however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights on our honeymoon. We checked into the hotel and it felt like we were on a business trip because the hotel was stiff, corporate feeling and didn't feel like we were in Mexico or even a tropical location at all. The service was average and the room was old and tired. Our room looked over an empty pool and the service at the main pool bar was no good. Every staff member in this hotel looked bored. Would not recommend this place at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back last week from our first time to Cancun.
While I usually prefer small cozy hotels, I stumbled on a fabulous, irresistible deal on the hotel's website for Marriott rewards members. With internet and buffet breakfast thrown in, no point in looking further. The location is great for families and those not interested in hanging out with the insanity of spring break, clubs, etc, further up on the island. And even if that is your cup of tea, the buses run all the time up and down the Hotel Zone, for less than a buck each ride.
That said - the staff was lovely, the room was beautiful (the hotel is designed so that pretty much all rooms face the sea) and the food at the restaurants was very good indeed. I rarely have any complaints about hotel staff, possibly because I work hard to befriend them and appreciate them. That usually works wonders; if not, I know how to switch gears, too. I started by e-mailing the concierge with specific questions and requests and Veronica was very helpful with everything. I arranged the airport pick up by the shuttle van (a great idea, and reasonable at $16 each) and Veronica even had tips on how to avoid the crush of would be sellers of time shares who all but jump you as you are leaving the airport! The driver waited a few minutes to see if we'd get the last two of the requisite six riders, but when that didn't happen quickly, he left with the four of us.
I followed some of the advice of other TA reviewers and asked for an upgrade to a premium view. At first I was told only the suites had that and they were much more expensive, but eventually the (name forgotten) friendly staffer found two great options for us, one away from the side with the pool and Hard Rock Hotel (which is what we thought we wanted, based on reviews) and the other not. We followed her recommendation and took the pool side, based on the better view, and she was absolutely right. But note, the reason folks say to avoid that side, especially on the lower floors, is because the music from special events, and yes, there was a weekend-long wedding party, reaches way up and into the room, even with the window shut (although not too bad then). But the music (I'm told by law in Cancun) ended by I think it was 11pm, which is only a problem for the early to bed.
We were also not interested in all inclusives (offered as the Club at this hotel) because we hoped to be trying more local venues, as well. That said, we got a 25% discount on the hotel restaurants and they were really really good! Buffets are always hard for me since it is hard to eat sensibly at an all-you-can-eat affair, but we loved the fact that the breakfast included lots of traditional Mexican fare, as well as the usual (and very good!) waffles, omelette station, etc. The inside seating is very spacious and lovely and outside - well, facing the ocean again? How bad can that be? We ate at Gustino's three times, thanks, lovely hostess, Liliana! and they made three picky eaters very happy. One late afternoon early dinner/late lunch at Sedona Grill, also delicious. We also had great lunches on Isla Mujeres, and in Cuidad Cancun, so eating away from the hotel is not to be missed.
Very nice beach, didn't have a problem getting lounge chairs there or at the pool, although when it gets crowded you may not get your favorite spot, but that's okay... We looked at, but did not use the spa - it looked lovely, but why get on a treadmill when you can walk on the beach? (It would be great for rainy days, I'm sure!).
All in all a great stay at a lovely property. And Dave, the hotel rep for time share, the king of the not even soft sell but I'll sell if you are really interested sell, can provide more information in that regard. He was generous with his tips on trips in the area and we appreciated his friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thinkingglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is a bit worn, poor service (asked for bill 3x before just leaving our room number with the hostess....) and almost anti-guest (we were asked to put away out golf ball sized battery speaker that was barely audible - then they started jack hammering around the pool). Almost every night we had to endure a wedding, corporate event, etc. - no quiet evenings listening to the waves at this property. I also felt like they would not be happy until they extracted every last cent we had. I have traveled a good bit of the world and this is probably the worst value yet. Other bizarre things were the baths had doors with glass that had some frosted areas but others in the room could easily see in, so if you took a shower, etc. ...everybody out! I coud go on, but to conclude, there are a lot of choices in Cancun, do yourself a favor, pick another one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper East Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this facility and decided to upgrade to Club 91. It was the best decision we could have made. The staff could not have been any better, any more courteous, any more helpful, or any more friendly. Daily, the food offered in the Club was top notch, beautifully presented, and a wonderful variety. All portions were in a "tapas" size. The "bar" was opened in the evening for dinner and late night offerings. It was a great experience and we would recommend it strongly. We certainly would do it again ourselves.

Room Tip: Every Club 91 room is outstanding. Great views and large balcony allowed us to relax and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PandG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing