We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, love Savios!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita - CLOSED

Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: By Gran Melia Hotel
Description:  Since 1983 La Dolce Vita has been consistently rated as one of the top restaurants in Cancun, serving fresh sea food and home-made pasta, owned and operated by owners George Savio (founder), his son Tim Savio and Juan J. Casal. In December 2010 we open Savio´s bistro by La Dolce Vita. Overlooking the lagoon in a casual atmosphere you can choose to dine in at the comfort of air-conditioned dining room or the beautiful munti-level terrace. Service is friendly and dinner specials change daily to mach the season. We have a fair priced and diverse wine list from around the world. Dress code: Casual Desde 1983 La Dolce Vita ha sido consistentemente catalogado como uno de los mejores restaurantes de Cancún, sirviendo pasta hecha en casa, pescados y mariscos frescos, operado por sus dueños: George Savio (fundador) su hijo Tim y Juan J. CasalEn Diciembre 2012 abrimos Savio's bistro by La Dolce Vita, con una vista espectacular de la laguna, en un ambiente casual, puede escoger cenar con el confort del aire acondicionado o en nuestra terraza de cuatro niveles. El servicio es amable y los especiales cambian diariamente de acuerdo con la época del año. Tenemos una amplia y variada carta de vinos. Código de vestir: Informal.
Xenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love, love, love Savios!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had traveled to Cancun for many years but had not been back since 2008 until this year. A favorite restaurant on each trip was La Dolce Vita. It had moved since we were here last and is now called Savio's. The original owner passed away and the Savio son has taken over. His father taught him well!! The food was amazing, the service impeccable and it's just beautiful! Make it one of your "must do" places to eat when you're here...you'll be enchanted. It's just fabulous!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxannP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    108
    43
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deceiving from Outside - Beautiful Inside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The restaurant may appear somewhat deceiving from the outside; however, once you step inside and are seated outside on the lagoon waterfront, you cannot find a more spectacular and relaxing atmosphere to sit back and sip on a glass of red wine while you watch the Cancun sunset dip below the horizon - plan on an early dinner (5:30 pm), as the sunset sets around 5:45pm - 6:00 pm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GJKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful dinner view at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Savio's Bistro provides a great dining experience. The view is great, the food very tasty and service attentive. I found the price moderate and a great value. We have tried many different dishes without a single disappointment. Don't miss the sunset experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at a hotel close by and found this restaurant via TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint us. Thank you to previous reviewers!

We got lucky and got a table for two on the water without a reservation. Out wait staff was friendly and fun. The food was very good. We even had a visit by a 12" crocodile in the water below while we were eating. Very nice place. Call ahead if you can and get a table on the dock. Don't let the empty inside dining area fool you. The tables on the water are booked solid and for good reason.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tri pasta ala dolce vita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

A number of restaurants featured this dish on their menu, so I decided to give it a try. I am glad I did. As the name suggests there are three different pastas. Rigatoni tender, but not soft under a covering of tomato sauce. Lasagne layered efficiently, so you could enjoy the meat and cheese layers, and again the tomato sauce. Lastly, a deliciously cheesy Manicotti, highlighted by an Alfredo sauce. Prior to the entree, I enjoyed a Spinach salad. Crisp spinach, fresh goat cheese, with a ranch dressing on the side ample enough to coat all elements of the salad. Dessert was a tangy lemon cream cheese slice. If you are looking for a view of the lagoon, don't pass this up.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing