We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2nd visit - just as pleased as the 1st time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 183 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“2nd visit - just as pleased as the 1st time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second January visit and we were really pleased both times.

The biggest standout for us was the employees. They smile and greet you in a very genuine way. We feel there is a very friendly, welcoming, service oriented vibe you get from the employees. One morning we were going out for a walk and I was eating a banana in the lobby while I waited for my husband to ask a question at the front desk. As soon as I finished, a manager quickly came to take it from me and dispose of it. Attention to detail is very obvious at this property. Employees are everywhere cleaning, painting, scrubbing, etc..

Two differences I noticed from our trip a year ago. The first is that the pool is heated to a higher temperature. It was great! We were able to go in the pool after dark and still feel very comfortable. The second is that there is now a Hard Rock Hotel to the north of the JW. It's definitely a different crowd and vibe than at the JW. Strobe lights at night, Barney music from a children's activity and "Achy Breaky Heart" being sung live in a Spanish accent. We couldn't hear it if we closed our balcony door, but it definitely detracts from the peaceful vibe at the Marriott. Ask for a south facing room if this sounds unappealing to you.

We opted for Club 91. For us it was a great value. If you want to get out and try lots of restaurants, are a picky eater, or enjoy huge portions it's probably not for you.

Don't come here looking for lots of kids' activities. There definitely are children here, but they are entertained by their parents rather than organized kid activities.

Definitely try Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita across the street from the Casa Magna. We were able to make reservations on OpenTable.com and had some great seafood. The place looks like nothing from the outside but it has a beautiful outdoor, lagoon view, dining area with super food and service.

Drinks are expensive as they are at most resorts. At the pool bar we paid about $26 for two specialty drinks. Use caution.

Pool area and beach are both fabulous. Don't miss the beautiful indoor pool as well. Don't be afraid to use the bus either. It's $1 or even less if you use pesos. There are more tourists on the bus than locals and the drivers are friendly.

We'll be back. This property is wonderful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank coloparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,581
    771
    235
    87
    68
See reviews for
1,214
1,284
77
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,089 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

make sure you get a room away from the "All Inclusive resort" to the left
(on the right is another Marriott CASAMAGNA) the all inclusive can be very noisy with music and people.
we even could hear it from the Casamagna Mariott!
Lovely heaated pool (84F) and several hot jacuzzi's. (we also stayed at the Westin at the end of the hoteleria zone and everything was very cold there!)
Great restaurants, a McDonalds across the street and a hidden restaurant at the water walk through the 7 eleven type store) Moscitos! MeuterMedia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The J.W. Marriott surprised us with its top notch service, competent concierge team, and seemingly relentless desire to please. As an Platinum Elite member of the Marriott Rewards program, my partner and I have traveled to many places across the globe, staying at some of the best Marriott branded properties. We have been to several cities and properties in Mexico but not Cancun. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the JW Marriott Cancun. The staff were impressively knowledgable and eager to share what they know about the area.

Club 91 is an absolute bargain and a must-do. The quality of the food amazed us. Our first two days of our seven night vacation was less than stellar with resort restaurant prices not worthy of the quality of the food in two of the restaurants we tried in Cancun. We decided to join Club 91 on day three, for US $125 daily per room, my partner and I moved to a room on the top floor where we had access to breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner, open bar in the evenings and dessert, all served in the private concierge lounge on the 14th floor with amazing Caribbean Sea views and concierge staff whose every ambition seems to be to create the best experience possible. The dinner "presentations" each evening were of the seven different restaurants that are part of the Marriott resorts on Cancun. The tapas or small plate presentations gave us the opportunity to taste a variety of delicious entrees each evening. Truly amazing and delicious every morning breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and dessert!

We will definitely return to the JW Marriott Cancun!

PS: As for feeling welcomed as a gay couple, the staff of the Marriott treated us like every other couple there. It was nice to see a few other same-sex couples among the guests too. Great job Marriott for knowing what inclusion of everyone is all about!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerGuys2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are staying here for a short three night break. This hotel is in the middle of the zona hotellera at 14.5km. It looks impressive and has a nice spacious lobby with passageway leading to the Marriot Casa Magna next door. There is a bar with a live singer at night. It wouldn't do to be too thirsty, though as you will have a long wait. There are restaurants but we only had breakfast and so cannot comment on the food there. (There is a great fish restaurant opposite Casa Magna called Fred's I really recommend). The breakfast is good with plenty of choice, from asian to mexican and continental. There is an egg station for a wide choice of egg dishes too. They also serve a decent cup of coffee.

There is a little shop selling daily needs along with pottery, clothing etc. the gym is very good with plenty of machines and plenty of towels, water and a juice bar. Cannot comment on the spa as its not my thing. There is a lot which should be right, but somehow, isn't. The atmosphere is staid and lacking life. There is more life next door and it feels more modern, which it is, as it is newer.
Our bathroom is lovely with lots of polished travertine, glass and light wood. It is also very spacious. The bedroom is in need of modernisation. It is fine, but not up to the bathroom. We have a balcony facing the ocean for which we happily paid extra. We have made more use of this than we thought as the weather is not good and the balcony is sheltered. There are several pools, but one of the largest, under our room is being repaired.

There is an option to pay extra for Club 91 for an all inclusive deal, I am glad we didn't do this as there are many good restaurants near by.

if you want to come to a nice hotel, swim in the pool, be near walking distance of good restaurants and have a very quiet night in, this could fit the bill.

In all, a good hotel but would we come back, no way.

Room Tip: High up facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary at the JW Marriott Cancun Jan 13-18th. We had read many reviews on Trip Advisor and now wonder how anyone could write a negative review of the place. Our experience was that the property was very luxurious, the staff was incredibly outgoing, and the food was delicious. We stayed on the property nearly all 5 days, except for a snorkeling day trip, which we booked at the hotel. The restaurants were great (Beachwalk, Mikado, Sasi Sai). We especially enjoyed ordering lunch from the Beachwalk poolside every day. The gym was really nice and never over-crowded. The indoor pool was great for laps. The bed was really comfortable. Every JW Employee was happy and helpful. The only negative I can point out is the prices of food at the on-site restaurants and gift shop, though this is on-par with other resorts I've been to (non-all-inclusive). Also, the breakfast buffet at Sedona Grill was awesome. We had a great time and definitely hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just got back from spending 9 nights at this hotel, yes hotel, NOT resort. I was utterly SHOCKED after my experience here that they had received the AAA 5-diamond award in 2012. In my humble experience (having worked for the Four Seasons Hotel brand), this place should not have received even 4 diamonds! Our check-in experience was one of the worst. We were arriving to Cancun around 1pm, so being as we were traveling with a toddler, I knew to call ahead and request an early check-in and for our minibar to be emptied out. We arrive.....NO ROOM READY. OK, fine. They weren't even at 50% occupancy, but again, ok, I'll deal.They said an hour. We'll go grab lunch.
We ate lunch poolside. The food was nothing to remember. It was certainly edible, but not a step above that. After eating, we asked for our check so we could get back to the check-in process and get our kid down for her nap. After 15 minutes of waiting, we asked again. Then again. 30 minutes went by and finally our check arrived. We go back to the front desk.
I ask about our room situation and this is the woman's response, "It is going to be an hour. We'll send a maid now." Well, we have already waited the hour we were told to wait. We go and puts around on our iPads in the lobby and I go back an hour later AND GET SCOLDED BY THE GUY AT THE FRONT DESK FOR INQUIRING! He hands me the keys in such a rude, abrupt way, I had to confront him and ask why! We were never told how to get our luggage that had been checked when we arrived, we were never told about any of the amentities of the hotel. When I asked, he again RUDELY, pointed to the bellhop and said, "Over there!" In the states, this man would no longer have a job. If I have EVER treated a hotel patron like that, I would have been fired on the spot. I never complained to the manager, but there were enough of his colleagues around for someone to step in.
We soon came to find out that really NO ONE at the hotel is taught to smile or be friendly. The door staff were great, the lounge singer was amazing, but aside from them, the waiters at the pool were unfriendly, the people in the gift shop/deli were THE WORST, and the concierge was utterly unhelpful (we tip well, so we knew it wasn't that).
On to cleanliness......I think the housekeepers do the best they can. It appeared they were understaffed because we only had them clean our room every other day and they never got to it until very late in the afternoon when we were returning from the pool. The jacuzzis had a file (I took photos) that made you want to puke. It was like a yellow bubbly substance. SO gross! The pools, the bathrooms, the everything just needed a major facelift, probably a few million. Eeek. OH-----you like sleep?? You won't sleep here. The beds must be from 1970 and they put a down comforter on the mattress to make it appear "plush." No thanks.
I would never....and I mean NEVER ever go back to this place. I would suggest you look elsewhere if you are even considering it. I understand it sounds like a cheaper option when not doing an all-inclusive (we couldn't commit to an all-inclusive because we like fine dining and variety), but expect to pay $10 per beer and then some. The food options for lunch were pretty terrible, so we would opt for the deli and spend $11 on a bag of Lay's potato chips. We would have been better off doing a super new contemporary all-inclusive and still eating out every night. Oh well, you live and you learn, but if I had read an honest review like this one, we would have never booked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Darragh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are really sorry that your particular experience at our property was so far from the service we are known for and we sincerely apologize for this. We always do our best to check-in our guests before the 4PM check-in time, but sometimes this might not be possible, especially during peak season. Our guests have always praised our Associates’ friendly and attentive service; we apologize that your impression was completely different; we have forwarded your comments to the involved areas to make sure a prompt and kind service is performed at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love Cancun and always stay at either the jw or casa magna Marriott. They are in a great location, right across from the aqua world water sports facility. The jw has a very nice scuba diving pool where you can do a resort course or refresher. And the staff is top notch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanandKellyVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.5 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 183 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing