We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour!!!”
Review of Make Your Own Tour

Make Your Own Tour
Ranked #27 of 321 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In Make Your Own Tour we help you plan your vacation to the fullest in the Yucatan peninsula, with different activities such as archeological sites, natural wells, reservoirs, bays, eco-parks, etc. Our experience as tourist guides, lets us know what is best for you and your family. Also we do Private tours to Chichen Itza, Tulum, Coba, Ek Balam. Tour privato in italiano. Visite privee en francais. Privat-Tour in Deutsch. We can help you in different languages, just ask us for your language. Private tours in Cancun Private tours in Playa del Carmen Private tours in Tulum Visite privee a Cancun Tour privato in cancun
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Nefi is a WONDERFUL tour guide. From the first time I contacted him, he was very responsive and helpful. He helped to plan a tour around our budget that worked with our schedules. We were even able to add another two couples to our tour last minute (we were in Cancun for a wedding) and Nefi was very accommodating! We toured the ruins at Coba, swam in a Cenote, and then added on a stop at Akumal last minute to swim with the sea turtles. It was an incredible trip.

Everything was planned wonderfully. We arrived at Coba before large tour groups, where Nefi had arranged for us to have bikes to ride around, and he did a great job of timing out his stops at different sites at Coba so that we weren't around huge crowds. He gave us plenty of time to climb the huge temple at our own pace. We stopped for a Mayan buffet lunch (also included in the tour), and then went to the cenote. If you have never been to a cenote, you must make sure to have Nefi take you! After the cenote, we had asked Nefi if he knew of a place to swim with sea turtles, and he stopped at Akumal on the way back towards Cancun for us to check it out. He had snorkeling gear all ready for us, and even hung out on the beach watching all of our stuff as we were in the water.

Nefi has extensive experience as resident tour guide at Tulum and has spent pretty much his whole like around the ruins. He also has an educational background relating to Mayan history, so he is incredibly knowledgable. He is fun, personable, trustworthy, timely, and a very great driver. Also, his English is excellent. I would definitely recommend him for any type of tour you're interested in doing in the area (he's also a master diver for those scuba fans out there, and has lots of options for helping to create the dream tour for anyone!). So glad we booked this for our vacation!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nephi (the owner) was great! We started out by being picked up in a comfy climate controlled van and drove to the Mayan Ruins. Nephi was very knowledgable and gave just the right amount of IMHO and was able to answer any questions. We rode bikes at the site which kde the ruins go a little quicker which I def liked! We then traveled to the Cenote which was breathtaking! My husband evn jumped from a 20 foot drop into the water. It was magical. Then not planned on our tour, we asked if he could take us to swim w th sea turtles at Acamal beach... He had snorkeling gear and fins ready and watched our stuff as we swam out from the beach to see huge sea turtles and sting ray.
It was a great day and I highly recommend this company for any of your tours!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetlaCancun, Propietario at Make Your Own Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
thank you very much for your comment, we are here to serve you on your next visit and feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardston, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely one to try”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

If you are looking for a custom tour to see and do the things that fit your interest and time schedule, then I would highly recommend contacting Nephi with Make Your Own Tour. He was a very friendly and knowlegable guide who arranged everything we had inquired about, meeting and then exeding our expectatioins. He thought of every detail from lunch to bikes at the Coba ruins. The Cenote was beautiful and the snorkeling amazing. Arrangements were made one day and the tour the next. It was a very personalized, private tour that made for great memories.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetlaCancun, Propietario at Make Your Own Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
thank you very much for your comment, we are here to serve you on your next visit and feel free to contact us. Now you know, you have a friend in this part of Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mormon history like no other!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Lemuel made the trip an amazing adventure into the Book of Mormon. With his knowledge and testimony he enlightened us all with insights other commercial tours would have over brushed over as the hurried you along on their time table.
We set the pace, we controlled the tempo and Lemuel accommodated our every desire. I would recommend anyone looking for a broader knowledge and a completely devoted guide. Contact ldstour.com...

Ross & Becky Baldwin
ExPat that live in Cancun!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank RossBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetlaCancun, Propietario at Make Your Own Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
thank you very much for your comment, we are here to serve you on your next visit and feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it! - We'll be back”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were on a Western Caribbean cruise and hired Nefi to take us to the Tulum ruins instead of booking the excursion through the ship. We're so glad we did. He took great care of us and we had a much more personalized experience than we would have otherwise. Playa del Carmen was beautiful, and we would love to come back. We would book any future excursions with Nefi in a heart-beat. Loved it!

P.S. It's really hot in June - over 90 degrees and 85% humidity.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank suzGalexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetlaCancun, Propietario at Make Your Own Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
thank you very much for your comment, we are here to serve you on your next visit and feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Make Your Own Tour also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Make Your Own Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing