We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best view and food in Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita - CLOSED

Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: By Gran Melia Hotel
Description:  Since 1983 La Dolce Vita has been consistently rated as one of the top restaurants in Cancun, serving fresh sea food and home-made pasta, owned and operated by owners George Savio (founder), his son Tim Savio and Juan J. Casal. In December 2010 we open Savio´s bistro by La Dolce Vita. Overlooking the lagoon in a casual atmosphere you can choose to dine in at the comfort of air-conditioned dining room or the beautiful munti-level terrace. Service is friendly and dinner specials change daily to mach the season. We have a fair priced and diverse wine list from around the world. Dress code: Casual Desde 1983 La Dolce Vita ha sido consistentemente catalogado como uno de los mejores restaurantes de Cancún, sirviendo pasta hecha en casa, pescados y mariscos frescos, operado por sus dueños: George Savio (fundador) su hijo Tim y Juan J. CasalEn Diciembre 2012 abrimos Savio's bistro by La Dolce Vita, con una vista espectacular de la laguna, en un ambiente casual, puede escoger cenar con el confort del aire acondicionado o en nuestra terraza de cuatro niveles. El servicio es amable y los especiales cambian diariamente de acuerdo con la época del año. Tenemos una amplia y variada carta de vinos. Código de vestir: Informal.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
“The best view and food in Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We love both Savio's and ladolcevita in Cancun! Savio's has an awesome open tiered patio on the lagoon located in the hotel zone. It's fresh and comfortable, the nighttime view of the city, the sunset and moon are second to none! The food and service is excellent....you will always have the owner, Tim come to your table to make sure everything is perfect. We frequent both restaurants several times each visit to Cancun. It's just quality you can trust.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jb-mb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    107
    43
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lied to us to get us in the door and food was average.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

On the 23rd May 2013 we were reading the menu located outside this restaurant when one of the waiters approached us. We asked whether the restaurant had aircon and he replied yes, so we went in. There is no aircon and the waiter guided us to the waterfront at the end where apparently there was a nice breeze; there wasn't but there were loads of mosquitos. The food was average and so was the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Savio's is just a beautiful restaurant on the lagoon, with excellent service, delicious food, and a view to die for! We always try to time our dinner with the amazing sunset! We have been going back every year when we go to Cancun. Savio is such a charming host and goes out of his way to make his customers feel welcome. His staff is top notch but not intrusive. I can't recommend a particular dish because they all are so good. The alligator visiting in the lagoon is always a special treat! Be sure to eat there while you are in Cancun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaLady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Quality Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a fantastic meal and wonderful service, the thin crust pizza was amazing! We have been back a number of times. The atmosphere and location are great and enjoyed the extra attention (the owners are so friendly).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiamyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a recent trip to Cancun, we decided to venture away from our rented condo. A family member, who had just left Cancun, recommended this restaurant. We decided to try it out. We were definitely impressed with the service and the food. We were also pleasantly surprised to find gluten-free options on the menu. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone travelling to Cancun, Mexico.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeylonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing