We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hostel near the bus station.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #11 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great hostel near the bus station.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hostel was lovely it was clean, had air-con and great breakfast selection of cereals, breads and fruit on the roof top as well as a bar and hammocks. This hostel is ideally located for the bus stop if you are just passing through as we were. WIth mini marts nearby and cheap Mexican eateries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    123
    50
    17
    16
See reviews for
7
83
111
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

In every way, perfect!
Just 2 books always from the bus station.
The staff is great, young, helpful and very professional. The place is amazing with a rooftop bar, hammocks, a jacuzzi(!) and free wifi-computers.
Rooms are big, CLEAN, and very comfy beds. They all have A/C except for the big dorm, which has a private fan in each bed.
Big lockers with a plug inside so you can leave things charging!
As I've said, perfect in every way. Of we come back to cancun, we won't think it twice before coming here! It's a little pricy but it's worth every centavo.
Well done!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Co-ed dorms for $14/night. Free breakfast and Internet. Well stocked bar. International clientele. And only two blocks from the ADA terminal. They also have private rooms. And a 10-peso taco joint right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Bright, clean and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable, facilities fine and sitting on the roof terrace is an excellent way to while away a few hours. Staff are very friendly and helpful - especially obvious newbies like ourselves!

Very good location - 2 minute walk from the bus station, and I walk slowly. The free margarita is a lovely touch too. Free breakfast is very simple (cereal, toast and fruit) but frankly I didn't want much else.

Some reviews talked about it being very noisy, but that's not affected us too much. Sure the road is constantly being used, but we had no problems with other guests. Did stay in a private room though, a small bit of luxury to start our trip!

Overall, very highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Grotbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks and see you soon!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very conveniently located downtown and close to the bus station (with a non-stop bus running to and from the airport - so much cheaper than a cab), with lots of local shops and supermarkets. There are places to pick up food if you don't want to eat at the hostel, with local prices ranging from 8-12 pesos for quesadillas to 50 pesos for a Chinese takeaway. For the less adventurous who really can't do foreign food, Maccy D's is a five minute walk round the corner.

It is also from outside the golden arches that you can catch a collectivo (6 pesos each way - v cheap!) to Puerto Juárez and the UltraMar ferry across to Isla Mujeres for snorkelling. The staff at reception in Hostel Mundo were really helpful and gave me useful advice - though they didn't mention that the best time to go across to the island for snorkelling is first thing in the morning otherwise it is difficult to find any boats willing to take you out.

At the Hostel I opted for one of the private ensuite rooms on the top floor as it was my only bit of luxury on my trip. Entry to the room was very secure and I didn't feel worried about leaving my things around the room, though I always lock away my important valuables no matter where I am. The AC was brilliant in the Mexican heat but a little noisy at times. The room itself was spacious and clean, the towels plenty and fresh. I had a flat screen TV to myself with lots of channels in various languages.

One piece of advice - use the bin beside the toilet. You are not supposed to flush loo roll down the toilet as Central American countries don't have the infrastructure to deal with the clog up. I wasn't aware of this until I joined my adventure tour days later and our guide told us. I was wondering why it took so long to get the paper to go down!

Breakfast was a bit basic but consisted of the main essentials - cereal, fruit, bread and yoghurt - and was served on the rooftop terrace. There is a bar there too, where you can pick up your free welcome cocktail. Tasty and lethal! They have different themed nights on the terrace (BBQ, quiz night, etc) for those who want to socialise. The internet room is just off the terrace with three computers available, though there is also wi-fi too. I was able to get decent reception from my room but I'm not sure how strong it would have been on the lower floors.

I would definitely stay here again. The Hostel was clean, the staff were friendly and the location is convenient for getting around the main areas of the city. It was a great start to my holiday. As it is Downtown you also get more of a feel for the real Cancun rather than the superficial Hotel Zone. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, stump up the extra bit of cash for a private room for more of a hotel feel at hostel pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for choosing us!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the AC 10 bed dorm. It was almost full every night, but still felt like you had enough personal space. Each bed has its own large locker, light, plug socket and hook. The beds were comfy.

The hostel and rooms are thoroughly cleaned everyday, but there was a little off-putting pong from our shower. Bearable though.

There's a great roof top terrace, with plenty of loungers and tables and outdoor showers.

The hostel is less than 2 minutes walk to the bus station and local buses which run up the strip to the big hotels, clubs and beaches.
It's really close to some great little local eateries too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigglesnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
See you soon amigo!

Julian Issa (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Convenient location to the ADO bus terminal, and to bus lines heading to the hotel zone. The building was new clean and modern. Very friendly staff, Free Margarita upon arrival. No complaints, would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan_crosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks and see you when you come back!

Julian Issa (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#83 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
5.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
5.8 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing