We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay again”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful service. Everyone here is top notch. Our 6th year. Germain our front desk person was quick to realize we were platinum members and offered us an upgrade. When a wedding disaster caused us not to get in our room timely, Germain worked to get us the right room. The pool chairs are very old and we have been told they are getting replaced this year. A much needed upgrade. Also the pool bar needs upgrading too. But the service is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,935
    863
    259
    98
    78
See reviews for
1,424
1,464
89
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay in many five-star hotels/resorts and tho this property is lovely, it does not compare favorably with those. Stayed on the Club 91 level and surprised to find I still had to pay for wi-fi, there was no dvd player in my room, was never given key to the honor bar. Since the club is supposed to provide the highest level of service, i was a bit perplexed.

The concierges on this level are lovely and very helpful but when i booked a catamarran tour through a company i found on this website, they did not advise me that perhaps this would not be the best way to go. After, when they asked for my feedback, I told them of my disappointment with the tour and then they gave me suggestions which I would have appreciated prior.

One last issue-the front desks both in the lobby and on club 91 never had dollars to break a twenty. I've never encountered this in any other Mexican hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roxann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My stay at JW Marriott Cancun was awesome. I booked a Club91 room, and although this hotel doesn't have an all-inclusive package, this Club91 is almost there. They have breakfast, lunch and an open bar from 6pm to 10pm.
The hotel is very luxorious, but very friendly.
I totally recommend.

Room Tip: Club 91 is almost an all inclusive deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
847 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week-end recently and would definitely go back. the breakfasts are simple and generous and the rooms are spacious, clean, quiet.
One of the restaurants was closed for renovations. All rooms face the ocean. The pools are fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We travel to Cancun every year in the early spring. We've stayed in MANY of the resorts there, and continue to try new ones, as we travel with friends and everyone makes choices. Some, of course, we like better than others. Almost every year though, WE stay at least a few days in our favorite, the J.W. Marriott. We feel like we've come home when we arrive!! The facilities are absolutely gorgeous. The staff is knowledgeable and polite, the entire place is spotless, and beautiful. The beds are super comfortable as well. NOT all inclusive, but that works for us, as we know the area well and have restaurants that we like. The indoor pool and spa is a big plus as well!

Room Tip: Two words, Caribbean Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Visited hotel first week of Sept. and very average stay. Ice machine was never fixed the entire stay. No coffee maker in the room! One restaurant on property for breakfast and lunch gets old real fast.
Never one mention of turtles nesting on beach in any of hotel literature! Walking on beach at night ran into several turtles nesting. Very COOL!!

Room Tip: May want to ask for North facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here last October, for my sons wedding.
Hotel was superb in every way you can imagine. Most of the rooms face the ocean, with its own private sandy beach.
Waves a little choppy at times, so kids didn' t spend much time in the sea, but they didn't miss it , as the pools were fabulous.
We had poolside snacks at lunch time, and went into town for dinner.
Cab ride was inexpensive, and we even used the local busses to get to town, which stopped just outside the hotel. All very safe and reliable.
As for the wedding, we used the facilities of the sister hotel, Casa Magna.no complaints whatsoever there either. Both hotels are side by side, and if you stay at the J W marriot, you can use facilties at both hotels.
I highly recommend either hotels especially if you are travelling with children.
Unfortunately the italian restaraunt was not open during the off season , so we never tried it.
Breakfast was served as the Casa, great buffet , with mexican touches too.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliekass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,936 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing