We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air - away from Mexican & resort cuisine”
Review of L 'Escargot

L 'Escargot
Ranked #242 of 981 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
laguna beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air - away from Mexican & resort cuisine”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved the food here , the service was excellent .
We sat outside , which is the owners garden , it's in the city center , not obvious to find ( for us ) , but our taxi knew exactly how to get there to this very residential street , only 4 tables outside & about the same inside
I NEVER go out in the evening here without bug spray , just incase
Beautiful setting , great food & ambience
Nice wine selection
Your in a garden - gardens have bugs , your on the Yucatan peninsula it's tropical
We had escargot , the spinach & pear salad to start
I had duck with green peppercorns & my partner had duck with apple
We shared a creme brûlée , a bottle if great Malbec ( nice choice of wines )
Madame Catherine was present , & thanked , her staff are wonderful & not overbearing as a lot if Mexican restaurant service can be .
Great food & a true relief to be away from all the resort food & Mexican food
The Swedes restaurant in PV ( puerto Vallerta ) makes a point of telling you how hard it is to source , keep & cook foods in this climate
Off the Michelin Guide - Two Swedes in PV & Madame Catherine's -L' Escargot
Leave everyone else in the dust , for their honesty , fine selection & just good cooking - Thank You Catherine xo
4/16/13

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank freshbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Paris in Cancun”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Thanks to Kathleen, this out of the way little treasure of a restaurant serves chateaubriand for 2, exquisite duck dishes, mouth-watering steaks, a pate platter to rival any in France and great desserts. The homemade multigrain bread might tempt you to fill up before dinner. Call in advance and order a loaf to go for about 70 pesos. It's pretty small, so you might want to make reservations as well. It's a little hard to find in a neighborhood of homes. There is a wall, (I think it was pink) a small courtyard just beyond it and then the restaurant---looking and feeling very French. Only a small painted sign on the wall says L'Escargot. Save this one for a very special occasion. It's even reasonable!!!! Friendly service as well. Thank you again, Kathleen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseMarieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best little secret in Cancun”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This charming restaurant in a residential neighborhood is an intimate experience in French dining. Food is beautifully prepared and presented. Dining in the front garden creates an atmosphere of dining at your favorite French bistro. The pâté plate is wonderful as is the spinach salad. Duck with potatoes and apples is a delicious entree. Won't feel like I had been to Cancun if I didn't dine here. Not to be missed!

Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watson, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in old Cancun”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Tasty homemade French menu from soups to desserts. The french onion soup and the onion tart were both great hits to start your meal with our group. The tuna filet and duck entree were prepared to perfection for two in our group. The restaurant is located in a residence so seating is limited with a total seating indoors and out of about 30-35. Making a reservation is recommended. Menus are printed in both English and Spanish with the staff speaking limited English. Don't panic when your taxi driver drops you off as it really doesn't look like a restaurant, but you will be impressed before your evening is over.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It had been too long.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I hadn't been to this restaurante in at least 7 years if not more. It was just fabulous. We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and we shared an order of homemade pates, which were wonderful. My husband had a steak in roquefort sauce, I'm not terribly fond of that so my opinion doesn't count since he loved it. I ordered what was called duck with carmalized apples but it was even better than that as it was in either a prune or raisin sauce that was to die for. It was like a wonderful holiday meal. I highly recommend this little hideaway in downtown and promise not to forget it is there for another 7 years. It's too good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L 'Escargot also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to L 'Escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing