We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It had been too long.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L 'Escargot

L 'Escargot
Ranked #201 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It had been too long.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I hadn't been to this restaurante in at least 7 years if not more. It was just fabulous. We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and we shared an order of homemade pates, which were wonderful. My husband had a steak in roquefort sauce, I'm not terribly fond of that so my opinion doesn't count since he loved it. I ordered what was called duck with carmalized apples but it was even better than that as it was in either a prune or raisin sauce that was to die for. It was like a wonderful holiday meal. I highly recommend this little hideaway in downtown and promise not to forget it is there for another 7 years. It's too good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Piece of France on the Mexican Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent French food served in an exquisite ambiance, one of the best in Cancun, you should not miss it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the great secrets of Cancún”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to have an splendid meal (dinner only), there is better place tha L'Scargot.

Owned an ruled by an incredible Parisian, who came 28years ago to Cancun, and under her keen. eye the food is superb

We had

Onion Tartalete
Onion Soup
Filet with Bernaise sauce
Filet with green peppercorn sauce
Filet with pepper sauce
Creme Brule

The pricing is fair and the quality of the food awesome ..... The service is another well polished extra

It will be a usual every time we go to Cancun in the future

"Only a place so hidden can survive with this kind of food, service and pricing"

Helpful?
2 Thank Cestopier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Cuenca, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“High quality, simple French restaurant now does daily specials and prix-fixe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I lived in Cancun for 14 years; it is a beautiful spot but the city itself is pretty dumpy. However, if you enjoy eating well, this is a city which will take very good care of you: there are lots of excellent places to eat. My favorite is L'Escargot, run by a Frenchwoman who has lived some 30 years in Mexico. She knows her trade and does it very well in a very friendly and tasteful atmosphere. The owner has a green thumb and both the garden and the interior (all on the minute side) are beautifully decked with rich tropical plant life. The atmosphere and set up is very attractive but more on the intimate side than that of a fancy, posh French resturant style. This intimate atmosphere makes you feel at home, indeed the owner and her children have lived there for years and you can feel it. The proprietor is assisted by an excellent Mexican staff who has been there for years. The menu, as one commentator points out, is limited but this garentees quality and freshness (remember that almost nothing is grown near Cancun); the fare is sufficiently varied for anyone to find something he or she can be passionate about. Recently they have started doing daily specials and a prix fixe menu which make the place much more accesible economically. I am-- and have been for years-- a fan of the home-made patés, the steak Tartare and the Tarte Tatin but the whole menu is well worth it-- and you will leave you with something left in your wallet in case you want to come back. If you don't know Cancun well, you will need a taxi or someone to guide you there-- it is up the street from the Yaxchilán Avenue downtown, near the María Isabel Hotel. Closed on Sundays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Spiii-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home made French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a really cosy and romantic place and perfect for a date. The food and service were great and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L 'Escargot also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to L 'Escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing