We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, better IBISes elsewhere”
Review of ibis Cancun Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Cancun Centro
Ranked #138 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average hotel, better IBISes elsewhere”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had expected a standard IBIS experience having stayed in IBISes in many countries. This one was a bit disappointing though. The room was clean but the bed quality was bad. The towels were terrible. They looked like they were a few years old. The front-desk staff although friendly didn't speak a lot of English. The breakfast wasn't anything great and you have to pay MX100 for it. I only stayed for one night. So, it was bearable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prav211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCancunC, Gerente at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel, all our linen in changed regularly and we will check on this with our inventories to take action and avoid this situation in the future

Hope you can see the difference in your next stay, have a nice day

M. Rodriguez
GM Ibis Cancun centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    425
    255
    78
    73
See reviews for
148
427
136
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Köln, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here twice, once for one night, and again for three more a few nights later. This hotel is good Ibis standard, quite new still. The location is in downtown Cancun (as much as there is a real downtown), so if you want to stay near the beach, this is not the place to go. Across the street (although be careful when you cross, there are no traffic lights, pedestrian crossings), there is a huge shopping mall, which is probably the biggest attraction in this area of Cancun. The rooms are Ibis standard, I was happy to be put in the eighth floor but it turned out to be quite noisy up there, as there was a generator or ventilation that kept on running all day and night. The hotel offers free internet everywhere including in the rooms and it was quite fast. Breakfast was quite nice. But what really annoyed me is that they offensively offered free breakfast for internet bookings (big red button on the booking website), which they did then not honour when I was there. They told me it was a special rate (which it wasn´t, just their standard rate on the website). During my first night I was just handed a breakfast voucher, during my second stay (same rate), they simply refused to. When I check now, it still says "FREE BREAKFAST" for online bookings when I want to book a room there, but when checking the rates, there is no rate actually including breakfast. I found this very misleading and this really put me off. I don´t mind paying 5 bucks for breakfast, I just don´t like to be lied at. Well, this was just a personal negative experience, other than that it is a typical Ibis hotel like all over the world.

Room Tip: 5th floor was much more quiet than 8th floor because of some ventilation or generator. Avoid rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCancunC, Gerente at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. we already make a note about this information that seems confused foy you, it is important to us that all information will be as clear as possible; in Ibis there is not surprise and you have the options of select with breakfast included or not whenn you make your reservations in our web site ibishotel.com

I hope you give us the opportunity to serve again and see the changes we made,
sincerely,

Martin Rodriguez
GM ibis cancun centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there two times. One night when we arrived and one night 12 days later, when we left Cancun. We stayed mainly because the Volaris Airline Shuttle service has a little office next to the hotel.

Our first room was very clean and in proper working condition. It really reminded me of IKEA. They don't offer individually size toiletries. Instead, they only offer a hand soap dispenser thingy mounted on the shower wall and on the sink wall. Not a big issue, since we brought our own.
The AC worked and we had good water pressure.

Our second room was pretty beat up. The door in the bathroom was corroded and oxidized. It was very clean. The AC worked and we had good water pressure.

The morning breakfast was actually pretty good. They had a good selection of fruits, cereal, bread, etc. The first time they even had carne al pastor. We added the breakfast when we booked the hotel. It was worth it.

Overall it was pretty good. It was across the street form Plaza Las Americas and there's a mini Walmart in the same building. VERY convenient! I would recommend staying there but not for more than a couple of nights, unless you don't plan to be in the room except for sleeping. I probably would not stay there long term.

We went across the street and paid 160 pesos each way to get to Coco Bongo in the hotel zone. They will try to charge you more. DON'T fall for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city or lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizluvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked online showing price of $42. cad and FREE breakfast. I was charged $45. after they tried to charge me over $50. and then they tacked on $95.mx a day for what was said to be a free breakfast. Also when I checked in I wasn't sure I would need to stay the whole 18 days, the receptionist stated they would refund the extra pre-paid days, now that I ask to check out early I'm told my special room rate is non-refundable. Then the amenities are super non existent. Nothing in the room like a Clock, Coffee maker, glass, toiletries, ice machine avail, room service... and 2 tv channels that just repeat same 4 shows all day long and same episode. Cancun has many choices be careful.

Room Tip: No amenities in-room at IBIS
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PEye2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCancunC, Gerente at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear PEye2013,

We are aware now of the situation and haved contact our channels of distribution (reservations) in order to make sure information will be as clear as possible for our future guest, please accept my sincere apolologies if the infomartion given by third parties was not as clear as you expected

I can assure you we charge only what it shows in your reservation, with the special price and conditions you request; above all we made an effort to fullfill your request and give you -50% discount off on your stay

I hope you give us the opportunity to serve again, our direct reservation channel is open in ibishotel.com. thank you for your visit
Sincerely,

Martin Rodriguez
GM Ibis Cancun Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the Ibis for 9 days to be close to a family member who was in hospital down the road, so it wasn't exactly a vacation; nonetheless the hotel staff made sure I had everything I needed. Nothing was too much trouble, the reception staff happily translated for me when booking a tour (and then cancelling it the day after), quickly resolved an issue with my room telephone and advised on what I should pay for taxi rides. The buffet breakfast was tasty and abundant, and cost around $7 a day.

Food options are abundant. The bar is open 24/7 for light refreshments, there is a licensed pizza restaurant on the premises and a supermarket is open for extended hours. Across the road is Plaza des Americas, a shopping centre with the lot, including high end and budget retailers and the most amazing array of selections in the large food court.

You can book day tours through the hotel to Chichen Itza, Tulum and other locations on the Yucatan Peninsula. Late checkout (1pm) is standard, this may be typical of all hotels but it was nice not to have to rush on the last day.

While the Ibis is not in the actual 'hotel zone' it is a short walk to nice restaurants and the beach. Taxis are always on hand and are very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: My room was 606, it was at the back of the hotel with a nice view of the residential area of Cancun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Words_by_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The best ubication, best service, the hotel looks like a 5 star, its 10 min to the beach, there is an excelent italian restaurant, in the same building an a supermarket, i look forward to go again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Honestly , I do not know how people can give a five star review of this hotel . Ibis Cancun it is just a mediocre Hotel.

Rooms . Extremely smaller than any Ibis in Europe, lines, towels, blankets, pillows , very old and ready to be recycled . Room and overall construction very Nosy you can hear conversation of people when the open the door in the elevator

Bathroom : the door of the shower leaks water all over the floor of the bathroom

Breakfast: although. You can barely eat it, is not presentable and seems the chef worked in one of the food stands in 28st market in Cancun. cafe tastes like leftover of yesterday coffee.

Parking lot the charge you per day but still you have to pay the valet parking they have

I feel like other customers really disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCancunC, Gerente at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Daniel V.

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia en nuestro Hotel, sus comentarios son muy valiosos para poder generar la mejora continua que pretendemos.

Estamos tomando las medidas necesarias para mejorar la calidad de nuestras instalaciones y servicios, espero nos de la oportunidad de visitarnos de nuevo y que Usted pueda constatar estos cambios en un futuro proximo

Gracias por su preferencia,

Cordialmente

Martin Rodriguez
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#47 of 175 in Cancun
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Express Junior Cancun
0.5 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 175 in Cancun
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suites Villa Italia
Suites Villa Italia
#121 of 175 in Cancun
20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Cancun Hotel
Colonial Cancun Hotel
#126 of 175 in Cancun
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#87 of 175 in Cancun
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Cancun Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Cancun Centro

Property: ibis Cancun Centro
Address: Av Tulum y Nichupte, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Cancun Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Cancun Centro hotel is located in the city's largest commercial and financial district, a short walk from Las Americas shopping center, just 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the crystal-clear Caribbean beaches of Cancun. The hotel offers 190 modern and comfortable rooms, the "Rendez Vous" restaurant and a bar with a 24-hour snack service. There is free Internet whether you're on business or pleasure, parking and access for people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Cancun Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cancun Centro Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing