We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff, bad wifi, bad breakfast” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moloch Hostel y Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moloch Hostel y Suites
Ranked #13 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff, bad wifi, bad breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are genuinely the rudest we have experienced in 6 months of travelling and we are not usually ones to complain. We stayed here two nights, the first in a dorm and the second in a private room up stairs. When we moved to the room it stank of stale smoke, when I asked if they had any spray she abruptly said no and that no one had been in the room so it shouldn't smell. 5 minutes later she reluctantly came up with some air freshener. When we moved to the room there was a small amount of building work going on, we were woken at a ridiculous time in the morning by banging and crashing. The builders were demolishing the wall opposite and the stairs by our room to get down were taped off, rubble all over the floor and bricks dropping down. It was a complete state and our room should have been blocked off, it was incredibly dangerous to walk down the steps which we had do to a couple of times with our bags. We said to the receptionist it was dangerous, no one told us there would be building work and we shouldn't have been up there and she could not have cared less. We were supposed to be leaving our bags to come back the next day so I said at last can we leave our bags for free as we paid for a room which stank of smoke and was in the middle of a construction zone. Instead of being understanding she doubled the price to store our bags and said pay it or take your bags, of course we left, very annoyed at such rudeness and that we had given them custom. It is a shame as it is a nice clean hostel with good dorms. Shame about the staff, lousy breakfast, lousy wifi and lack of atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
3
26
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has great potential as it is in a great location and is a nice building, however the staff made this stay the least favourite of my 6 month travels. They were rude, obnoxious and unhelpful. The hostel also has a terrible atmosphere. We left half way through our stay in cancun as we didn't want to put up with the receptionists attitude for any longer

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathryn_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

i am not one to usually write a review but my treatment at this place was disgusting.
we arrived late after a long day of travel and i awoke to a live bed bug crawling around my bed. i squished it and took it to the receptionist who acted like its wasnt a big deal. i showered and put my clothes i was wearing in a bag for the wash and asked her if they could move to another room and would they pay for my washing. luckily i had slept in my travel clothes and didnt open my bag. not only did she refused to pay the 23pesos for my laundry but then went on to accuse me of planting the bug myself and promptly asked me to leave the property as she "didnt want a problem staying there."
so so rude and i would never recommend this hostel due to my experience.
not only was i made to move but am now looking forward to seeing how many times that bug bit me, all with no sympathy from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayangue, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had a private room with TV, air conditioning and bath for 380 pesos per night which was great, and the location is terrific too. They cleaned every day, new sheets, towels, etc. The pool area is very nice, there are a couple of computers and nice lounge areas outside. My only complaints are that the breakfast was basically non-existent (I had to buy my own elsewhere), and the WiFi did not work in the rooms - and more importantly did not work in any of the nice lounge areas or by the pool. The only place it worked (and not that well...) was in the eating area and computer room.

Room Tip: A-3 upstairs was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hostel is a converted house located near the bus station and Parque de las Palapas. It is a lovely little place with a swimming pool and pleasant enough in decor. I came with a friend and when we both walked in, the receptionist, who was doing something in the kitchen area came up to us and basically asked us what we wanted. She was definitely not friendly and looked as if she'd rather not be bothered. We asked to see the room and she went on to explain that it was a room with a bed and bathroom. We asked again and without much gusto, she took us to the room. We were kind of turned off by the attitude but after searching around, there were no other places available so we went back.

She asked us again what we wanted, even though we weren't gone for longer than half an hour and made it very clear that she could only rent the room for one night because it was booked for the weekend already.

We got a private room and it has the rather odd construction of a very deep step to get into the room, as if you were climbing into a well. The bathroom was also elevated and has two steps up. There were shampoo, soap and towels with a fan and a tv, all pleasant enough. Even though they were private rooms, you could hear the doors about open and close and even a light tap on the wall will be heard.

Breakfast the next morning consisted of toast, instant coffee and fake juice.

The place itself is lovely. The receptionist, not so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tauromaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here as it was pretty much next to the ADO bus station. I usually stay in dorms but as I wasnt feeling too great I took a private room for the first two nights. For 380 i had a comfy double bed, TV with lots of channells, fan and AC (didnt use) and an ensuite, very clean with hot shower.

There was some building work going on during the day so it could get quite noisy.

The staff were pleasant enough, didnt have any problems with them. Location is good, close to everything really. Theres a big supermarket nearby and the kitchen has everything you need to cook a meal.

The third night i stayed in a 4 bedded dorm, very spacious, lockers provided and big shared shower and toilet room. There were also other toilets and showers to use. The bed was comfy, no problems.

Breakfast was a buffet of cereal. bread, jam, fresh fruit, bananas, juice, tea, coffee and yoghurt, very impressed.

The place was immaculately clean.

My only bugbear was the wifi was bad and dropped A LOT. Unable to get wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Q.roo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found this Place by Accident and it was the Best thing that happened to me in CanCun while I was on Business...Great Price and very Clean. But, a bit tight or Stress Atitud from the front Desk Lady....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcosArcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#2 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel El Corazon
Hostel El Corazon
#8 of 118 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moloch Hostel y Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moloch Hostel y Suites

Property: Moloch Hostel y Suites
Address: Calle Margaritas 54 | Super SM 22 - Manzana 25, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moloch Hostel is a brand new modern and friendly hostel located 45 seconds from the bus station, 10 minutes from the beach and 20 minutes from Cancun's famous nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Moloch Hostel y Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing