We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Beautiful Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
GR Caribe by Solaris
Ranked #26 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We are Members with Solaris,a nd this was ur first time @ Caribe. Its beauitful and so peaceful. Geard at adults and quiet areas, we had such a relaxing time. Little Plazas all over the prperty, where you could sit and relax, the open air lobby is beautiful. The 2 resturants were amazing, th food and service were PERFECT! I was so happy witht his place! Very clean, and reminds me of old school Mexico. Service was supurb! Jose ( in the morning / service @ Cafe Solaris was AWESOME so friendly! ) The beach, pool, and Spa were also AMAZING! Love it! Thanks for another beauitful, relaxing vacation!

Do not listen or read the few bad reviews, I would think these are from people whom dont travel often! The place is simply amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daja2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a nice time at GR Caribe for a mini-reunion with my husband's friends who all turned 40 this year. We were greeted promptly and were brought a refreshing drink while we were checking in. No, there isn't air conditioning in the lobby. If you have travelled to the Caribbean or Hawaii, etc. an open air concept isn't uncommon. Did you come to Cancun to be inside with the AC on? The room was decently appointed and a good size. We had no patio or balcony, I enjoyed the comfortable seating area. The pool area, though small was nice, but we spent most of our time on the beach under the palapas. We took advantage of the cocktail servers who were kind enough to trek down to get our drink orders. Yes, it is all inclusive but we did tip food and beverage staff when we felt we got great service. Breakfast buffet was ample and we loved the omelette station. Food by the pool didn't have healthy choices so some of us in our party didn't eat there. Ordered a special birthday cake to be delivered to our table at dinner one night, and the entire wait staff sang happy birthday to the guys. The two main restaurants were great. Always had attentive service and food, for the most part was decent (not 5 star, but we had no real complaints). It is all about expectations. You are in Mexico, it is a reasonably enough priced all inclusive, don't expect too much and you will be pleasantly surprised. Oh, yes, we can attest, the walls are thin. We heard more of our neighbors than we would have preferred. We did go to the pool and have some meals at the sister hotel next door. Loud music and more activities by the pool, more crowds, but nice to have the option. Preferred GR Caribe over Royal Solaris.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorinDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June for 5 nights (not by choice) and I can honestly say that it was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. The grounds at GR Caribe are nice enough and our room wasn't bad, we shared a 2 bedroom villa with another couple. We got the King bed which wasn't horrible, sadly the other couple got the room with the 2 double beds which were very uncomfortable (beds were hard as rocks). The room did not have a balcony, just a small window.

The main concern with this hotel is the food and beverage. It is by far the most disgusting food I have ever had at a hotel. It was an all-inclusive so we were expected to eat at the hotel. Let’s start with the breakfast. We tried the breakfast buffet one morning and we were grossed out. The items looked like they had been sitting there for days, very unappetizing. Fresh fruit didn’t look so fresh, cereal stale, not to mention the milk was NOT REAL. It was powdered milk mixed with water, one of the servers told us this b/c my nephew (who is 1) needed milk for his bottle. We ended up going to the store to buy milk for him. They also didn’t have cream for your coffee, just the fake milk, so we used the milk bought from the store. After this, we ordered breakfast in our room and it was better, but 3 star quality at best.

Lunch by the pool was also terrible. They don’t use real meat in their hamburgers; again, one of the servers told us this. They use something that is PINK after being cooked. I don’t understand how they can do this and who they think they are fooling, it clearly doesn’t look like a burger, nor does it taste like one. The only edible (just barely) thing they had were chicken nuggets and French fries.

Dinner – we went to the members dinners and those were not any better, food was mediocre, steak, fish, everything you got lacked flavor and didn’t seem fresh. We tried to eat outside of the hotel has much as possible, we didn’t care that we had already paid for the all-inclusive.

Drinks – all drinks were watered down, cheap alcohol was used, they didn’t have real fruit juice, no OJ, Mango juice, etc. Everything they had tasted like fruit punch. We ended up buying our own real alcohol and mixers from the store.

I am honestly shocked that this hotel has the rating that it does. I guess people don’t mind eating fake/gross food/drinks. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, nor would I ever come back. This place made our vacation stressful and we couldn’t wait to leave.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel, there are plenty of nice ones in Cancun, such as Le Blanc or Ritz Carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had our 2 year anniversary and we most certainly did not want to leave. The staff was absolutely amazing and took care of us like family. Atziri was such a wonderful hostess to the resort and no matter where we went she was always at work and talking to any and everybody. Abigail was very sweet and made sure we never had an empty drink while we were poolside and she was the biggest sweetheart. Azkary went above and beyond on serving us the best drinks ever for my husband's birthday that we also celebrated during our visit. Gilberto (Joe) and Jesus always made sure we stayed full for breakfast and dinner. They gave my husband the best birthday tequilla breakfast shots and were extremely attentive. Monserrat was very nice and she helped take care of us while we were there and was very prompt with taking care of customers. We would take this trip all over again! The food was either too pretty to eat or buffet style but no complaints whatsoever and service was available for everything we could have ever wanted or needed 24 hours a day. We hope to return again some day. Thank you again to all of the staff for helping us live our honeymoon experience the way we wanted to and making us happy while celebrating our marriage and another year to be there for each other. Love you all!!! <3

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a gorgeous outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked this for our 10 year wedding anniversary, we took our 3 year old son. First off this resort is not handicap or stroller friendly, lots of stairs and no ramps. The resort also needs more access down to the pool beach and everything else besides one stairway down, Our room was right by the pool but we had to take one hallway to another to the main lobby and then out to the pool. The hallway are all closed off very narrow and and again too narrow for the stroller and even another person in passing. The breakfast buffet was the worst food I've ever had in my life, so the next day we went to the sister property royal Solaris and was a tad bit better, barely editable as well. We did eat at the ala carte restaurants at both resorts and they were good meals. They do have kids menus but they so overcooked the chicken nuggets that they were as hard as hockey pucks and burned french fries. The royal Solaris also has the stairs issue you have to go up three flights walk a few feet and then go down two flights to get to the buffet not handicap or stroller friendly their either. The rooms we had to be moved after the first night cause the ac was warm and the fan was annoying and very noisy. I had to practically beg to move to another room, that room the ac was warm as well. The rooms are updated however they were patched together during the update process. The pictures make this resort look way better than what it is. We stayed two nights here and went to the apple representative (who we booked our vaca through) and asked to be transferred out. This was our 11th all inclusive vacation and I have never been asked to transfer I did not even know that was an option. I am a not real picky person just a seasoned traveler that knew I paid way too much for this resort to be miserable for 7 nights.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank kt1980_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my husband's and I second trip back to this hotel! Our trip was September 8-15th and it was awesome! We have nothing but great things to say about the Gr Caribe by Solaris....it's clean, quiet, comfortable, beautiful, staff is super friendly and very accommodating and the food is superb! We loved it so much, we became members and can't wait to take advantage of returning as members!

If you are a couple looking for a great experience at an All-inclusive resort, this is the place to go. As guests of this hotel, you also have the privileges of taking advantage of using their other two hotels - one of which is attached by a walkway away and the other is three hotels down. This hotel, the GR Caribe is mostly couples, but there are the occasional family with children and if you want to enjoy a more robust, party atmosphere, you can always venture down the walkway to the other hotel where the music is abounding and the kids are plenty!

A MUST experience!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I vacationed at GR Caribe the last week of August 2012 to celebrate our wedding anniversary on August 25th. As first-timers to Cancun, we'd received mixed reviews about the city. Now after having the chance to experience Cancun via GR Caribe, we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

GR Caribe was the perfect size for us (not too big, not too small). Our room was spacious and very clean, and the overall property is beautiful (with the exception of the miniature golf course which is badly in need of an upgrade or a complete overhaul).

Excellent customer service throughout our stay really helped to enhance our experience. In particular, the staff at Bogavante treated us superbly! Though there were a number of other dining options available, we found ourselves frequenting Bogavante. The servers were very responsive, courteous and friendly. Special shout-out to Miguel, Gilberto (Joe) and Armando, as they were awesome!

Looking forward to returning to Cancun soon, and again taking advantage of all that GR Caribe has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPeezy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#35 of 176 in Cancun
4,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#43 of 176 in Cancun
5,026 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#32 of 176 in Cancun
8,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
6.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Caribe by Solaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Caribe by Solaris

Address: Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 | Lote 64B, Bis. 2a Etapa, Seccion A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $214 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Caribe by Solaris 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GR Caribe by Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Caribe By Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing