We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good stay, clean, safe and good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Cancun Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Cancun Centro
Ranked #70 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good stay, clean, safe and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I think this hotel fulfill the essential, clean, safe and good service.

The room was clean and functional.

They have valet parking. In the same building you have supermarket, a restaurant and a Boxing training gym but they are not part of the services in the hotel. I think is a good the price even though in the same ibis group exist hotels in other mexican cities with best price.

The staff were nice every time I asked for something.

Good location if you have more plans not only visit the cancun beaches. The hotel is in a quite location. It is a executive service so do not expect a pool. Which is not far away is the downtown Cancun, but I think it is about 20 minutes drive.

I took a quiet room and I think the other rooms are in the same comfort. There are not much cars in the avenue in front of the hotel.

I could say that it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: I took a quiet room and I think the other rooms are in the same confort. There are not to much cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    306
    195
    50
    47
See reviews for
105
291
95
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca, Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is kind of new, the location is ok, you're not where the attractions are but you're kind of near, there's a mall in front of the hotel and a mini Walmart in the lobby. It doesn't have a pool though, the breakfast is just $85 pesos and I think that is cheap if you're in Cancun.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ludi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here whilst in transit. Hotel has good internet, cable TV, good showers, aircon and there's a mall close by if you need to pick up some stuff. That's about it. Otherwise it's paper thin walls, overpriced and not very good at all (even for a business hotel) restaurant and really not very clean. The sheets were stained, I found a couple of little black curly hairs in pretty prominent places in the bath room and the surfaces were not properly cleaned. If you've been backpacking and just want to have wifi and a hot shower, stay here. I'll be back in Cancun in transit in a couple of weeks and certainly won't be staying at Ibis! Better off staying near the Central bus station as the bus is $6 and a cab is $50!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeastMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCancunC, Gerente at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Cancun Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
The ibis brand is internationally recognized for its quality services coupled with excellent cost/benefit relation and its always strategic location, allowing competitive rates.
In ibis there is the more direct participation of the guests during their stay, generating a more relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, with some differences. The room service was replaced by a convenience store that operates 24 hours a day, offering snacks and refreshments. The luggage is taken directly by customers to the apartments via carts available at reception. To ask for extra towels or pillows, just go to the reception and get them with one of our attendants.

thank you for your attention and we are at your disposal in your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

In-Room Pros: High Speed Internet provided by Lusacell. 39 Mbps downloads and 5 Mbps uploads.
Central Air Conditioning Unit
Cable Television (24 in Flat Screen)
Hot Shower (Overhead Shower Head)
Security (Need Room Key to Access Your Floor in Elevator Cabin)

In-Room Cons:
No Fridge, No Microwave
No Ice Machines on Floors, Hence No Ice Bucket
No Toiletries (hand soap and shampoo dispensers provided)
No Coffee Maker
Room is really tiny, tight fit for a couple w/ luggage.
No Balcony
No Open Window Access
Found previous guests hair in shower, sink and on linens.
Television remote was sticky.
No In-room Safe!!! (Remember the front desk incident)

Lobby Area Info:
Check-In took about 15 minutes. The front desk person was not organized and issued me a booked room. If not for the security latch on the door I could have walked right into a room with two unsupervised children. I respectfully apologized and proceeded to walk back down to the front desk. The two front desk persons argued with each other and eventually reissued me another room... across the previous room. Awkward since the childrens Father arrived and proceeded to give me an uncomfortable glance.
There is a on-site restaurant. It is convenient but the food options are limited. Across from that is a bar area that serves beer and cocktails.
I noticed a few prostitutes doing the rounds in the lobby area after 8PM.

Amenities:
No Pool.
No Sauna.
No gym.
There is an Ado office just outside the hotel to book bus or private transportation.
The valet person can call a local taxi for you. Two Hundred Pesos will take you to Zona Hotelera.
You can print a boarding pass at the business center.

Bonuses:
There is a Walmart just outside the hotel. Very convenient for toiletries, drinking water, snacks, ice, beer and wine. I purchased a styrofoam ice chest for six dollars, I highly recommend it.
Plaza Las Americas is across the street for shopping and a Cinema for entertainment. There is a Crossfit gym a few blocks down if you want a vigorious one hour work out. The Dubai Casino is across the street. 10 minute drive from Cancun Airport. There is a Police Station across the street so if you are worried about safety.

Recommendations:
Yaxchilan Avenue, authentic food and vibe. The beers are half the price from the hotel zone and great place to meet real people of Cancun.

Overall, Budget hotel without the resort fees and never leave valuables in the room while you are out.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the lagoon and Plaza Las Americas. The rooms are tiny. if you are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintana roo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

IBIS HOTEL is next to the largest mall in Cancun perfectly located .hotel is a budget reasonable .... , It has a Piola Argentina Restaurant in front open late and has super pizza and food.. Really Practical!.. The Ibis hotel has a Superama Wall Mart in its plaza which has many american foods one cannot find elsewhere..like good tasting butter..amazing foodstuffs..also walk to the mall theatres ... speak english and get understood in this hotel.....internet is fast too....they have a cafeteria in the lobby.....the area is called 15 the best area in Cancun besides 17..safest with a police dept down the street.The IBIS is a very . very clean hotel ...it is on all bus routes to and from the airport.......all taxi's stop near there and shuttles..... you will love this little gem...

Room Tip: Get an English speaking person to book you...no mistakes then....all rooms are good because of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itala333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A very nice hotel with clean rooms. The front staff is a little bit weak in english, so you should better can speak spanish. There is a small walmart in the hotel, a rental car station and an Ado office, all very pleasant. The rooms are very clean, but a little bit small. By car it is 15 minutes to the airport or the beach and 5 minutes to the city center. They have 2 restaurants in the building and some more nearby. The breakfast was nice, even some mexican style breakfast. The right hotel to make a city trip to cancun, but not the right place to go to the beach. You should not pay more than 50$ for a room. Otherwise there are other hotels for a better price.

Room Tip: Higher level with a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent value for money and very friendly staff!
Thanks to our Accor membership we got an extra discount.
We got a room with view on the Laguna.
Later that day we visited friends who were staying in a hotel on Kukulkan Blvd. The Ibis is way much more value for money & better view, also close to the beach.
No noise from the boulevard on 6th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for view on the Laguna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#34 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oasis Smart
Oasis Smart
#42 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#85 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#56 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Express Junior Cancun
City Express Junior Cancun
#119 of 180 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#79 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Cancun Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Cancun Centro

Property: ibis Cancun Centro
Address: Av Tulum y Nichupte, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Cancun Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Cancun Centro hotel is located in the city's largest commercial and financial district, a short walk from Las Americas shopping center, just 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the crystal-clear Caribbean beaches of Cancun. The hotel offers 190 modern and comfortable rooms, the "Rendez Vous" restaurant and a bar with a 24-hour snack service. There is free Internet whether you're on business or pleasure, parking and access for people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your ibis Cancun Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cancun Centro Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing