We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mb is a Five Star Restaurant at Live Aqua Hotel -- Delish!”
Review of MB

MB
Ranked #10 of 957 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mb is a Five Star Restaurant at Live Aqua Hotel -- Delish!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Chef Eric De Maeyer is the master craftsman behind Mb Restaurant in the Live Aqua hotel, where I recently vacationed with two of my best friends. Shortly after our arrival on March 26, 2014, we had the opportunity to meet Chef Eric who most graciously invited us to be his guests at Mb that coming Friday evening. When we arrived at the appointed time, we were enthusiastically greeted by Chef Eric and ushered to our table, which was located adjacent to the front of the kitchen. Chef Eric then introduced us to Eli and Oswaldo, and instructed them to take wonderful care of us which they did! Even before we had one bite of food, we felt that the the service and attention of the Chef and the staff to guests was amazing. Eli brought over delightful appetizers, and Oswaldo was right behind with mango cocktails for each of us and freshly-baked bread. Chef Eric had prepared for us a fabulous meal of filet mignon and lobster, with mushrooms and potato which was to die for! Eli recommended perfect wine pairings to accompany our meal, and Oswaldo was incredibly attentive to us. We really felt like movie stars! Our dessert was a chocolate heaven, and could have been photographed for hanging in an art gallery! Our heartfelt thanks to Chef Eric, Eli and Oswaldo for making us feel so special and spoiling us so! :) We loved every minute of it. After that evening, we returned two additional times to enjoy Chef Eric's fabulous Habanero Cream Soup, and sample several of the other entrees. Each dish was so delectable and so artfully decorated with edible garnishes, that we couldn't help ourselves and we took pictures of each plate as it arrived. Complete food porn! Great big kudos to Chef Eric and his wonderful staff, including Eli and Oswaldo, for making such lovely and memorable evenings for us. We will definitely return to this wonderful restaurant and hotel, and look forward to seeing these lovely people.

Marianne C., Erin B. and Jenny L.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    78
    38
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is one of the restaurants in the Live Aqua resort. The entres are so so, but definitely go for the appetizers and service!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Normon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“MB: Fine Dining at an all inclusive resort”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have eaten at MB's on numerous occasions over several years. Our most recent meal there was 4/08/2014. We have never been disappointed. The kitchen is open to the dining area, very clean with an upscale restaurant look. The ambiance is amazing and the service is excellent! The executive chef, Eric De Maeyer oversees this restaurant along with head chef Fernando who ensure that food quality and appearance are great!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Birthday Celebration Dinner”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Chef Eric and his staff are outstanding! They take such pride in their food and service. Each course we were served was better than the last. And the special birthday dessert creation they served our group of 12 was delicious and a true work of art. One of our most special evenings in Cancun!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cttexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank you, Chef Eric!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Delicious...all of it! Habanero soup, lobster, chocolate souffle, chicken...the list goes on & on! Much love to you, Eli & Oswaldo.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MB also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing