We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, near of everything! Not the best staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #18 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private room. The room was very nice and clean. It's not too loud even if there is a party at the roof top terrace and it's next to one of the main avenues (avenida uxmal). The kitchen and the roof top terrace are very nice. The breakfast here used to be way better (last time stayed here 2 years ago) and also the staff was nicer. The problem here seemed to be, that many of the workes were working there in exchange of a accomodation, which is a nice way to travel but also they didn't seem to be very into helping the customers. The two girls making the breakfast were more talking whith each other and smoking (inside the kitchen) than checking if there was still some food left at the breakfast (supposed to be a buffet). Also the bar staff where more into partying and getting drunk themselfs than providing nice time to the hostel guests. Would recommend to people that want to party but not to people that want to chill get help from the staff. Also good place if u just use cancun as a transit city 'cos the hostel is just few minutes walk away from the ADO bus terminal.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miromani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 324 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

We only spend one night in Cancun and we are very happy that we decided to stay at this Hostel. The staff was very nice, the rooftop bar was great and the room was huge and clean.
It is located in a great area, just a couple of minutes from Parque de las Palapas where you can get great street food!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a good hostel for Mexico, Its close to the bus stop, making going up and down the coast easy. Breakfast was nice, fruit was also offered which was a bonus. It was all nice, except one thing kind of bothered me. There was next to no one staying here, we saw about 15 people all together over both nights, and I'm pretty sure a few of them worked there. It seemed that they shoved all the females into the one room, which was about 12 beds or so which was a pain because the girls that seemed to live there had there stuff everywhere and i literally had these girls clothes hanging all around and on my bed and had to step over and move there things to get to my space. it was pretty packed. It really wouldn't have hurt to break the girls up a bit alt east into two rooms. Other than that the it was good, The staff were really nice and helpful and let us store our bags for as long as we wanted which was really good because we had winter clothes for the end of our trip that we didn't want to lug around for the week, so we left it there and took a bus down to tulum. That was a major bonus because noone else would do it for us and they did for free!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheree94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Best Hostel I stayed at in Mexico! This is how hostels should be!

Pros
- Super helpful staff: Angel was a legend set up a bunch of last minute tours and gave me some great advice on local eats
- Clean: Cleaning staff came through every day
- Great upstairs bar: Great rooftop bar with hammocks and a jacuzzi for meeting other travellers
- Other: Good lockers (make sure you bring your own lock) and strong internet (quick enough for Viber calls home)

Cons
- No downsides! Like a said best hostel I stayed at in Mexico.

Highly recommended particular if travelling alone





Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Dane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Only a 5 minute walk from the ADO bus station, Mundo Joven delivered much more than I expected. The helpful and friendly staff checked us in even though we didn't have cash, which was the only way to pay, and allowed us to put our bags in our room before going to the bank machine. We stayed in a private room with ensuite bath, which was exceptionally clean and looked recently redone. The room had a decent mattress, two TVs, a couch, AC, and a large window that opened, overlooking the street. There's also a rooftop patio with a bar, where they serve free breakfast. You will also find hammocks, a hot tub, and free wifi as well as three computers for guest use. It might not the quietest place you could stay, but its an excellent hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My friend and I booked one night here, planned to spend two days in Cancun. But everything here was just wonderful. Rooms are spacious, lovely patio with food and drinks (free tequila shots), as well as the loving staff members who gave bunches of tips and take you to parties at night! They have a hot tub also!

The location is great as well, 5 min walk to the main bus station, from where you can easily go to Tulum, Merida, Chichen Itza, Playa del Carmen and etc. also close to the local bus stops (8 min walk)

street food, restaurants, supermarket, fast food, everything is close.
Anyways, I love Mundo Joven!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Mundo Joven is the exact opposite of the previous hostel I stayed at in Cancun. I won't go into too much detail, but the rooftop breakfast buffet was a real treat. The dorms weren't too crowded. My ten bed dorm had an en-suite shower, plus two separate WCs and two sinks. AC was included- some may like that but I don't need it- some guests seem to like it freezing at night! The best thing however, was the atmosphere. Everybody was in a good mood here. Relaxed but upbeat. The building shows a little wear in places, but it is clean and bright. WiFi in the rooms and rooftop hammocks are nice too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#40 of 176 in Cancun
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Caribe
Hotel Plaza Caribe
#92 of 176 in Cancun
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 146 in Cancun
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#3 of 146 in Cancun
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Corazon
Hostel El Corazon
#12 of 146 in Cancun
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range: $34 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing