We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
GR Caribe by Solaris
Ranked #26 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was very impressed with GR Caribe! The hotel was in great shape and the service was great! They had many options to choose from for food and drinks! The hotel was beautiful and felt more personal than the large hotels surrounding it. Plus, the larger sister hotel next door was great because it offered additional dining and entertainment options while still allowing you to return to a smaller, less crowded hotel.

Most of all, the customer service was great!! Everyone working at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Alberto was extremely friendly to us and very skilled at his job (he makes great drinks served on fire!!). Also, Toño was very helpful and nice!

Also, the spa at the sister hotel was wonderful. My boyfriend and I received a couples massage which included hot-tub time and sauna time and loved it (just make sure to arrive early to get time in the sauna)!

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our staff specially Alberto and Toño.
We hope to see you back in a near future !

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 3,262 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Impressed with the room size and set up. Gorgeous hotel, not crowded at all, food could have been more authentic and flavorful. They should stick to the basics and do it well rather than trying to be fancy and having imitation "international" food. Pool area only played muzac and bingo, definitely could have been more upbeat, but they probably have it that way to prevent it from being over ran by trash. Very classy and beautiful overall, loved the 24hr room service and the ability to go to the sister hotel next door to dine as well. Wish the dining options were better but I think it was as good as it gets for all inclusive. However, we did enjoy the breakfast buffet at the Hard Rock Hotel which was way better, fresher with lots of tasty options as well as the Mexican buffet at Xcaret that was to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moniluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know your stay with us was pleasant.
Your opinion is important to us, we will inform our General Manager about your suggestions.
We hope to see you back in a near future !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very nice accommodations and very attentive staff. Beautiful scenery. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel. The sister hotel next door was fun to go to with a different, louder vibe. Adriana at the Concierge was super helpful and sweet. Tony at the towel shack was extra friendly and nice. We enjoyed the hotel, the food, and the people. We took advantage of all the restaurants at both hotels so we never got tired of the selection. Plus the restaurants changed their menus daily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially Adriana and Tony. We hope to see you back in a near future !

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice and very clean. The beach is very nice but the water is rough; difficult to swim, always big waves. The variety of the alcohol is one of the best. This hotel and GR Royal hotel (what is next to it) belong to the same owner. The advantage is you can eat at both places. The food is very good. Everything is at the Royal though; the entertainment; the SPA; the Internet. The negative point there is no Wi-Fi at neither of these hotels. The Concierge has the specials every day and one of them is 24 hours free Wi-Fi; don't jump to use the Internet (the charge for the Internet is not too bad) until you get the special. Upon the arrival try to talk to the Concierge because it will take time for them to contact you.
Most of the staff at the hotel speak English and very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the friendliness of our staff.
We hope to see you back soon !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Take full advantage of the neighbor sister hotels for pool and restaurant variety!! Great service, authentic feel, and lovely setting...my only complaint would be that the rooms felt a little humid / sticky. Not sure if it was the weather or the ventilation in the place but I'd definitely stay here again when I return to cancun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymooners711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know your stay with us was pleasant. Thank you for pointing out our great service. We hope to see you back in a near future !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First of all this is a very nice hotel. Service is excellent.....however....they want you to buy into their time share plan. The Concierge that you meet upon initial contact is really a time share salesperson. If you do decide to attend this meeting be prepared...they will start out by offering you a 30 year plan. Keep telling them that you want your attorney to see the contract. At this point the sales reps become very defensive and will tell you that according to Mexican laws they cannot let you show the contract to anyone outside of their country. LIE. Then they will hand you off to another sales rep who will say I can offer you 3 years for $895. Funny how they didn't explain the alternative options at the beginning of the presentation....??? At the end of the day a 1.5 hour time commitment turned into 3 hours. I may or may not come back to this resort.

Room Tip: Opt for an Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you back in a near future !

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love Cancun and like to stay at different resorts whenever I go. I traded my timeshare for the Caribe after reading other reviews and have to say I was quite happy!! It was a toss-up between the Caribe and its sister resort next door. I believe we made the right decision for our type of vacation. My fiance and I just needed to get away and relax. This was definitely the spot. The resort was very clean and kept up, the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Although we had access to the sister hotel, we found the food there not as good (especially the "upscale" Marco Polo restaurant, which was a big disappointment -- we came back and ordered room service, which was really, really good). If you have children, then the Solaris next door is for you. It is abundant with activity. We enjoyed our quiet stay on the lovely beach (with waiter service) as well as by the pool at the Caribe. It also had 2 large jacuzzis overlooking the Caribbean. Absolutely gorgeous. If you love sunsets, then I recommend you go up to the 7th floor to the overlook and watch the sun set over the lagoon. From there, you can climb a set of stairs that leads to a "tower" overlooking the Caribbean for spectacular views.

Our room was the right size for 2, including a king size bed, bathroom and separate area with a sink, etc., a small kitchen with a stocked refrigerator and a counter area for eating. We also had a balcony. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with an omlette/pancake/waffle bar. The Bogavante restaurant was our favorite. It overlooked the Caribbean and was open air. The food here for lunch and dinner was superb! As was the service.

We enjoyed the lobby bar, which had a trumpet player every night, who was quite entertaining. You can sit outside the lobby bar (with waiter service) on couches and comfortable chairs and enjoy the evening air.

The only "bad" thing I would have to say is as with all other resorts -- time share. Do not do the time share presentation unless you are sure you are interested in buying. Although they tell you it'll be about an hour or so, it's difficult to get away. The gentleman we dealt with was rude and was almost argumentative with us when we were not interested, even though we told him from the start. It was our own fault for evening agreeing to go!

I would highly recommend this resort if you are a couple looking to relax and meet some really cool people. We opted not to do any tours or excursions, but you can book directly through the hotel. The all-inclusive was well worth it, and included a shuttle from the airport to the resort. It is only about 10-12 minutes from the airport and the shuttle people were fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntandDeb217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for pointing out our food, we look forward to seeing you back in a near future !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#36 of 177 in Cancun
4,776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#42 of 177 in Cancun
5,015 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#31 of 177 in Cancun
8,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
6.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Caribe by Solaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Caribe by Solaris

Address: Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 | Lote 64B, Bis. 2a Etapa, Seccion A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $206 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Caribe by Solaris 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GR Caribe by Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Caribe By Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing