We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel to Start Our World Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #19 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Bright, clean and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable, facilities fine and sitting on the roof terrace is an excellent way to while away a few hours. Staff are very friendly and helpful - especially obvious newbies like ourselves!

Very good location - 2 minute walk from the bus station, and I walk slowly. The free margarita is a lovely touch too. Free breakfast is very simple (cereal, toast and fruit) but frankly I didn't want much else.

Some reviews talked about it being very noisy, but that's not affected us too much. Sure the road is constantly being used, but we had no problems with other guests. Did stay in a private room though, a small bit of luxury to start our trip!

Overall, very highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Grotbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thanks and see you soon!

Julian (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very conveniently located downtown and close to the bus station (with a non-stop bus running to and from the airport - so much cheaper than a cab), with lots of local shops and supermarkets. There are places to pick up food if you don't want to eat at the hostel, with local prices ranging from 8-12 pesos for quesadillas to 50 pesos for a Chinese takeaway. For the less adventurous who really can't do foreign food, Maccy D's is a five minute walk round the corner.

It is also from outside the golden arches that you can catch a collectivo (6 pesos each way - v cheap!) to Puerto Juárez and the UltraMar ferry across to Isla Mujeres for snorkelling. The staff at reception in Hostel Mundo were really helpful and gave me useful advice - though they didn't mention that the best time to go across to the island for snorkelling is first thing in the morning otherwise it is difficult to find any boats willing to take you out.

At the Hostel I opted for one of the private ensuite rooms on the top floor as it was my only bit of luxury on my trip. Entry to the room was very secure and I didn't feel worried about leaving my things around the room, though I always lock away my important valuables no matter where I am. The AC was brilliant in the Mexican heat but a little noisy at times. The room itself was spacious and clean, the towels plenty and fresh. I had a flat screen TV to myself with lots of channels in various languages.

One piece of advice - use the bin beside the toilet. You are not supposed to flush loo roll down the toilet as Central American countries don't have the infrastructure to deal with the clog up. I wasn't aware of this until I joined my adventure tour days later and our guide told us. I was wondering why it took so long to get the paper to go down!

Breakfast was a bit basic but consisted of the main essentials - cereal, fruit, bread and yoghurt - and was served on the rooftop terrace. There is a bar there too, where you can pick up your free welcome cocktail. Tasty and lethal! They have different themed nights on the terrace (BBQ, quiz night, etc) for those who want to socialise. The internet room is just off the terrace with three computers available, though there is also wi-fi too. I was able to get decent reception from my room but I'm not sure how strong it would have been on the lower floors.

I would definitely stay here again. The Hostel was clean, the staff were friendly and the location is convenient for getting around the main areas of the city. It was a great start to my holiday. As it is Downtown you also get more of a feel for the real Cancun rather than the superficial Hotel Zone. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, stump up the extra bit of cash for a private room for more of a hotel feel at hostel pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks for choosing us!

Julian (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the AC 10 bed dorm. It was almost full every night, but still felt like you had enough personal space. Each bed has its own large locker, light, plug socket and hook. The beds were comfy.

The hostel and rooms are thoroughly cleaned everyday, but there was a little off-putting pong from our shower. Bearable though.

There's a great roof top terrace, with plenty of loungers and tables and outdoor showers.

The hostel is less than 2 minutes walk to the bus station and local buses which run up the strip to the big hotels, clubs and beaches.
It's really close to some great little local eateries too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigglesnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

See you soon amigo!

Julian Issa (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Convenient location to the ADO bus terminal, and to bus lines heading to the hotel zone. The building was new clean and modern. Very friendly staff, Free Margarita upon arrival. No complaints, would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan_crosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thanks and see you when you come back!

Julian Issa (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really really liked this hostel as the staff is very friendly, you get a free margarita when you arrive, it is very clean (cleaned constantly during the day), and the rooftop bar/terrace is very cool. The kitchen looked rather small but we didn't get to use it so maybe it's no problem. We had a semiprivate double room, sharing two bathrooms and a shower with just two more rooms. The hostel is super close to the bus station and to a big supermarket, close to Parque de las Palapas where you get to eat cheap and good.
The only (big) con - the AC in our room was sooooooo loud we could hardly sleep, even with earplugs

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thanks for your comments!

Julian Issa (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in room 305 for 4 nights with my husband and absolutely loved it. We are a couple in our mid 20's who usually don't stay in hostels but this place was awesome. We had a huge room with a beautiful bathroom and our own loungroom with tv, and a second tv in the bedroom. The room was nicer than many hotels we have stayed in. But what makes this place so special is the staff and the atmosphere. The hostel has an awesome roof top bar and provide meals a few times a week for a price. It's not a party hostel but paves the way for a good night in town. We made some great friends and had a great night at "the city". Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and all speak perfect English.
The location is great if you can't afford to stay in the hotel zone. It's 2 mins from the main bus station and all buses Come by tulum street. It's also a great location to get a feel for the local life. Also very safe even at 3 am.
Stay here!!

Room Tip: Double rooms with bathrooms are very large and bright with nice bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyneil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Great friends! Hope to see you soon!

Julian (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in a double room here for only one night in March 2013. It was just like a hotel - we had a flat screen TV with cable channels in the room, a comfortable be, everything was well kept and seemed quite new. The shared bathrooms were clean and worked well.

The roof terrace is really nice, with a great view of the town by day and night. There's a jacuzzi, a nice bar area, hammocks, a computer and TV area, wifi and it was nice to get a free margarita in the evening. It's a great budget option for Cancún and we would definitely stay here again.

It's really close to the bus terminal so it's cheap and easy to get to and from the airport or to catch an ADO bus to Chichen Itza and it doesn't take long to get to the beach on a local bus (although the traffic can get bad).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back soon!

Julian (Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 158 in Cancun
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Corazon
Hostel El Corazon
#13 of 158 in Cancun
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#3 of 158 in Cancun
272 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#12 of 158 in Cancun
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range: $31 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing